We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good distance to center of Town”
Review of Tallink City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tallink City Hotel
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Kontiolahti, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good distance to center of Town”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We did one Saturnday night in June 2013. We came with car and got parked to secured place. When we booked room we did choose cheapest one. But in receiption we change to bigger one because change was only small fee. We went breakfast at 8.00 clock. Breakfast was very good selection of everything. Food were plenty and seats also. If you need place to sleep near all attractions this your place.

Room Tip: Choose bigger room small fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Tallink City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to see that our customers are satisfied with our services and rooms. Hope to see you next time you visit Tallinn.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    234
    186
    42
    15
See reviews for
100
164
30
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This relatively new hotel seems to get most of their business from boats/ferries/cruises, with a few business people like me mixed in.

The rooms (I'm in a suite) are very nice, well appointed, and comfortable. Like most hotels this far North, there are very thick curtains, but that won't stop the rooms on the morning-sun side from getting warm with the early sunrise. The staff (desk, bell, reservation, and management) was super friendly and efficient at allowing me to swap to the other side. If you're an early morning person, you'll have the opposite problem.

The location is great...about as good as you can get without being IN the old city (which I personally wouldn't like)...and is directly across from a mall. I've used the spa for a massage, which was professional and effective.

The breakfast is nice, if a little busy at about 9am.

Room Tip: If (like me), you're a "night person" (and like sleeping late), consider a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for a very positive feedback. We are glad that you were satisfied with our personnel and services.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

we had upgraded the room to superior at the reception for a small fee.
the room was in 9th floor and it was very good
also breakfast is very good.
the hotel is close to the old city. location very good
close to harbour and airport.
stuff helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tallink City Hotel for your stay in Tallinn. It is a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services provided. We hope to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is just 2-3 blocks from Old Town. The breakfast buffet is very extensive and quite good. The standard double rooms are rather small. On the other hand, for 20 euros/night we upgraded to a deluxe room, which is a very large room, with a king-size bed, along with a sofa and chairs. Well worth it. The rooms are very clean. Staff at the registration desk are multi-lingual.

Room Tip: Opt for the deluxe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tallink City Hotel for your stay in Tallinn. It is a pleasure that you find our receptionist to be professional and DeLux rooms spacious. We hope to welcome you back to Tallink City Hotel.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, FInland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

If there was a choice 'good', I'd give this hotel that value, but not 'very good'. It's a relatively new hotel, quite central and handy to visit most sites in Tallinn. The service is impersonal like in most bigger hotels. This hotel gets a lot of visitors from Finland, being linked to the boat company that brings people over from Helsinki, and you can probably get a good price if you book this hotel with the boat ticket. We took an upgrade during our one-night-stay and got a nice big junior suite in the top floor. It looked nice especially in late night. The double bed was enormous and there was a nice seating area. Our kid was very happy to sleep on the couch. The hotel breakfast was pretty usual fare, but the pancakes were greatly appreciated by our kid. Their lobby bar was quite nice, with a great touch - a pianist playing there in early evening! Didn't eat in the restaurant. There was also a beauty parlor but didn't try it. My main complaint is not related to the hotel itself - but I had a bad experience there anyway. The people the neighbouring room - they partied all night and it sounded almost like it was in our room, it was so loud! I finally complained to the reception and they came over quite quickly - should have done it earlier.

Room Tip: Further up is probably better as it is further from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimono-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tallink City Hotel for your stay in Tallinn. We are glad to read that your stay with us was up to your expectations and that you are satisfied how quickly our staff took care of the problem with the loud neighbors. Hope to you visit us again.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
295 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Tallinn and found it to be a really nice, comfortable venue with a great location. It's very central to Tallinn, right across the street from the Viru shopping center (with a convenient supermarket in the basement) and just a 10 minute walk from the Old Town area. It's also fairly close to the ferry terminal, in case you're looking to take a 2-hour ferry ride to Helsinki for a day trip (also worth it!).

The room was a decent size with lots of plugs (I'm a tech geek with a lot of gadgets), the wireless internet always worked great and the complimentary breakfast buffet was satisfying. I'd easily stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor; I enjoyed having the view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valkyrie_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tallink City Hotel for your stay in Tallinn. It is always a pleasure to read that our clients are happy with the services provided and the amenities in our hotel. We do hope to welcome you back in Tallink City Hotel.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
443 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Have stayed at this tourist/business hotel a couple of times. It is conveniently located opposite the shopping mall and on a walking distance from the old town. The prices are considerably lower than that of SAS Radisson Blu. The breakfast is however far from that of the Radisson hotel. Somethings got to give!

Room Tip: Try and book the Junior Suite on the 10th floor - it is only 73 € / night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that all in all you are satisfied with our services and have been here for a couple of times already. We hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#10 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
#26 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#32 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink City Hotel

Property: Tallink City Hotel
Address: A. Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallink City Hotel is located in the heart of Tallinn and is the perfect place to stay for business travelers and city tourists. Our beautiful rooms offer all the comforts you would expect and our helpful staff do their best to make your stay memorable. In addition you can treat yourself at our beauty center Hera, wake yourself up in the morning sauna and enjoy great flavors at restaurant City. And on Fridays and Saturdays you can show off your dance moves at our own nightclub Cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tallink City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallink City Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing