We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Really good value for money. Everything from check-in to check-out was efficient. Breakfast was quite adequate, rooms functional and clean. Location good, just a 15 minute stroll to Old Town and 1 minute walk to ferry terminal to Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldgit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    147
    141
    20
    7
See reviews for
73
126
53
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I spent two nights here and It was very nice. The room was very clean, albeit slightly on the smaller side, but the bathroom was quite large. Service was great, as well as the breakfasts. The breakfast area was always somewhat crowded though. The hotel is quite conveniently located, but the biggest challenge was finding it for the first time. Should have checked the address better, I suppose. Overall throughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is conveniently located a short 10 min walk from the Old Town & about 15 min to Kadriog Park. A supermarket is 5 min away. The bus from the airport drops you off across from the hotel. The staff was very helpful & pleasant esp Valeria, who answered questions before I asked them, gave excellent advice and spoke outstanding English. The rooms are spacious & clean. It would have been nice to be able to make tea in the room. The room does not have a fridge, either. The breakfast was plentiful & constantly replenished. There’s no A/C, which is fine because there’s a nice breeze from the water. However, being on the port side was a little noisy as people seemed to hang out all hrs of the night & talk loudly on that side of the building. Being a single woman, the walk to the port seemed scary at night at first but after doing it a few times I felt very comfortable. The hotel is secure. You need your room key to get on the elevator. I wasn’t too crazy about the bed or the shower. There’s no door on the shower so water gets everywhere in the bathroom. The bed was way too soft. The sheets didn’t cover the entire mattress but since I’m short my feet never hit the mattress. The bottom mattress is not covered and looked quite dingy but maybe it’s supposed to be gray. Overall, I think the hotel is a great find & a great bargain. I would stay there again. I would recommend it to anyone who needs a nice, basic, clean hotel.

Room Tip: I liked having a room overlooking the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy_R-Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mragowo, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I was there with my girlfriend for 2 nights. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and english speaking :) Room was tiny but there was really nice sea view. Breakfast was good and fresh, but we didnt eat other meals. I can easily recommend it for people who didnt need luxuries.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is a great budget hotel, its only a short walk (10 mins max) from major sites such as Fat Margaret's tower, Tallinhall etc. Its right next to the ferry terminal but do let that put you off. I'm a light sleeper and I didn't hear a thing plus its quite safe to walk around day & night. There are some very nice places to eat near by and you can walk to them easily plus the hotel's own bar is a relaxed and friendly place too. Rooms are basic but clean, the only thing you need to bring is a hairdryer. It also has a spa/sauna that you can pay extra to use. Breakfast is plentiful and good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Hello!
Thank You for Your feedback, Your opinion is very important to us.
We hope to accommodate You again in the future.
You’re always welcome.
Wishing You all the best
TallinnHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Engalnd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at Hotel Portus. The room was clean and tidy and brightly decorated although, as you would expect for this price ,not luxurious. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet and also found the staff very helpful and their advice helped us make the most of our trip. The location is good only about 10mins walk from the Old Town (which we had a nice view of) and also near a supermarket, and it was very easy to get to from the airport (the 2 Bus takes you right to it). The only negative was that the shower would give random bursts of very hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank JoelEngalnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Hello Joel,
Thank You for taking time to write positive comment. It was pleasure to read that You enjoyed Your staying our hotel.
We would to thank You for Your kind words about rooms, breakfast, location and staff.
We are very sorry to read that You had trouble with the shower, thank You for pointing our attention for that.
It will be great honor to accommodate You again in the future.
Warm regards from Tallinn and from City Hotel Portus staff to England
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in May. Whilst its next door to the Port, we were'nt actually using the Port but used here as a base to see Tallinn. Its a 10- 15 minute walk to the Old Town (10 mins to the new area eg Radisson hotel for the rooftop bar and 5 mins to the Rotterman Quarter).

On the plus side, its a reasonable standard and includes breakfast. The hotel seams busy with a busy bar/ breakfast/ restaurant area. Plus the bus stop outside the hotel goes to/ from the airport on the service number 2.

Slight niggles include that breakfast doesnt include many continental items (croissants etc) and in the room we were in there were 2 singles which were rather slim beds and the matresses were relatively soft.

Also, as this is Tallinn, and is light for quite a long time and early in the morning, i'd of thought they would have really good blackout blinds, but they didnt! They had standard blinds which meant early morning wake up calls when it became light.

It has a Sauna area, but its a chargeable extra, which is a shame as it looked pretty good !

But overall, so long as you dont mind it been a 10- 15 minute walk to the centre of the old town, then I'd recommend staying here. I gave location 3 out of 5 due to not using the port, obviously if you are travelling to/ from the Port it would score a 5 !

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking the Port
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Hello "thecoaster"
Thank You for Your feedback. It was great to read that You would recommend our hotel to other travelers. Because Portus is next to passenger port, it is very convenient hotel where to stay in when travelling to/from Helsinki and/or Stockholm. We even have here free parking (garage for extra fee) place, if You travel by car/motorcycle.
City Hotel Portus is the perfect hotel for travellers who value reasonable prices and good location.
We would like to wish You nice summer and You are always welcome back.
Best regards from Tallinn.
City Hotel Portus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#39 of 83 in Tallinn
603 reviews
1.1 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#32 of 83 in Tallinn
940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#33 of 83 in Tallinn
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#18 of 83 in Tallinn
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Braavo
Hotel Braavo
#50 of 83 in Tallinn
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#22 of 83 in Tallinn
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Seaport Hotel

Property: Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Address: Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia (Formerly City Hotel Portus)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallinn Seaport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallinn Seaport Hotel (ex City Hotel Portus) is located next to the D-terminal of the Port of Tallinn. Seaport Hotel corresponds to the level of a three-star hotel and is the perfect choice for those who value reasonable prices and would like to stay near the Tallinn's Old Town. Hotel has 107 rooms decorated in joyful colors and featuring warm, environmentally-friendly cork floors. All guest rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone, shower and WC, hair dryer, high-speed wireless access. Superior Double or Twin rooms are extra spacious and feature a comfortable sofa. Family rooms contain two standard rooms with a connecting door. In the morning, Cafe serves the hotel guests a delicious buffet-breakfast. In the summer, guests can enjoy their food and drinks out on a terrace. There are modern seminar and event rooms with the high-quality equipment on the 5th floor of Tallinn Seaport Hotel. Rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. At the cozy sauna of Tallinn Seaport Hotel guests can enjoy Finnish-type sauna, steam bathing and relax in a modern Jacuzzi.The sauna is located on the penthouse floor of the hotel, offering a wonderful view of the Old Town of Tallinn. Parking in front of the hotel is free of charge in case of availability. You may also park at the garage located on the 0 floor of the hotel (extra charge), the garage holds 9 cars with maximum height of 1,7m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tallinn Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing