We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Forza10
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location; friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We walked to the hotel from a cruise ship, but I wouldn't recommend that for small children or older folks. Rooms are tiny, but perfectly adequate. There is a free internet terminal in the lobby that was very useful for our two teenaged daughters, and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent.
Tallinn is a wonderful place and this hotel is perfectly located near the square.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forza10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    172
    103
    32
    22
See reviews for
45
183
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stord
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

A clean and good hotel in the old town of Tallinn. Just a little walk to all what is to be seen in that beautitul place. The staff was very friendly. Cosy little room with all what we needed.
Tora and Dag Eirik, Norway

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcopoloStord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Firstly the location is great, at the quieter end of the old town. The reception and eating area was initially quite impressive, attractively built against the old town wall and old mill building, with a gentle slope up into the first floor of the hotel itself. Access to all other rooms is by lift - stairs were for emergency access only. The lift was small and could only accommodate 2 people. The room was small but adequate, the ensuite shower room was again small but the shower was very good. It was clean, and towels were changed daily. From our second floor room at the front of the building there was a great view of St Olav's church and the old street outside. The breakfast was self-service buffet with quite a wide choice. The staff were very professional but didn't seem to engage much with the guests on a personal level. The adjacent round mill is not part of the hotel but was used for theatrical performances on some evenings - no noise though.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This is warning, the hotel practise double booking!!
I reserved a twin/double room in march 2009 and I also paid it in advance. The hotel send confirmation email to me in april and everything was ok until..
When we came to Meriton Old Town hotel in august 2009, the guy at reception said that we don't have a room. He found our reservation for twin/double room from his computer but told us that the hotel is full and they only have single rooms left. After that he suggest that we have to go to the other hotel (which is 6km away). I asked my money back, but the receptionist said it's not possible. He can't give my money back!! Unbelievable!! Madonna had concert in town that evening, so all the other hotels were full. After 1 hour complaining the receptionist suddenly came to say that now we have room! We asked is it a double room and the receptionist answered that it is a single room but better. We had to take that room, because we couldn't get our money back and the other hotels were full that night. Afterwards the receptionist lied to our travel agency that he gave us a double room, but the room was definitely a single room!! The bed was about 100cm wide and the hotel room was the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. Look the picture!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelergirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moscow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Very goog placement - in old town and just 5 min wlking from cenral square. If the you come to spent much time in hotels - it is not the best variant cause of very small rooms. Although it's anough comfortable, clean with with very polite service. It's best for young people.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geza83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed in the Meriton as part of group travelling to a football match. An overnight flight meant we arrived at the hotel at 6am but our rooms weren't ready until 2pm, if I was going again I would consider booking an extra night so that we could sleep as soon as we arrived. We were invited to have breakfast though; the buffet was standard, nothing special. Our room was quite small but was made smaller by the fact that it had three twin beds in it, it was really a twin room with a camp bed set up and offered as a triple. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel and was quiet. There was one incident outside the hotel but the staff dealt with it quickly and efficiently. In general the staff were polite and obliging but seemed detached, as did other Estonians working in restaurants and shops; it seems to be their way. As one other reviewer mentioned there was a slight smell of sewage in the bathroom, nothing too unpleasant, but noticeable, the bathroom and bedroom were thoroughly cleaned everyday. The reception area is really quirky and doubles as a bar area which we were served drinks in at 3am after all the other bars had closed. The staff seemed unconcerned about the little sing-song that began (you know football fans!!!) so long as it didn’t disturb other guests!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#47 of 83 in Tallinn
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#54 of 83 in Tallinn
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#21 of 83 in Tallinn
1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#32 of 83 in Tallinn
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Town Hotel

Property: Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Address: Lai 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Meriton Old Town Hotel)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Old Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rixwell Old Town Hotel in Tallinn is the only hotel in town, which is built into the original medieval city wall. The hotel's comfy 41 rooms offer an authentic taste of the Old Town at a reasonable price. This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Tallinn Old Town's restaurant, museum and shopping district. Tallinn's famous Oleviste Church is located on the doorsteps of the hotel and the Town Hall Square is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rixwell Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Old Town Tallinn
Hotel Meriton Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing