We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One night stop over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Basic hotel with linoleum floors! Fall out of ferry into the Portus. I would not stay again as there is no atmosphere and the room was stark and not that comfortable.

This is a one night stop over hotel.

I broke my arm and must praise the night receptionist for her quick thinking in supplying me with ice and phoning a cab to take me to hospital.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Cardie,

Thank you for your post!

I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our receptionist. It is certainly our number one priority to make you feel welcome and humbled here at Portus.

As for the critique I hope you will still find it useful to spend time at Portus in the future also so we could give you a warm welcome again.

Kindly,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    145
    138
    17
    6
See reviews for
72
124
51
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Location wise this hotel was perfect for one concert night in Tallinn. Laululava was walking distance and also ferry terminal. This hotel is also very close to nice crocery/snack shopping and free busstop to Rocca Al Mare Mall. Room was clean and bed for good to sleep. Hot room definetely at summer time. Dark (not red one) blinder would help this a little bit, but you can also open window. Breakfast was good (sausage, meatballs, eggs (three ways), porridge, yogurt, serial, tomato, salad, cheece, bread etc. Who said this is not enough? ..... wake up early so there is no waiting :) Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I`m coming back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paivi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Paivi
Thank you for your feedback!

Your positive notes as well as your suggestions will surely be helpful for our everyday job here at City Hotel Portus

I am looking forward to have you here again as we could give you an even better experience.

Greetings,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
325 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you are seeking a hotel near the ferry terminal, this is a good choice as it is right across from the terminal. Room was clean and they had a good buffet breakfast. Within walking distance of old town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciahasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
2) Dear Ciahasher
Thank you for your kind words!

It was a pleasure to host you here at City Hotel Portus and we are already looking forward to the next time!

Kind regards,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for only 2 nights (luckily)! The room had terrible problems of ventilation; there was no air conditioning or not even a fan to get some wind. This made our stay really uncomfortable and I literally couldn't wait to leave (at least the room) due to the hotness inside. On top of that the TV didn't work, the bathroom was totally flooded and you can hear everything of what's going on in other rooms.... AND ON TOP OF THAT one of the receptionist was really "sassy"!!

On the possitive side, the hotel has a good location and was really clean!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your comments!

I am sorry that some of the aspects of your visit were unsatisfying. I hope the next time you visit us we can improve for you and give you the warm welcome you deserve.

Until then I wish you all the best!
Sincerely,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Portus was on exellent location right there near harbour, breakfast was cozy and pleasant.
room was tidy and air condition worked nicely but shower/toilet was bit cold and water went everywhere and no toilet hose. Service was exelent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Petri,
Thank very much for your post!

I am sure that this will be helpful for the other tripadvisor users as well.
City Hotel Portus is looking forward to host you in the future!

Until then I wish you all the best!
Sincerely,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faenza, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for two nights with my vife and three couples my friends. Near the old town, 20' walking; good breakfast and large room. The bathroom was flooded because no separation from the shower. ......................................

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbarnabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear rbarnabe,

Thank you for your feedback!
Your positive notes as well as your suggestions will surely be helpful for our everyday job here at City Hotel Portus

I am looking forward to have you here again as we could give you an even better experience.

Greetings,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
España
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The location of the room was dreadful: ground floor with windows facing building entrance-NO privacy. They didnt make our room after our first night, unless you think pulling the duvet over the bed is enough. The bathroom was constantly flooded: no separation from the shower and no proper drainage system (the foul smell also accounted for that) We complained about the non-made beds, we invited them in and showed them a picture when they turned down the offer and they did NOTHING. We stayed a third night in Tallin; we obviously changed hotels. I wouldn't go back even if they payed me to.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViajoEnTren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your critique!

I am sorry that you found City Hotel Portus disappointing for you. I hope that you still had a great holiday in Tallinn.

Kind regards,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#41 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.1 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#22 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#33 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Seaport Hotel

Property: Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Address: Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia (Formerly City Hotel Portus)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallinn Seaport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallinn Seaport Hotel (ex City Hotel Portus) is located next to the D-terminal of the Port of Tallinn. Seaport Hotel corresponds to the level of a three-star hotel and is the perfect choice for those who value reasonable prices and would like to stay near the Tallinn's Old Town. Hotel has 107 rooms decorated in joyful colors and featuring warm, environmentally-friendly cork floors. All guest rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone, shower and WC, hair dryer, high-speed wireless access. Superior Double or Twin rooms are extra spacious and feature a comfortable sofa. Family rooms contain two standard rooms with a connecting door. In the morning, Cafe serves the hotel guests a delicious buffet-breakfast. In the summer, guests can enjoy their food and drinks out on a terrace. There are modern seminar and event rooms with the high-quality equipment on the 5th floor of Tallinn Seaport Hotel. Rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. At the cozy sauna of Tallinn Seaport Hotel guests can enjoy Finnish-type sauna, steam bathing and relax in a modern Jacuzzi.The sauna is located on the penthouse floor of the hotel, offering a wonderful view of the Old Town of Tallinn. Parking in front of the hotel is free of charge in case of availability. You may also park at the garage located on the 0 floor of the hotel (extra charge), the garage holds 9 cars with maximum height of 1,7m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tallinn Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing