We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with a good location”
Review of Tallink City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tallink City Hotel
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel filled all expectations for the purpose as a meeting and conference facility.
Rooms were spacious,clean and tastefully decorated in calm Scandinavian style, but the corridors could need a "face lift".
The beds were really comfortable and nice.
Unfortunately the service level was not very high and the staff did not feel very friendly or welcoming.
The pre-ordered food in the restaurant was not of very high quality, but i recon the food served from the a la carte menu is of much higher standard.
Location is spot on in the heart of the city.
Nice atmosphere in the lounge bar in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Daniela,

We are most delighted to read, that Tallink City Hotel met all your expectations.
It is our pleasure to welcome you here again!
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

The location of hotel was very good, it was next to Viru-centrum. The distance from harbour is short, but easier to go by taxi. The rooms were big and clean. This hotel is cost-effective choice for tourists. We will come back there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja-Nelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Tanja-Nelli,

It is always very pleasent to get feedback like yours.
It will definetly be pleasing to accomodate you again, here in Tallink City Hotel, soon!
Greetings,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The good thing in this hotel is that you actually do not feel leaving the older Tallink cruise ships when entering your room. Lousy rooms and even lousier breakfast. This hotel is actually really good for booze tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikkohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Mikko,

Thank you for your stay and feedback about Tallink City Hotel.
We are sorry, that your experience here, was not entirely positive - unfortunately you don´t specify what exactly went wrong or was disturbing you? Please let me know - cityhotel@tallink.ee
Greetings,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

It's not the place for romantic vacations or honeymoon but it's a fair e safe choice for any other kind of trip. Rooms are clean, large and quite. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good. It's well located and at a walking distance to old town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJoaoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Boginia,
We are grateful for your accomodation and opinion above, but please allow me to clearify that we also have suits and royal suits available. My honest opinion is that these rooms, with a 10th floor view, are just suitable for a romantic getaway ;)
B.R
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a very centrally located hotel in Tallinn owned/managed by the big(gest?) shipping company of Helsinki -Tallinn route, Tallink. Thereby it's customers seemed to be up to 90+ per cent of my countrymen, Finns, having a leisure trip to Tallinn.
A large hotel, clean, service and breakfast OK. Nothing very personal in the hotel, nothing to complain either.
A large shopping mall across the street. Old Town of Tallinn just a stone throw away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PekkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Pekka,
Thank you for choosing Tallink City Hotel.
I am glad we met your expectations.
Welcome back!
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is situated in the middle of Tallinn, nearby city-center shopping mall. Unfortunately there is more rooms for smokers than nonsmokers (at least it was something we feel about). Try to get your room as high as possible, there is good views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarmo_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Jarmo Y,

Thank you for your stay and feedback about Tallink City Hotel.
Unfortunately you have misinterpreted hotel policy regarding smokers. I can assure, that all rooms are for non-smokers and customers, who are caught disobeying this rule are penalized.

Welcome Back!
Siim Ojaver
Tallink City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What struck me most was the enormous amount of people in this hotel. It seems that many people from Helsinki come to Tallinn just for the weekend. Fortunately, all these people did not cause any problem. Rooms are spacious and clean, drinks at the bar at a good price (that's why all the Finnish come to Tallinn) and I must say that the breakfast was good as well. Did not suffer from any noise made by others.

Perfect location to explore the city

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Fox family,

I am glad to learn from your comment, that eventhough the hotel was fully booked, everything went smoothly during your stay. The walls were thick enough, the braekfast was not too crowded and you had the possibilitie to enjoy Tallinn, which is the most important thing for us!

Greetings,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.5 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#30 of 86 in Tallinn
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#9 of 86 in Tallinn
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
0.1 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
#11 of 86 in Tallinn
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink City Hotel

Address: A. Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £63 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallink City Hotel is located in the heart of Tallinn and is the perfect place to stay for business travelers and city tourists. Our beautiful rooms offer all the comforts you would expect and our helpful staff do their best to make your stay memorable. In addition you can treat yourself at our beauty center Hera, wake yourself up in the morning sauna and enjoy great flavors at restaurant Sume. On Fridays and Saturdays you can show off your dance moves at our own nightclub Cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tallink City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallink City Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing