We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Room a stone's throw from the main square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tiny Room a stone's throw from the main square”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed in room 205 and it cost roughly $150 CDN/night. The bedroom was minuscule and the hotel had not exactly added any extras to improve the situation. The large, too soft bed did not have any space on either side, making getting up in the middle of the night without waking my partner a problem. Also, there was no space to put my glasses, our books, a glass of water, etc. This could have been fixed with the installation of a shelf on the wall.
No air conditioning and it was very hot but they provided a fan, which we moved to the mini-bar in order to get it blowing on us though the night. As for our bags, with only one luggage rack and no space to move around, it was a bit of a challenge. The room had a wardrobe and a desk.
The bathroom has been recently renovated and was really nice with lots of natural light from the tall windows.
The room had a mini-bar and small flat screen TV with a good selection of channels.

On the plus side, our room overlooked the quiet courtyard and the hotel is practically on the main square.

The excellent hot buffet breakfast was served in the charming basement restaurant. Excellent tea and coffee served by really nice hotel staff.

We booked the hotel sauna once (it really was hot when we were there) and it was great. The sauna is in a sort of spa area and it was very comfortable and private.

We had drinks at the hotel bar served out of carved ice shooter glasses and met a nice couple staying in one of the suites. They had a huge room with their very own private sauna.

The hotel staff was very helpful with advice, printing out e-tickets, etc.

Tallinn is a very charming place...if you go, I encourage you to take the City Bike self-guided tour of Lahemaa National Park.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainyday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    241
    96
    19
    9
See reviews for
72
364
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I absolutely loved this hotel. It's in a great location in Tallinn's Old Town with access to all of the main sites there. Although the hotel doesn't offer one, there is a public parking lot close by. The rooms were lovely with big beautiful bathrooms. We actually stayed in a room with a sauna which I would highly recommend, although it's very easy to reserve the hotel's public sauna. The complimentary breakfast was above and beyond what I expected with perfect Estonian favorites like herring and smoked salmon. Also, there was a very relaxing garden to enjoy that breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sauna. It's fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_ala9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in July in the 3 Elements Suite. It was gorgeous and had lovely period features including beams and brick walls. Housekeeping were excellent and the room was spotless each day. Breakfast was fine (the usual cold meats, bread, fruit, yoghurts etc), wi fi worked perfectly in our room and the icebar was quiet but nice.

We arranged transportation to and from the airport through the hotel and this was faultless. Would recommend, particularly given the horror stories here about rip off taxi drivers!

You could not ask for a better location. The hotel was right opposite a lively beer house- we didn't hear a peep from it at night in fairness- and within crawling distance of the town square. It was wonderful every morning to walk through the square and soak up the Old Town atmosphere. Restaurants overpriced there and not good so beware! We recommend Ribe (and also Olde Hansa if you fancy the more tourist places).
The hotel reception were efficient and helped us book a visit at the KGB museum at the Viru Hotel (interesting).
All in, I would recommend this hotel. Its not a Marriott- it has character and uneven floors and single glazing. But then it is a piece of history at a reasonable price in the Old Town.
The only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is because the aircon was broken and it was 30 degrees throughout our stay. The fan and the open windows were sufficient to ensure a decent night's sleep. Thanks to Merchant's House for a lovely long weekend :)

Room Tip: 3 Elements Suite was lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gjovik, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We got a really, really large room with old rustic wooden ceiling. Very unique hotel.
Sadly we can't give it the highest score:
The room had no separate bathroom, which would have been ok if we had a deasent shower.
We had to sit down in the bathtub to prevent water all over the floor. This happened the first time we had a shower. The floor didn't even have a drain, so we had to use all the towels to wipe up the water. Terrible!

We also had to have the curtains down all the time, because they looked in from the opposite building.
The hotel don't have aircondition, so the room got really hot in mid july. Just a fan, not much help.
Delicious breakfast, served in an old charming cellar.
The hotel advertises free Wi-Fi, but we had no signal in our room. Very disappointing, because we used the Tripadviser quite a lot!
But helpfull staff, great location. We would have chosen another hotel if we had known about the showerfacilities, and the lack of Wi-Fi. Perhaps the other rooms were better, and we just really unlucky..
Cozy hotel if you don't need to shower that often, and if you are staying here, avoid room 213!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElinGeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Elin Geir,

Thank you for your comments.

The hotel does have wifi, but due to the thickness of the old medieval walls, certain rooms cannot get access, however all rooms do have plug-in (router internet) next to the desk.

The hotel has three rooms with french style baths, which our the most popular with the Merchants House guests and very romantic. As you pointed out however having a shower in a french style bath may mean you splash the bathroom floor.

50% of the hotel rooms have baths with showers and the rest have only showers. I will make a note in the hotel system to always allocate you a room with a shower next time you visit the Merchants House Hotel.

Again thank you for your comments

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole
Merchants House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Where do I start? We were given a ground floor room with an A/C unit that didn't work...and windows that didn't open in the dead of summer on a day when it was over 40-45 degrees in the sun! I had made this reservations 4 months ago and promptly asked to be moved to another room. The employee at the desk told me the hotel was booked and nothing could be done. When I asked for a full refund and that the staff start calling other hotels for us, another room magically appeared (Room 105 to be exact). Yet again, with broken A/C. This one had to be drained every 2-4 hours. And you guessed it, the windows in the room didn't open at all! To top things off, the bathroom was so dirty that we opted to skip showers on Sunday - black mold isn't attractive. Breakfast on Sunday was a big disappointment - I don't consider powdered eggs and powdered milk acceptable when you're paying 145GBP a night. Sorry Merchant House, we couldn't leave you fast enough and I won't be recommending you. Reported to Expedia as a terrible partner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyUVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear Molly UVA,

We are sorry that your trip to Tallinn did not live upto your expectations. It is always disappointing to my team and me when this happens.

Just so you are aware, Tallinn was extremely hot during your visit and when the weather does reach 40-45 degrees (which is very rare), this creates many problems for all hotels in Tallinn which are not use to dealing with these temperatures. Room 105 has a separate individual A/C unit that works well in usual weather conditions, but when the temperatures/humidity are extreme as they were in your visit (40-45 degrees, which is rare for Tallinn), the water holding tank in the unit fills up very quickly (every 4hrs), hence the offer to empty it regularly and also to agree a schedule for room service to turn it on and off for you at a time that suits. It is a shame you did not manage to open your windows, since all windows in our rooms open. However, we will make sure in the future that this is shown to all our guests.

With respect to your request to move, we were 100% occupied so no room was immediately available. However, our Reception managed to change your room with the room which had not yet been occupied at the time of your request. In addition, we apologise you were not happy with the breakfast on Sunday, and we will look into this. So you know, the Merchants House Hotel has never and will never buy or use dried milk/egg powder.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Jonathan Poole
General Manager – Merchants House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was lovely, location ten minutes from airport in the odl town. Highly recommended - and it was highly recommended to me by colleagues. Would definately consider going for a long weekend and staying here :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel was in a great location - just off the main market square. However, we were pretty disappointed with the hotel itself. We stayed in the Sanctuary Suite and it was a little rough around the edges to say the least. Quite a big room but with alot of wasted space. The walls were scuffed where other visitors have caught the wall with their bags, there was mold on the ceiling corners and the bathroom was a little tatty. The toiletries were not topped up each day so were left without any shower gel. The room also smelt of smoke even though we specified a non smoking room. One window faced a brick wall and another window looked out onto the court yard. The bed was comfortable.

The breakfast was average - even at 7.30 in the morning the cooked breakfast was barely warm. Great printed newspapers were dotted about the place which was a nice touch. The Ice Bar was empty every night so we decided to spend our money in the Brewery bar opposite. We also decided that we would not try the restaurant because the breakfast was not as good as were expecting.

Overall we were underwhelmed with the hotel when we were expecting a truly boutique hotel experience. Location was great but I think I would trade this for one of the larger hotels just outside the city walls in favour for better quality accommodation if I were to go again.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarringtonRachela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#21 of 85 in Tallinn
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 85 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing