We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 24 November 2009

I had the time of my life at City Hotel Portus! It was fairly quiet and business-like, which suited me well, even though I was there for leisure. The hotel is almost an equal distance from Kadriorg and Old Town, which made sightseeing very easy and enjoyable - I didn't use public transport at all while I was there, because everything is easy to get to (even in all the snow!).

The hotel itself is very clean, modern and bright and Cafe Retro is lovely. It's obviously not a five-star restaurant, but that made it even better, because there was a really laid-back atmosphere. The service, both in the cafe and in reception was amazing and everybody speaks much better English than I do Estonian! As a female solo traveller, I always felt very safe in the hotel and very, very welcome - I really miss it now I'm back in the UK! City Hotel Portus is great value for money (as is Tallinn as a whole, provided you know where to go!) and I would highly recommend it to solo travellers, couples, students, large groups and business people.

Thank you to everyone at City Hotel Portus for an unforgettable holiday! xx

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0penny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2009

Hello Penny!
Thank You so much for taking the time to write Your positive review. It was very delightful and pleasant to read Your kind words about our hotel and staff!
We are extremely happy that we were able to assist of making Your holiday successful and unforgettable. Your comments give us a lot of positivity and strenght to be better and to improve ourselves.
Should You visit Tallinn in the future, it would be a great honor for us to accommodate You again in City Hotel Portus.

Warm regards from Tallinn and from hotel staff!
Terje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2009

The location was perfect.Very nice and friendly staff.Free internet and wlan was a nice extra.
Breakfast was good.A safe carage for our car was perfect for our purposes.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taotao71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2009

Hello "taotao71",
On behalf of the hotel staff i would like to thank you for your adequate and nice feedback. We hope that on Your next visit to Tallinn we can accommodate you again !

All the best from Tallinn!
Terje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

it is the best hotel in Tallinn for this price. it is well located, close to the center and harbour. Clean and friendly staff is another plus. the only minus is the breakfast but you can't expect everything with that price. I can't complain at all.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2009

Hello "tomobe"
Thank you for taking time and sending Your review to Tripadvisor. We are always pleased to hear kind words from our guests!
Hoping to see You again in our hotel and wishing You a great autumn!
Kind regards from a City Hotel Portus,
Terje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

service was friendly and helplful
rooms were simple, but cosy hairdryer in the room would be nice
and shower curtain or door

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matikati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Sales and Marketing at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2009

Hi "matikati",
Thank you for taking the time to give us good score. It was pleasure to read that You liked our staff and service here. City Hotel Portus is a good tourist class segment hotel, no hairdryers required in every room in this segment. But we have them at the reception, You can lend it from there, it is for free.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards from Tallinn,
Alver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

great clear and spacious hotel at an excellent location, right next to the harbour and not too far from the center.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svenpauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2009

Hello svenpauka,
Thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear positive comments, these give to us lot of energy to continue.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and you are always welcome back.

We would like to wish you a beatiful autumn.

Regards to You from a City Hotel Portus staff,

Maiken Popkov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This place was OK - not enough staff on reception - huge wait to check in - and further from the Old Town than we expected - took 25-30 minutes to get to old town centre. Internet access was good - breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzsuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2009

Hello!
We would like to thank You for Your feedback. Every opinion is important to us so that we could improve and get better through that. We are sorry to read that You had some problems during check in. This unfortunate matter happened due to the big group, who checked in. Ferry from Helsinki came to port and many clients wanted to have rooms at the same time with You. It is not that crowded all the time here, unfortunatelly :) Despite that incident we hope Your stay in our hotel was enjoyable, we wish You a great Christmas and hope to see You again next year!

Regards from City Hotel Portus
Terje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed at the Portus for 4 nights in July '09. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the Old Town, although we felt pretty safe even at night around the port. The rooms were basic (e.g. no hairdryer in the room), but quite spacious and clean - towels were changed on a daily basis. Noise from cars or ferries was not a problem. We were very diisappointed with the breakfast: A very limited selection of food and due to the large number of guests they often ran out of coffee or even dishes, and you had to wait for minutes before it got refilled. Despite these minor annoyances, we had a pleasant stay and would say that the hotel was good value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tt293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2009

Hello "tt293"
Thank You for sharing Your opinions and thoughts about our hotel, it is highly appreciated! It was nice to read that Your overall experience in our hotel was enjoyable! We were sorry to learn that You had an unpleasant breakfast experience. This unfortunate thing was due to the large number of groups that stayed in the hotel on that day and these groups all regrettably had breakfast at the same time. We have since critically examined our breakfast arrangements and now breakfast tables for groups are set also in the conference room, so that the restaurant has more space for individual guests. We sincerely apologise for the case and hope to welcome You and Your friends again at City Hotel Portus!

With very best regards from Tallinn!
Terje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#36 of 86 in Tallinn
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#33 of 86 in Tallinn
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hestia Hotel Europa
Hestia Hotel Europa
#15 of 86 in Tallinn
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#14 of 86 in Tallinn
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#42 of 86 in Tallinn
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#32 of 86 in Tallinn
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Seaport Hotel

Address: Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia (Formerly City Hotel Portus)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: £27 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallinn Seaport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallinn Seaport Hotel (ex City Hotel Portus) is located next to the D-terminal of the Port of Tallinn. Seaport Hotel corresponds to the level of a three-star hotel and is the perfect choice for those who value reasonable prices and would like to stay near the Tallinn's Old Town. Hotel has 107 rooms decorated in joyful colors and featuring warm, environmentally-friendly cork floors. All guest rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone, shower and WC, hair dryer, high-speed wireless access. Superior Double or Twin rooms are extra spacious and feature a comfortable sofa. Family rooms contain two standard rooms with a connecting door. In the morning, Cafe serves the hotel guests a delicious buffet-breakfast. In the summer, guests can enjoy their food and drinks out on a terrace. There are modern seminar and event rooms with the high-quality equipment on the 5th floor of Tallinn Seaport Hotel. Rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. At the cozy sauna of Tallinn Seaport Hotel guests can enjoy Finnish-type sauna, steam bathing and relax in a modern Jacuzzi.The sauna is located on the penthouse floor of the hotel, offering a wonderful view of the Old Town of Tallinn. Parking in front of the hotel is free of charge in case of availability. You may also park at the garage located on the 0 floor of the hotel (extra charge), the garage holds 9 cars with maximum height of 1,7m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tallinn Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing