We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable noisy and warm” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Ermitage Hotel
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable noisy and warm”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed for five nights for business and I am absolutely exhausted for lack of sleep due to traffic noise. The rooms were very warm, even it was not hot outside so you had to have the window open with no aircondition. Otherwise it was clean, staff ok, but didnt like it when I complained and asked for more quiet room, but they were fully booked so...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLady1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    351
    105
    21
    8
See reviews for
102
344
34
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

First, let me start by saying that this is by no means a bad hotel. It is generally clean, conveniently located for the old town and we found the staff pleasant and helpful. None the less, some fairly minor issues made our stay less enjoyable than it would otherwise have been:

- During our stay, the weather in Tallinn varied from a bit chilly to pleasantly warm. Our room (and that of the friends who travelled with us) seemed not to have any temperature control at all and was always unbelievably hot. In fact, the whole hotel seemed to have the heating constantly set to "tropical" apart from the restaurant / breakfast room where the air conditioning made it bearable.

- As other reviewers have noted, the main breakfast room is small and it's difficult to find a table (even one to share). On the second and final mornings of our stay, they did open another room at the back which was quieter. However, on the last morning we found that the tablecloths in there hadn't been changed or even wiped from the day before and that some of the hot food on the breakfast buffet had gone cold.

- Our room had two quite flat pillows per person. When we asked at the reception for another pillow we were told there was a 10 euro charge. Maybe this is common practice in Tallinn but we've never been charged for additional pillows anywhere else.

Despite these problems, I feel the hotel still represents reasonable value given what we paid for our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road suffer from traffic noise and noise from drunken guests returning in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChorltonDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Very modern hotel only 10 minutes walk from Old Town, reception staff are very helpfull, very smart room, spacious, clean with everything you need in it!
Good quality continental breakfast, can not tell aboud dinner menu, as we always dined out at the restaurants to try local cusine!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meercatsatplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Great reception staff, spoke good English and were very helpful.

Room was basic, clean and perfectly functional and they did a good buffet breakfast.

Lunch was good value at the hotel as was the evening hot chocolate and liquer before bed!

Location was excellent, just a 10 min walk (up a bit of a hill) to the Cathedral.
The city was clean and the food good value.

We ate at the Von Krahli Aed on the first night which was great, traditional food and really good value with 3 courses each + 2 bottles of wine for 107 euros. Lunch was pizza at Turg, and the final dinner was at La Boheme - very nice and relaxed dining 30 secs from the L'Ermitage.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealDeal347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were there in March 2012. Nice, clean room, good breakfastbuffe. The reception had great service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I've stayed in a number of 4* hotels in Tallinn, and they all more or less seem to offer the same standard in terms of rooms, service, breakfast, price and location. However I chose this one on the basis of free (secure) car parking and modern decor. Oh and strangely - all these hotels had absent (or insufficient) shower curtains.

A decent choice overall, but I found the other (Eastern) side of the Old Town to have a larger share of restaurants/bars, so a bit of a walk to the places we wanted to visit, but by no means a bad location in itself (right by Pikk Hermann).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siiroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Good breakfast, nice small room, pleasant stuff.
Don't ask for smoking room, cause the smell is terrible even to smokers.
The only thing many people write before me is the problem in the shower. They need to solve it, cause after every time I got shower, the floor was wet. And also location is a little bit walk to old city...5-7 minutes

Room Tip: Non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonna4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.0 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Hotel

Property: L'Ermitage Hotel
Address: Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Hotel L'Ermitage is located in the centre of Tallinn, just a 5-minute walk from the Town Hall. In total it has 122 rooms, providing a luxurios stay in various rooms, including standard, business, superior rooms and suites. In addition to guest rooms, the hotel also features two restaurants - L'Ermitage and Katze - an all-new contemporary conference hall, and a private sauna with a Jacuzzi. Many attractions, locals favorite bars and restaurants are located nearby the hotel, in walkable distance. The Nordic serenity of Hotel L`Ermitage catches the eye as you approach the building. The interior of the hotel welcomes its guests with a warm and bright atmosphere, encouraging visitors to enjoy our guest rooms, restaurants, conference hall, and sauna, benefitting from Northern, elegant interiors filled with well thought-out detail that always accentuates convenience, comfort, and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your L'Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Ermitage Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing