We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most perfect location, lovely room, attentive staff...shame about the air con!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchant's House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The most perfect location, lovely room, attentive staff...shame about the air con!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in July in the 3 Elements Suite. It was gorgeous and had lovely period features including beams and brick walls. Housekeeping were excellent and the room was spotless each day. Breakfast was fine (the usual cold meats, bread, fruit, yoghurts etc), wi fi worked perfectly in our room and the icebar was quiet but nice.

We arranged transportation to and from the airport through the hotel and this was faultless. Would recommend, particularly given the horror stories here about rip off taxi drivers!

You could not ask for a better location. The hotel was right opposite a lively beer house- we didn't hear a peep from it at night in fairness- and within crawling distance of the town square. It was wonderful every morning to walk through the square and soak up the Old Town atmosphere. Restaurants overpriced there and not good so beware! We recommend Ribe (and also Olde Hansa if you fancy the more tourist places).
The hotel reception were efficient and helped us book a visit at the KGB museum at the Viru Hotel (interesting).
All in, I would recommend this hotel. Its not a Marriott- it has character and uneven floors and single glazing. But then it is a piece of history at a reasonable price in the Old Town.
The only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is because the aircon was broken and it was 30 degrees throughout our stay. The fan and the open windows were sufficient to ensure a decent night's sleep. Thanks to Merchant's House for a lovely long weekend :)

Room Tip: 3 Elements Suite was lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    228
    91
    18
    9
See reviews for
67
346
47
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gjovik, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We got a really, really large room with old rustic wooden ceiling. Very unique hotel.
Sadly we can't give it the highest score:
The room had no separate bathroom, which would have been ok if we had a deasent shower.
We had to sit down in the bathtub to prevent water all over the floor. This happened the first time we had a shower. The floor didn't even have a drain, so we had to use all the towels to wipe up the water. Terrible!

We also had to have the curtains down all the time, because they looked in from the opposite building.
The hotel don't have aircondition, so the room got really hot in mid july. Just a fan, not much help.
Delicious breakfast, served in an old charming cellar.
The hotel advertises free Wi-Fi, but we had no signal in our room. Very disappointing, because we used the Tripadviser quite a lot!
But helpfull staff, great location. We would have chosen another hotel if we had known about the showerfacilities, and the lack of Wi-Fi. Perhaps the other rooms were better, and we just really unlucky..
Cozy hotel if you don't need to shower that often, and if you are staying here, avoid room 213!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElinGeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Elin Geir,

Thank you for your comments.

The hotel does have wifi, but due to the thickness of the old medieval walls, certain rooms cannot get access, however all rooms do have plug-in (router internet) next to the desk.

The hotel has three rooms with french style baths, which our the most popular with the Merchants House guests and very romantic. As you pointed out however having a shower in a french style bath may mean you splash the bathroom floor.

50% of the hotel rooms have baths with showers and the rest have only showers. I will make a note in the hotel system to always allocate you a room with a shower next time you visit the Merchants House Hotel.

Again thank you for your comments

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole
Merchants House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Where do I start? We were given a ground floor room with an A/C unit that didn't work...and windows that didn't open in the dead of summer on a day when it was over 40-45 degrees in the sun! I had made this reservations 4 months ago and promptly asked to be moved to another room. The employee at the desk told me the hotel was booked and nothing could be done. When I asked for a full refund and that the staff start calling other hotels for us, another room magically appeared (Room 105 to be exact). Yet again, with broken A/C. This one had to be drained every 2-4 hours. And you guessed it, the windows in the room didn't open at all! To top things off, the bathroom was so dirty that we opted to skip showers on Sunday - black mold isn't attractive. Breakfast on Sunday was a big disappointment - I don't consider powdered eggs and powdered milk acceptable when you're paying 145GBP a night. Sorry Merchant House, we couldn't leave you fast enough and I won't be recommending you. Reported to Expedia as a terrible partner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyUVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear Molly UVA,

We are sorry that your trip to Tallinn did not live upto your expectations. It is always disappointing to my team and me when this happens.

Just so you are aware, Tallinn was extremely hot during your visit and when the weather does reach 40-45 degrees (which is very rare), this creates many problems for all hotels in Tallinn which are not use to dealing with these temperatures. Room 105 has a separate individual A/C unit that works well in usual weather conditions, but when the temperatures/humidity are extreme as they were in your visit (40-45 degrees, which is rare for Tallinn), the water holding tank in the unit fills up very quickly (every 4hrs), hence the offer to empty it regularly and also to agree a schedule for room service to turn it on and off for you at a time that suits. It is a shame you did not manage to open your windows, since all windows in our rooms open. However, we will make sure in the future that this is shown to all our guests.

With respect to your request to move, we were 100% occupied so no room was immediately available. However, our Reception managed to change your room with the room which had not yet been occupied at the time of your request. In addition, we apologise you were not happy with the breakfast on Sunday, and we will look into this. So you know, the Merchants House Hotel has never and will never buy or use dried milk/egg powder.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Jonathan Poole
General Manager – Merchants House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was lovely, location ten minutes from airport in the odl town. Highly recommended - and it was highly recommended to me by colleagues. Would definately consider going for a long weekend and staying here :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel was in a great location - just off the main market square. However, we were pretty disappointed with the hotel itself. We stayed in the Sanctuary Suite and it was a little rough around the edges to say the least. Quite a big room but with alot of wasted space. The walls were scuffed where other visitors have caught the wall with their bags, there was mold on the ceiling corners and the bathroom was a little tatty. The toiletries were not topped up each day so were left without any shower gel. The room also smelt of smoke even though we specified a non smoking room. One window faced a brick wall and another window looked out onto the court yard. The bed was comfortable.

The breakfast was average - even at 7.30 in the morning the cooked breakfast was barely warm. Great printed newspapers were dotted about the place which was a nice touch. The Ice Bar was empty every night so we decided to spend our money in the Brewery bar opposite. We also decided that we would not try the restaurant because the breakfast was not as good as were expecting.

Overall we were underwhelmed with the hotel when we were expecting a truly boutique hotel experience. Location was great but I think I would trade this for one of the larger hotels just outside the city walls in favour for better quality accommodation if I were to go again.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarringtonRachela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The room we were given was quiet, although the view from the window was simply out on to rooftops. The bath was in the room! Not something I've ever seen before. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
Breakfast was not brilliant. The large plates were not hot, but the small side plates were. The bread was available for everyone to handle while they sliced it - I know this is very trendy, but it's plain unhygienic. The bread however was very nice!
The sauna is superb, but needs music or something to liven it up a bit.
The reception staff and driver were all first class. The bar needs to get a bigger float - they didn't have any change.
Overall, we had a great time, and I think the 4 starts is about right for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stayed at the Merchant House for only 2 nights after arriving from Riga in May 2010. We booked the executive room hoping for more space. When we checked in our room wasn’t ready so we left our luggage and went out for a bit and got some dinner.

Once we went back and checked into our room it became obvious to us rather quickly that they actually upgraded us to a suite and didn’t mention it – the Hansa Suite (211) specifically. It was a wonderful room with a large bed, a sofa and desk. The bathroom had a separate large tub (which I used both nights) and a separate shower. There was also a sauna off the room that we didn’t attempt to utilize. We were very pleased with the nicer room and it faced the inner courtyard which was peaceful and we didn’t have to worry about any late night noise.

The service was good and they answered all questions we asked and the maids did a nice job, although they did forget our lotions one day. The breakfast was really great and a nice mix of hot and cold items and they even served us a basic breakfast at around 5:30 in the morning when we needed to catch our early bus to St. Petersburg (and put the spread of food in the common area of the lobby just for us - they did way more than we expected).

The location was quite perfect just off the old town square and there a great German beer hall across the street along with many great restaurants very close by.

The hotel was helpful and they arranged car service to and from the bus station and said we could use a credit card (the arrival was pre-paid by the hotel). We left very early in the morning by the car service but once we arrived at the bus station we learned the driver was expecting cash. We, of course, were out of Estonian cash given we were departing for Russia. We felt bad but the driver couldn’t take our credit card and we needed to catch our bus, so he grabbed our last $5 in bills and coins and left – hopefully back to the hotel to discuss. Keep that in mind if this hotel arranges transport for you.

Room Tip: Request inner courtyard for low-noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#19 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#9 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing