We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this perfectly situated hotel, just round the corner from the main Town Square. The staff were extremely helpful, the bedrooms very comfortable and quiet and breakfast very tasty..all in all a great experience. Loved the sauna in the cellar after a long day exploring the sights of Tallinn. Excellent value as part of package booked through Cresta.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was lovely and quiet would imagine if there are rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

Very comfortable and unique hotel in the very center of the town. Only few steps away from the main old square and right in front of a huge brewery where to get some easy and fast food.
Rooms are placed on various floors but also around what once was the main courtyard and that makes the building very attractive.
Rooms are very clean, generally quite big and well accessorized. Staff super helpful and kind.
Breakfast has a very big buffett and you can ask for your own kind of eggs, all well prepared. Spa is included in the room fee with a short notice reservation.
Price/quality ratio is definitely worth.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed at this old hansa style hotel during a romantic getaway. This was a unique experience with the room in the courtyard with its own entrance; the deco of the room was stylish and elegant, with a spacious bathroom. The location of the hotel is as good as can be. The hotel's breakfast room was in the basement; beautifully lit space and harmonious atmosphere. All in all, a unique experience, one of the best hotel stays ever - I will definitely come back to this hotel whenever I visit Tallinn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepromene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We enjoyed staying in this hotel which was in an ideal situation just off the old town square .
The welcome was very warm , our room which was on the third floor was a bit of climb ( no elevator) but this did not bother us.
Our room 304 although quite small was lovely and modern ,clean , warm and very quiet.
The breakfast room was lovely with good selection of food. We didn`t have time to use the sauna.
Very good value for money !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riversdale04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at the merchants house hotel the weekend of 16th - 18th september 2011. The hotel is situated in a side street off the old town square and is close walking distance to all the main attractions. This hotel is a briliant find, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the decor and furnishings were very contemporary. The ice bar isn't actually an 'ice bar' however, but it was quite cosy and did the job for a quick vodka shot before bed!!
We were upgraded to one of the suites. The room was spacious, with roll top bath in the middle of the room and comfortable bed. My only comment about the room was that the lighting was subdued and it was slightly hard to see some things, however, it did create a romantic ambience and those with better eyesight would be okay.
Breakfast is taken downstairs in the cellars, low ceilings and little alcoves, breakfast is help yourself with the staff clearing your table for you. All the usual things on offer, meats, cheeses, even smoked salmon, full english, breads, croissants, yoghurts, really good choice.
There are spa facilities which we didn't have the chance to use, but had we stayed longer would have definitely made use of. There's a welcome fire in the lounge area which in the winter will be popular.
Overall a lovely quiet hotel. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Merchants Suite, room 210.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinesLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Have just returned from a short visit to Tallin staying at the Merchants House Hotel and would thoroughly recommend it. The location is perfect - just one minute's walk from the main square in the old town with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The room we had was perhaps a little on the small side, but very well equipped with everything you could want including flatscreen TV, bathrobes & slippers. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom excellent with a great overhead shower and plenty hot water. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful and the breakfast couldn't be bettered. All in all a great place to stay in Tallin. The free walking tour of the old town, (leaves from the Tourist Info Office) conducted by a young student was just great and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sheilanorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Wonderful boutique hotel in superb location. However breakfast room is very warm and poor lighting. Staff needs a litle training. They messed up the spa time. Each room has a unique layout. Quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#30 of 86 in Tallinn
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#18 of 86 in Tallinn
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £65 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing