We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, nice located!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Mragowo, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Good value for money, nice located!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I was there with my girlfriend for 2 nights. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and english speaking :) Room was tiny but there was really nice sea view. Breakfast was good and fresh, but we didnt eat other meals. I can easily recommend it for people who didnt need luxuries.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    150
    142
    21
    7
See reviews for
74
126
56
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is a great budget hotel, its only a short walk (10 mins max) from major sites such as Fat Margaret's tower, Tallinhall etc. Its right next to the ferry terminal but do let that put you off. I'm a light sleeper and I didn't hear a thing plus its quite safe to walk around day & night. There are some very nice places to eat near by and you can walk to them easily plus the hotel's own bar is a relaxed and friendly place too. Rooms are basic but clean, the only thing you need to bring is a hairdryer. It also has a spa/sauna that you can pay extra to use. Breakfast is plentiful and good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Hello!
Thank You for Your feedback, Your opinion is very important to us.
We hope to accommodate You again in the future.
You’re always welcome.
Wishing You all the best
TallinnHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Engalnd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at Hotel Portus. The room was clean and tidy and brightly decorated although, as you would expect for this price ,not luxurious. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet and also found the staff very helpful and their advice helped us make the most of our trip. The location is good only about 10mins walk from the Old Town (which we had a nice view of) and also near a supermarket, and it was very easy to get to from the airport (the 2 Bus takes you right to it). The only negative was that the shower would give random bursts of very hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank JoelEngalnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Hello Joel,
Thank You for taking time to write positive comment. It was pleasure to read that You enjoyed Your staying our hotel.
We would to thank You for Your kind words about rooms, breakfast, location and staff.
We are very sorry to read that You had trouble with the shower, thank You for pointing our attention for that.
It will be great honor to accommodate You again in the future.
Warm regards from Tallinn and from City Hotel Portus staff to England
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in May. Whilst its next door to the Port, we were'nt actually using the Port but used here as a base to see Tallinn. Its a 10- 15 minute walk to the Old Town (10 mins to the new area eg Radisson hotel for the rooftop bar and 5 mins to the Rotterman Quarter).

On the plus side, its a reasonable standard and includes breakfast. The hotel seams busy with a busy bar/ breakfast/ restaurant area. Plus the bus stop outside the hotel goes to/ from the airport on the service number 2.

Slight niggles include that breakfast doesnt include many continental items (croissants etc) and in the room we were in there were 2 singles which were rather slim beds and the matresses were relatively soft.

Also, as this is Tallinn, and is light for quite a long time and early in the morning, i'd of thought they would have really good blackout blinds, but they didnt! They had standard blinds which meant early morning wake up calls when it became light.

It has a Sauna area, but its a chargeable extra, which is a shame as it looked pretty good !

But overall, so long as you dont mind it been a 10- 15 minute walk to the centre of the old town, then I'd recommend staying here. I gave location 3 out of 5 due to not using the port, obviously if you are travelling to/ from the Port it would score a 5 !

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking the Port
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Hello "thecoaster"
Thank You for Your feedback. It was great to read that You would recommend our hotel to other travelers. Because Portus is next to passenger port, it is very convenient hotel where to stay in when travelling to/from Helsinki and/or Stockholm. We even have here free parking (garage for extra fee) place, if You travel by car/motorcycle.
City Hotel Portus is the perfect hotel for travellers who value reasonable prices and good location.
We would like to wish You nice summer and You are always welcome back.
Best regards from Tallinn.
City Hotel Portus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The city Hotel Portus is right opposite the ferry port which is ideal if you are travelling. The rooms are very big, loads of space and very clean. Nice quirky decor too. The TV's are a little dated though! The rate we had included breakfast which is good because there is nothing very close by where you would go to eat in the morning. Breakfast was standard continental style, cereals, breads, etc with scrambled and boiled eggs and sausages and meatballs. There is a bar/ restaurant area downstairs as well. The hotel was quite busy so there is quite a lot of atmosphere. There was some noise during the night but most hotels will have a degree of noise. Nothing that bothered us enough to say anything.
Another plus, the temperature was freezing outside (went down to -27) and the hotel was still warm and cosy!
Overall it is fantastic value for money and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacredTrickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Hello,
We would like to thank you for taking time and that you gave us feedback about Your visit to City Hotel Portus.
We are glad that You had great time at the hotel.
We were sorry to read about the noise from the street. Next time if You’ll visit Tallinn again , it would be great honor to accommodate You again and offer You beautiful room facing the back of the building.
We would like to wish You nice spring.

Best regards
City Hotel Portus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This hotel is
close to downtown, to the port (if one slips away, sails),
The view from our window was on the ferry. The breakfast was diverse, very rich
It is located near the old town (20-25 min. walk by foot);
Interesting interior (in our room there was a Beatles poster);
The hotel gas adaptations for the disabled;
Free Wi-Fi in rooms.
We have no need to use the car, leaving it on the parking near the hotel

Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank You for taking time and sending Your feedback to Tripadvisor. It was very delightful to read Your positive feedback.
City Hotel Portus is the best choice if You appreciate Reasonable prices and it’s situated next to the passenger port and very close to the downtown (5 min walk).
The recurrent theme in the interior design in rooms is high-spirited rock and retro.
Should You visit Tallinn in the future, it would be great honor to accommodate You here again.

All the best from City Hotel Portus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We came to Tallinn with the further purpose to go by ferry to Helsinki, Finland. I knew that hotel Portus was just few minutes away from ferry terminal. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that our terminal D was just the opposite side of the Hotel. So, we didn't have to rush or hurry to catch our ferry at 7 am! Moreover, the hotel is also located near to the Old Town, centre. The service was perfect, room - big and comfortable, nice cafe downstairs. All in all, we spent our weekend fabulously.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurePoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Hello ,,AdventurePoint’’
Thank you so much for taking time to write positive review. This give us lot of energy to continue.
It was nice to read that You had fabulous weekend at City Hotel Portus.
We hope that next time we can accommodate You again.
We would like to wish You beautiful autumn.

Best regards from City Hotel Portus
Siret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#32 of 85 in Tallinn
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#37 of 85 in Tallinn
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#18 of 85 in Tallinn
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#33 of 85 in Tallinn
955 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#21 of 85 in Tallinn
292 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 85 in Tallinn
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Seaport Hotel

Property: Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Address: Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia (Formerly City Hotel Portus)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallinn Seaport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallinn Seaport Hotel (ex City Hotel Portus) is located next to the D-terminal of the Port of Tallinn. Seaport Hotel corresponds to the level of a three-star hotel and is the perfect choice for those who value reasonable prices and would like to stay near the Tallinn's Old Town. Hotel has 107 rooms decorated in joyful colors and featuring warm, environmentally-friendly cork floors. All guest rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone, shower and WC, hair dryer, high-speed wireless access. Superior Double or Twin rooms are extra spacious and feature a comfortable sofa. Family rooms contain two standard rooms with a connecting door. In the morning, Cafe serves the hotel guests a delicious buffet-breakfast. In the summer, guests can enjoy their food and drinks out on a terrace. There are modern seminar and event rooms with the high-quality equipment on the 5th floor of Tallinn Seaport Hotel. Rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. At the cozy sauna of Tallinn Seaport Hotel guests can enjoy Finnish-type sauna, steam bathing and relax in a modern Jacuzzi.The sauna is located on the penthouse floor of the hotel, offering a wonderful view of the Old Town of Tallinn. Parking in front of the hotel is free of charge in case of availability. You may also park at the garage located on the 0 floor of the hotel (extra charge), the garage holds 9 cars with maximum height of 1,7m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tallinn Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing