We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay in a heart of Tallinn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Ermitage Hotel
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice stay in a heart of Tallinn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hotel L'Ermitage locates just about 500m from heart of Old Town of Tallinn, very nice and spacious rooms, clean and bright... . There was coffee- and teamaker in our room what was really a good surprise as we bought some pies from bakery just before going to hotel, it was wintertime and the weather in Tallinn was really wet and snowy that night, so it was great to have a cup of hot tea before going to bed. And this bed.... one of the best hotel-beds I have been sleeping in for last years. It was really comfortable, not too soft as usually hotelbeds are. Breakfast was not very rich but still tasteful- buffet style serving and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Brend new room- opened just in dec13-jan14
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salgumari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    351
    105
    21
    8
See reviews for
102
344
34
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I visited Tallinn with my boyfriend for a 3-day relaxing vacation. We arrived at the hotel at 12.00 and got our room immediately. We had booked the superior romantic room and it was very fresh and light. Not the most cosy room, but we really enjoyed it. Nothing to complain about!
The room had a big bathtub that fit us both and the bed was large and comfortable.

The first morning we overslept and got to the breakfast three minutes before closing, but the staff was nice enough to let us get some breakfast before they took away the food and started cleaning. The breakfast was nice, and I am a real breakfast person, so that is a great grade.
The staff was welcoming and polite and we even got to check out an hour later than we were supposed to.

We walked everywhere during our visit in Tallinn, and the location of the hotel was good in our opinion. Close to the old town. Took us about 10 minutes to walk from the hotel to the old town square.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent five night at hot season ( Russian Christmas holdays) and I would like to say that the hotel staff did their work well. The hotel was full ( or almost full), there was a bit crowdy at the breakfast ( very good with various meal) but they managed to serve quickly adding the meal when finished, cleaning the tables, opening restraunt for open buffet. It was warm in the room, nevertheless in addition to the blanket they supplied the plaid. The hotel is very close to old town. There are two things that I did not like there: a glass chair in the room ( I see that it is hi-tech design, but I do not like it) and the noise from the street. We opened the window just for a few minutes for airing and there was a noise from the street. I suppose that at summer it could be a problem influencing on the sleep qualty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nojemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I could give an excellent review if I wouldn't have the bad surprise to see that my signature has been imitated on one bill.
When you check out, check your bill very carefully and if there has been some receipts that you have signed, ask to see them if something looks weird.
This problem has happened to me but the funniest thing is that the receptionist and the manager were telling me that for them this "fake" signature looked like the original one even if anybody could notice that the fake one was shaky and completely different from the original which was on other receipts. So be careful because they won't admit their mistake!!!!

Except this problem, our stay was very pleasant.
The location is fine, just need to walk a couple of minutes to be in the old town.
The price was good for the room which was not too big, not too small and very clean. Our room had a view on the outside parking place, it was very quiet. We didn't listen any noise from outside or from the other rooms.
The TV has a large choice of foreign TV programs: Italian, Russian, Finnish, French, German, English....

The restaurant was perfect. The food were very good. I just regret that the Christmas dinner was placed in another room with a buffet which was under the average in quality. If you plan to spend your next Christmas there, go to the restaurant and don't take the XMas dinner package.

Our car was too big to fit inside, we had to leave it on their outside parking (located behind the hotel). When I saw how it looked like with access to anybody I was a bit scared. But it's very safe, there is a guard all night long with a dog. It cost 9€ per night but our car was safe.

We booked the sauna one evening and ordered food from the sauna menu.
Food was very good, each dish had a nice presentation.
The sauna itself wasn't so pleasant, it was too hot. When we arrived the temperature was about 70C but after an hour it was 100C, too hot for us and we didn't find how to adjust the temperature.
The Jacuzzi looks more like a big bathtub. You can seat inside at 2 persons but the bubbles are more for decoration than massaging you.
Anyway, it's a nice place to relax. We booked it for 2 hours and it was enough. 1 hour would be too short.

Even if I found this hotel good, I will not go back because of what happened when we checked out. I took pictures of the receipts and shown them to all my friends. All of them noticed that one had a fake signature. But it seems that the manager and staff have a different way to see things.

Room Tip: A fan was inside the room which means that in summer it may be hot. There is a main road in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavKir01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinola, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel was easy to get by car. Parking was affordable in the carage. Room was clean and I liked the decorating, room was just renovated.
Traffic noise was annoying, luckily I had my ear plugs with so I slept a good night sleep.
Breakfast was continental and restaurant was nicely furnished.

First evening we booked sauna and it was hot and nice, perfect for four people but I don't recommend that to larger groups. 35 euros was good price for two hours.

I've used to stay near Viru hotel and this was refreshing hotel for the location and I liked the staying there very much.

Room Tip: If you don't have ear plugs and you are a light sleeper don't get a room on the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmaMarMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Spent some nights at this hotel with my friends at the end of October. We were three couples from different countries that wanted to have a nice time in Tallinn all together. Well… one couple was thrown away from the hotel because of L'Ermitage didn't have any rooms available - I mean they didn't want to provide ALREADY PAID room (and of course no excuses, just tough soviet service).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iglokott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel was recently renovated. We had a basic room, but it had underfloor heating which was lovely and warm, a TV and great, comfortable beds.

Breakfast was included.

Location was good for the Old Town and it was a nice walk to get there (10 mins).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamerArounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.0 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Hotel

Property: L'Ermitage Hotel
Address: Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Hotel L'Ermitage is located in the centre of Tallinn, just a 5-minute walk from the Town Hall. In total it has 122 rooms, providing a luxurios stay in various rooms, including standard, business, superior rooms and suites. In addition to guest rooms, the hotel also features two restaurants - L'Ermitage and Katze - an all-new contemporary conference hall, and a private sauna with a Jacuzzi. Many attractions, locals favorite bars and restaurants are located nearby the hotel, in walkable distance. The Nordic serenity of Hotel L`Ermitage catches the eye as you approach the building. The interior of the hotel welcomes its guests with a warm and bright atmosphere, encouraging visitors to enjoy our guest rooms, restaurants, conference hall, and sauna, benefitting from Northern, elegant interiors filled with well thought-out detail that always accentuates convenience, comfort, and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your L'Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Ermitage Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing