We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

It is hard to beat this hotel for its location in the centre of Tallinn, less than a minute walk from the Old Town Square, Raekoja Plats.

The building dates from the 14th century and updates have been tastefully done. The rooms all differ, with the rooms that look onto the courtyard being quiet. Be prepared to use stairs though.

The hotel has good facilities, though probably limited by the old building. The public areas are well appointed and have comfortable chairs throughout. Decor has been well done to integrate with the old features. Some of the wooden ceilings are painted.

Breakfast is served in the vaulted cellar. Good, but not huge selection.

The Ice Bar is the part of the hotel which, although very stylish and quirky, is a bit out of character with the rest of the hotel. Shots served in glasses made of ice - drink quickly ...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W5WPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    230
    93
    18
    9
See reviews for
70
351
47
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here for recently for three nights. We requested a room over the courtyard and received precisely what we asked for. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the bed comfy. Bathroom clean with an excellent shower. Quite limited storage space but on a three night stay, it's not really an issue. Nice touch were the bathrobes and slippers. Breakfast buffet was very good - cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cheese, smoked salmon, herring plus hot eggs, bacon, sausage, beans and mushrooms. All staff we cane into contact with were unfailingly polite and helpful. Its not often we stay somewhere and wonder how we managed to book it for the price we paid. This was definitely one of those occasions.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel on August Bank Holiday weekend, we paid for an executive double, but were given a free upgrade to the Merchants Suite. It was one of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, mainly because it was huge and had character. I had no problems with water on the floor that others have reported from using the bath in the room, although there was a carpet laid under the bath which may be new? incredibly comfortable beds, the staff were polite and friendly, and service was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

The Merchant's House Hotel is an attractive, partly medieval building, just off the main square in the old town. The location couldn't be better. There is an internal courtyard and the staff are friendly and helpful. Our room gave onto the courtyard and was very pleasant, but overheated. The Ice Bar, where you can get terrific cocktails, and drink the local Estonian liqueur in shot glasses made of ice, is not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The hotel is very tired indeed. It is on a main street of restaurants with seats outside and is the empty one. Our room had real problems even though it was very large and orginally very beautiful. No AC - broken, replced by two fans - quite noisy for sleeping. The bath, in the room with us, had no shpwer curtain and made quite a mess on the floor. The blinds could not be lifted as the hotel/bar oposite - about 20 feet had windows at the same level. We asked for a chanmge and were offered a room that wqas so small the access to the bed was from the bottom only. We had onlky two nights here and we managed by using the excellent restaurants elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel was a dream. I was going to Tallinn, and I had no idea where to stay. I wanted somewhere centrally located (I love to walk everywhere), but quiet and with some charm. This hotel delivered on all counts. It was 100 yards from the center square, but it was on a very quiet street. Great food and beverage options nearby, along with the hotel food, which was very good (awesome coffee!).

The rooms were decent sized - not huge - but more than enough space. They had a funky design to them, and a lot of charm. Rooms were spotless, and the bathroom was very good (great water pressure). Hotel staff all spoke perfect English, and they were very helpful. I would recommend this place without any reservations.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgm_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed for 4 nights and had a great time, Tallinn is an excellent city break destination. The hotel is in a great location a short walk from the old town square and overall was very good. The staff were helpful and friendly and the spacious room was very comfortable and quite well equipped. The only small problem was that the air-con didn't work which was a bit of a problem as it was too noisy outside in the evening to keep windows open (due to people sitting around long after the Beer House opposite was closed) and it was quite warm during our stay. However, this didn't worry us too much and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#23 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing