We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but away from the harbour”
Review of L'Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Ermitage Hotel
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Western Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but away from the harbour”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Clean, modern and good quality hotel, but a little bit too far from the harbour. Still just next to the old town. Nice service and good breakfast with various of choices.

The room was ready even if we went there one hour before.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carborator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    360
    106
    22
    8
See reviews for
104
357
35
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is my second time in this hotel and it was a nice stay again. The hotel is quite new and rooms are clean and modern. This hotel is also surprisingly quiet despite the fact, that there is a lot of traffic in this area. This hotel is also a little bit cheaper, because of it`s location 1-2 kilometres from the city centre. On the other hand, there are nice parks on the way to the centre, and also interesting residential areas near the hotel, so it is really nice to see Tallinn from a different perspective.
During summermonths the hotel might be pretty full and that means a lot of crowd in dining room during breakfast. In order to find a free table for your coffeecup, you`d better have an early breakfast.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on both times, facing towards the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Good location, friendly staff. Rooms small but comfy beds welcome. Aircon not good so warm nights are tough and if you open the window traffic noise keeps you awake. Choose rooms that don't face the street is my tip.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJRACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a good and clean hotel. Well deserving it's four stars. For us it was a bit far from all the "action" though. A nice 5-10 minute walk to the edge of old town.
Rooms were nothing special but very clean and nicely decorated. Staff was friendly and breakfast was good but had to wait for coffee, milk and juice as they were all out at the same time. Check in and out was smooth and quick.

Room Tip: A room facing the inner yard for better sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is located near the Tallinn's old city and provides the short walk to main touristic places. Rooms are comfortable and have attractively designed interiors. The staff is quite good.

There are several "contra" - room windows provide limited access to fresh air due to its small opeining and the car parking at 9 EUR a day seems overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirak1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I've been in Tallinn for a dozen times now and this time (in the end of March) I felt I'd try a hotel outside the Old town. I decided to go for L'Ermitage because of earlier reviews and the photos of the hotel looked nice. Not a very good decision. The hotel was actually rather dull and lacking character compared to most of the hotels I've stayed in Tallinn before. My room on the 6th floor was just tiny, with a sloped roof and a large window (and not a very good curtain). The staff seemed very stressed and not too friendly and the breakfast was nothing special. Actually there seemed to be two breakfast rooms and I was first quite confused which one to go to as I hadn't been told about that when checking in. L'Ermitage is not that far from the Old Town (only a 10-15 min walk), but it's rather far from the port of Tallinn. If walking is not your cup of tea, choose a hotel in the Old Town or in the eastern parts of downtown instead. If you don't mind walking I would recommend the Von Stackelberg hotel very close to L'Ermitage. For me it's back to the Old Town next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaroldTheBarrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is located very close to the Old Town, at a walking distance from the Orthodox Cathedral, the Kiek In De Kök tower, and Toompea Castle, although to get to these places one must climb a steep hill which can be a lnot so confortable specially pn a rainy , windy or snowy day so common in beautiful Tallinn. Besides that, you have also to cross a small park where we saw a number of young people using drugs. We didn't feel insecure, but we never know...

The hotel staff is very kind and speaks excellent English - as everybody in the Baltics. They serve a very good breakfast. The hotel is well renovated, the rooms are clean, silent and well decorated. We've had a very pleasant time and we'll certainly come back.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the traffic noise, please choose one of tha back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrePBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.1 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Hotel

Property: L'Ermitage Hotel
Address: Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Hotel L'Ermitage is located in the centre of Tallinn, just a 5-minute walk from the Town Hall. In total it has 122 rooms, providing a luxurios stay in various rooms, including standard, business, superior rooms and suites. In addition to guest rooms, the hotel also features two restaurants - L'Ermitage and Katze - an all-new contemporary conference hall, and a private sauna with a Jacuzzi. Many attractions, locals favorite bars and restaurants are located nearby the hotel, in walkable distance. The Nordic serenity of Hotel L`Ermitage catches the eye as you approach the building. The interior of the hotel welcomes its guests with a warm and bright atmosphere, encouraging visitors to enjoy our guest rooms, restaurants, conference hall, and sauna, benefitting from Northern, elegant interiors filled with well thought-out detail that always accentuates convenience, comfort, and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Ermitage Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing