We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and where very happy with our choice. We paid 95euro/night which included breakfast. The breakfast had a lot of options and was above average compared to what else I experienced in that region.

The bed room was large but the bathroom was small (see pics). The location was about as close as you could get to Old Town Hall Square. They have free wireless internet in the rooms and free sauna in the basement.

The only negative thing about the room was the bathroom did not have a fan so it did not ventilate well; there was evidence of mildew around the base of the shower and the bathroom smelled like mildew.

Just a note, it is really not in walking distance of the ferry terminal. We paid 5euro for a taxi ride to and from the airport. Don't be fooled into paying much more than that. Make sure you ask the driver for the price before you get it in.

Also, I highly recommend Vanaema Juures just up the road for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    230
    93
    18
    9
See reviews for
70
351
47
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

room was ok but on two levels with 4 steps up to the bathroom which was not very comfortable when needing the bathroom during the night. windows looked onto small court yard which was piled high with tables and chairs and snow. entrance and stair wells cold with no heating. bar did not seem to be used by any hotel guests now was their resteurant. breakfast was adequate but hot food was luke warm and plates were cold
. staff friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We stayed in the Courtyard Suite for four nights at the beginning of February. The hotel is in a fabulous location (a couple of steps from the Old Town Square) and is in a lovely, old building, full of character but sympathetically modernised where appropriate.

On arrival at the hotel the room was not ready (we were early) but this was not a problem; it gave us time to enjoy a lovely hot chocolate in the Merchant’s Lobby bar.

Our cases were taken to our room and we followed when we were ready. At first glance we were not too sure about the room but it turned out to be very comfortable and we really enjoyed our time there. The room was large and was lovely and warm and the separate seating area and free wifi were real bonuses. The bathroom could probably do with some updating, now, as it is looking a little worn in places. We never managed to get the fire lit, because while there were plenty of logs there was no kindling left for us. I'm sure if we had asked one of the staff to help they would have done so immediately – all of the staff were extremely helpful.

Although tea / coffee making facilities were not available in the room on arrival, they were delivered immediately when we asked for them. Similarly, we were only left two hand towels and two bath towels in the room and I don't consider this sufficient – especially when the room has its own sauna. More were delivered straight away when we asked though.

The breakfasts were not great, but I think they were probably standard for Tallinn. I would recommend the cooked to order pancakes, though.

All in all, we are glad we chose this hotel. It had a very relaxed, welcoming atmosphere and we really enjoyed our time, here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countryphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This is a wonderful hotel right in the middle of Tallinn. Its charm really lies in the way the old building has been turned into a hotel and how many of the original features have been retained. There is a definite olde worlde charm to the hotel which is offset by a super friendly and helpful front desk and wonderful rooms. It is an idea place to explore the old town from and ideally placed for business travelers too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blazdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Hidden behind a small door in a street just a few steps from the main square this is a gem. The weather was really cold but our welcome was extremely warm. We arrived at 9.30pm but staff phoned and booked us a meal at a nearby restaurant that was still open.

Underfloor heating in bathroom was superb especially when the snow was thick on the ground. Our room looked onto the courtyard and was spacious. Staff couldn't have done more for us booking taxis, giving information about ferry to Helsinki, booking meals for us etc. Breakfast was superb with good choice of hot and cold dishes.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Got engaged in Estonia last year and returned to same hotel. Yet again the staff really made our stay, really friendly and helpful. Food is lovely. Perfect location in the old town. As it's so cold outside great to be somewhere within a minutes walk of everything

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlycazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at the Merchant House Hotel for 4 days over New Year. The hotel is in a great location, only a 2 minute walk to the Old Town Square. We stayed in one of the suites, which is an executive room. The room needed a bit of a refurb to be honest or at least a new coat of paint! There was a huge crack running along one of the walls, which needs some polyfiller. The pillows are very odd...they are more like cushions and unfortunately they didn't have any standard pillows to offer us. On the plus side, the room was quite big and the bathroom was great. There were also slippers and dressing gowns, which is a plus. The staff at the hotel were wonderful - they were happy to help and made us many restaurant reservations and taxi bookings. As we stayed over New Year the room was very over-priced, however out of season I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#23 of 82 in Tallinn
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing