We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good in general, excellent for sea travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good in general, excellent for sea travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in portus a couple of times and realli liked it. The most important thing for me is cleanliness. The rooms are really clean as well as the bathrooms. Breakfast is also quite nice. It is an excellent choice for sea travellers as the ferru terminal is in front of the hotel and you dont need a taxi to/from hotel. It is also close to the city centre and the old town. The bus stop is in front of the hotel and bus 2 takes you directly to the airport. Really convenient! But keep in mind that a lot of noise comes from the ferry terminal, so if you want to sleep with your window opened it is unbearable :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liggy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Liggy,

Thank you for your feedback!

I am very glad to hear that you are enjoying your stay here at Portus time and time again! This means a lot and pushes us forward to make the next stays even more satisfactory for you.

I hope to see you again in the future and be sure that you are always warmly welcomed in City Hotel Portus!

With kind regards,
Siret Sillaste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    145
    138
    17
    6
See reviews for
72
124
51
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Banus, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We've choose this hotel because of our ferry to Helsinki. We had to stay one night and were very happy of this place! Amazing location(what is important, hotel is in the port), good price, good designed inside really nice rooms with big shower (maybe strange but i like it) and helpful hotel staff. Bar was quiet expensive but we had only breakfast and didn't use this bar. Hotel was a way better than i expected. It's amazing choice if you have your ferry to Stockholm or Helsinki and you need to rest in Tallinn Port.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafael-israel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words!
I am sure your comments were helpful for other travelers too.
Feel free to visit us again during your visit in Tallinn - you will always be welcome!

Kind regards,
Siret Sillaste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on several occassions when visiting Tallinn. It's inexpensive, clean, comfortable, and ideal for ferry travelers. Rooms are very basic, but they have all the essentials and they're also quite big compared to some other hotels in Tallinn. Views from the rooms are not superb, but I find them quite fine. It's different from every-day views to watch the harbour if you're lucky to get a room on that side.

Breakfast is fine, pretty much the basic breaksfast you would get in other 2-3(-4) star hotels. However, the food they serve in their cafe is fantastic and cheap. I would highly recommend eating there! On my last trip in this hotel, we had a large group and we all ate different dishes (3 course) from the menu, and we all loved the foods, they were really tasty.

The hotel also has private sauna and jacuzzi facilities. To my experience, they are under-advertized and people don't know about it much. I only came to know this when I was looking for a venue for my birthday party. We booked these facilities for us. The prices are not bad, however, I know they've raised them a bit now. The facilities are located on the top floor with great views towards the harbour and city. There are two saunas, a regular one and a steam one. Then there is a jacuzzi that can fit in 8-10 people. It also has multiple showers, two locker rooms with toilets, and there is a wonderful area next to the jacuzzi where you can spend the evening watching the Estonian city fall asleep. The room has tv, dining table with chairs, sofa and small kitchen table with sink and fridge. The whole room is surrounded by a terrace area that is freely accessible for the users of these facilities. Food and drinks can also be ordered there from the cafe.

Special thanks to Hannes Kuus, the Meeting and Events Manager, who kindly helped me to organize the facilities for my birthday and was always able to answer my many many questions. Thus, I can say that the service was excellent and kind. Also, the ladies at the front desk were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whippo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Whippo2,

Thank you very much for your kind words!
We are very grateful of this kind of feedback and be sure that your special compliments have arrived to Hannes and the reception staff.

Hopefully we will see again in the future!

Siret Sillaste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I went here last week on a stag-do and really enjoyed my stay. Spacious, modern hotel with good facilities. Sure, the bar was expensive (4 euros a beer) and the sauna was 30 euros so none of us tried it out. Great for stag parties as its easy to find and you can roll in at any time of the night. staff were very tolerant considering the 15 of us were permanently drunk.
Like the other reviewers have said, wet room bathroom, but at least there were plenty of towels and shower gel. Only made it to breakfast on one of the days, food was ok, the beds were a bit small. All in all a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Andy,

Thank you for posting your comments!

I am glad to hear that you were happy with your choice of accommodation. Your comments are very valuable to us when we think about needs for improving.
The thing that makes me happy as a Front Office manager is that you were kind enough to mention our staff with a friendly thought. This is every hotels dream and I thank you for noticing that!

All the best,
Siret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Didn't have high hopes for much of the accommodation on my recent trip, but this exceeded my expectation. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom confused me a bit- the 'wet room' style shower with no way to contain the water made everything wet and if you had the water on anything but cold with no ventilation the room gets very hot- please install exhaust fans!!!

Breakfast buffet is decent. Wifi works in the rooms too, always a plus, and is very quick- Skype calls were crystal clear. Very disappointed with the lack of information regarding the spa/sauna facilities. Nowhere does it mention that it costs and needs to be booked well in advance! Reception staff are friendly and speak very good English.

Location is good- the walk into Old Town took around 15 minutes and theres a supermarket just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenno86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel is average 3-star hotel near terminal D. The room was clean and quite big for 2 persons. breakfast was Ok, nothing special. Supermarket is near and it's approximately 20 min walk from the Old town. If you want to stay near the terminal you should pick this hotel. Otherwise I recommend hotels in Old Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here for a short break to enjoy the Christmas market and see the sights that Tallinn has to offer. Was a perfect base within easy walking distance of the old town and all the main attractions. Only cost 2 Euros for a short bus journey to/from the airport; the bus stop is directly outside the hotel.

The breakfast buffet was as expected in a budget continental style; bread (toaster available), fruit, cheeses, sausage, egg, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea and juice.

Hotel room was basic but clean and tidy: We booked a room for 3 and was actually allocated two rooms with an internal door to link the two, this meant two bathrooms which was greatly appreciated for three women sharing.

Tallinn itself is a beautiful city with plenty of interesting buildings, shops, cafes and restaurants to explore. The Christmas market is small but has enough stalls to keep you busy for a couple of hours. I would definitely recommend the KGB Museum at Hotel Viru: Go to the reception on the ground floor of Hotel Viru and ask about the KGB museum they will tell you which times are available for the tour and book you on. It does get booked up and you can only visit the museum if you are on one of the tours so if you're only in Tallinn for a short trip make this a priority on your first day.

The Aleksander Nevski Cathedral and Parliament building are directly opposite each other and worth a visit as well as the walk along the old town wall (for a small fee).

If you're not feeling up to walking, bus tickets can be bought from the Hotel reception desk and each bus journey costs between 1 and 2 Euros. The buses will take you all over the town and are easy enough to negotiate (name of destination and number on front with maps at bus stops).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#41 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.1 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#22 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#33 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Seaport Hotel

Property: Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Address: Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia (Formerly City Hotel Portus)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallinn Seaport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallinn Seaport Hotel (ex City Hotel Portus) is located next to the D-terminal of the Port of Tallinn. Seaport Hotel corresponds to the level of a three-star hotel and is the perfect choice for those who value reasonable prices and would like to stay near the Tallinn's Old Town. Hotel has 107 rooms decorated in joyful colors and featuring warm, environmentally-friendly cork floors. All guest rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone, shower and WC, hair dryer, high-speed wireless access. Superior Double or Twin rooms are extra spacious and feature a comfortable sofa. Family rooms contain two standard rooms with a connecting door. In the morning, Cafe serves the hotel guests a delicious buffet-breakfast. In the summer, guests can enjoy their food and drinks out on a terrace. There are modern seminar and event rooms with the high-quality equipment on the 5th floor of Tallinn Seaport Hotel. Rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. At the cozy sauna of Tallinn Seaport Hotel guests can enjoy Finnish-type sauna, steam bathing and relax in a modern Jacuzzi.The sauna is located on the penthouse floor of the hotel, offering a wonderful view of the Old Town of Tallinn. Parking in front of the hotel is free of charge in case of availability. You may also park at the garage located on the 0 floor of the hotel (extra charge), the garage holds 9 cars with maximum height of 1,7m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tallinn Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing