We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - shame about the grumpy guests...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Merchant's House Hotel has a great location just 2 minutes away from the main square of the Old Town.

The rooms are clean and nicely furnished, and of a decent size. The room we had was situated just off the courtyard and was very quiet and comfortable with a nice sized bathroom with bath & shower.

Breakfast was very nice, there is a sauna which is free for guests to use, and the mulled wine in the Ice Bar is fantastic.

The staff are very polite & helpful, can't be faulted.

It was just a shame that some of the other guests seemed to want to find fault with the smallest detail that didn't suit them - I'm not quite sure what they were expecting.

I look forward to staying there when I next visit Tallinn.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vegavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

My boyfriend and I recently spent two nights at the Merchant's House Hotel. We stayed in the Courtyard Suite, which was incredible - very spacious, quiet, cosy and the fireplace was lovely to come back to after being out in the freezing cold all day. The location was perfect, right near the main square, and the spa was lovely (we each had a 1 hour massage, which was very reasonably priced). The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The only thing we would criticise would be the breakfast - not too much choice and we found the eggs, sausages, bacon etc. to be rather cold each morning (we wouldn't normally complain about this; however, we just thought for a luxury B&B like the Merchants House Hotel, the breakfast could've been better). We would definitely recommend this hotel - stay in the Courtyard Suite, it's fabulous!

Room Tip: The Courtyard Suite was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Rooms are very unusual in the sence that they make very good use of the space in such an old building. All the rooms that I have stayed in have been very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms can smell slightly, but this is in every place in Tallinn, so its not so out of the ordinary.
Breakfeat has a good choice of both hot and cold, staff are very polite and helpful. The sauna is almost as good a Finnish sauna, I do recommend this place, its location is first class, right in the centre and 20 metres from the twon square.

Room Tip: Try Drink Bar which is near by, great food and ciders
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciderman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just returned from lovely break at this hotel. Fantastic location and really helpful staff. Booked the break with friends and we were delighted to discover that we were both given upgraded rooms - and given 2 suites-both fab. Lovely individual touches and nothing too much trouble. Enjoyed the ice bar and the breakfasts in the cellar area. Our only minor complaint is that the food and hot drinks could have been hotter. We would highly recommend this hotel and would love to return and see it all in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 121Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We booked this hotel because it had good reviews and looked really nice. When we arrived we checked in and asked if the hotel was busy and were told it was extremely quiet which quite pleased us. We took out bags to our room and ventured straight out. The city is so pretty and there was snow, it was freezing but absolutely perfect. When we went back to the room we were more than ready for a nice hot shower. There was no hot water. We reported it to reception who said they would get it sorted out. So we went back out for the evening. On returning the receptionist said it was all ok, it wasn't though. So they moved us to another room which was very small and pokey compared to the other room. By this time it was close to midnight and then we realised that there was no heating. The receptionist said they would move us again in the morning. We were a little annoyed as although they did move us to another room (3rd time lucky) considering the hotel was near empty they never even offered to put us into a suite for all of the inconvenience caused. We travel a lot and many hoteliers give you an upgrade if they are not busy. Overall two of the three rooms that we were in were quite comfortable but we felt that they all needed a bit of TLC. It was a lovely trip and we would definitely return but not to this hotel as it was quite average.

Room Tip: Court yard rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojo_michael21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is super clean. It is right in the center of the wonderful old town of Tallinn. It is a beautiful historic building. We highly recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoulBia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Lovely hotel located right in the heart of the old town in Tallinn - just a few steps away from the main square and a few minutes walk to most restaurants and bars.

The staff were absolutely exceptional - so friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was a fairly standard buffet, but you could also choose a cooked option from a very long list.

We were delighted to be upgraded to a suite overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was amazing with a huge bath, vast monsoon shower and a private sauna - ideal for warming up after a day wandering around in the snow!

The room and bathroom could have done with a little bit of maintenence to fix the odd bit of peeling paint, but now I'm getting really picky! The only problem we had was that the room was not vacuumed during our stay, which was slightly annoying as we had brought grit in on our boots from the snowy streets.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Merchant's House again on our next trip to Tallinn - it really is in a superb location and the staff really were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the Beer House is on the opposite side of the street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
370 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £74 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing