We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish interior behind unassuming facade.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Pershore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stylish interior behind unassuming facade.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Beautiful spacious room, contemporary decor and roomy en suite with a good shower. Perfectly located for exploring the sites of the Old Town, just off the Town Square.

Friendly and helpful staff who speak good English.

Breakfasts are good although wider variety of cheeses/cold meats would be good. Maybe a plea more more towels although I'm sure they would have provided them if asked.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whizz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    231
    93
    18
    9
See reviews for
70
352
47
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lewes uk
Level Contributor
182 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Merchant's house hotel is in two lovely historic and slightly rambling buildings just a stones throw from the town square in Tallinn. The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful and were able to let me check in early after my overnight ferry from Helsinki. I had a comfortable room on the 3rd floor which was warm and cosy and overlooked the inner courtyard of the hotel so was very quiet. Room was well equipped as was the bathroom and very warm, the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a bit fierce but you could turn it off. The bed was in an alcove so cosy but there was nowhere to put glasses etc, but a minor point - other rooms way differ.
Breakfast is served in the vaulted below ground dining room and was good, hot on the morning I had it and a nice selection of cold items. Altogether a very nice hotel, quirky but friendly and comfortable in an ideal spot in the old town.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank paulosussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The very helpful and friendly staff were the highlight of this hotel. I get the impression that rooms would have once been very lovely however they have not been maintained. Although large, our room was on the main corridor from the front door meaning we were woken in the night by returning guests. The corridor has a stone floor and is particularly echoey making you feel that other guests were inside your room.

The room could have been much cleaner- the shower had mould in the sealant and there were cobwebs, dirt under the glass on the desk and in need of a fresh coat of paint. The shower was very difficult to use- it sprayed the entire bathroom with water if you wanted to put it on the shower bracket. The room did not include tea/coffee facilities but the introduction book stated we could request this. On request we were told there were none available. In a four star hotel we would have also expected the use of an iron. We would have graded the hotel as 3 stars.

Breakfast was ok at the weekend and the staff did make us a take away on the morning we left early for Helsinki day trip. On our final morning however this was much better with items made to order.

Location is perfect although it is opposite a beer hall (A great place to visit) but very noisy at the weekend and the rooms facing this would imagine have noise issues. You are a few paces from the town square.

It's a shame as this had much potential but needs updating in the room we stayed in and better amenities in the room.

Room Tip: Avoid 101 - very loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gremelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Located seconds from main square. Very large room with comfy bed (decoration would need refreshing in next 12 months). Private sauna & spa in hotel basement, perfect to warm up in after a cold day. Breakfast selection varied and plentiful in nice restaurant in basement.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Lovely hotel with excellent location,reception staff very attentive, the room was spacious, clean and quiet with a lot of windows, extra heater, bathrobes and slippers.. all in all a very well equipped room and we did not miss anything. Would definitely stay again despite the poor breakfast.

Yes, the breakfast. The chef should get some serious training in basic cooking.. boiled eggs were overcooked to the point where there was a black layer inside, scrambled eggs were fried to total dryness, sweet buns were raw, bacon was either burned totally black or almost raw (depending on the morning) yoghurt were all warm (not a desirable feature in a dairy product).. All this happened 3 mornings in a row so it is not just a single mistake. All in all it is a lovely hotel but the breakfast desperataly needs some changes.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. It has the perfect location, about 10 metres walk from the main square. The rooms were lovely and spacious with trendy decor. The bar area was tiny but great for pre-dinner cocktails and breakfast was substantial. The staff were fabulous with great command of English. I would highly recommend for anyone visiting Tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathalieBAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for sharing with Tripadvisor readers your impressions of the Merchants House Hotel.

Our staff are pleased that you appreciate their efforts to provide excellent service. We are really happy to know that you felt most welcome in our unique property that is full of character.

We shall be happy to have you back at the Merchants House Hotel

Regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn, Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

At first, I was quite pleased with the hotel. The location is excellent, right next to the Old Town Square, near all hip restaurants, cafes and bars.

The service at the front desk was very attentive, informative and friendly and I have no complaints about that.

But then things started to go downhill.. We were taken to our room or should I say dungeon. The entrance was from the courtyard, which was cute in a way till we noticed that there was no windows in the room! The door did have a window, but that didn't help much. The room was actually underground, three steps down from the courtyard. It seemed that the floor had not been vacuumed at all since there were small pebbles all over. Thankfully I found complimentary slippers which I wore all the time in the room, otherwise the feeling of the pebbles under the soles of my feet was very unpleasant.

We had a double bed but it was actually two twin beds hauled together. This would've been okay but since there was only one blanket, it meant that one of us fell into the void in the middle in order for both of us to use the blanket!! Not comfortable at all.

There was a safe in the room but it was unattached to the cabinet. So if someone wanted to rob the safe, all they had to do was take it out of the cabinet and carry it out.

However, the worst thing was that there was no heating whatsoever in the bathroom. It was obviously broken because the floor and the whole bathroom were absolutely freezing. The shower curtain was strange material which got absolutely soaked when showering. As there was no heating, it did not dry at all. The shower hose was designed for very short people because you had to crouch down in order to wet your head!!

Breakfast was disappointing as well. The choices were okay and there was fruit which is always a plus. But the cheese, cold cuts, salmon and yogurt were all kept at room temperature, ie. they were all warm. The room where the food was laid out was very warm, so that made it even worse. Keeping these products in such a way increases risk of spoiling and thus food poisoning. I lost my appetite!

For the price we paid (115 euros), I would've expected much better than just good location. I guess the establishment has better rooms, at least considering all the good reviews the hotel has received.

I certainly regret not choosing the Savoy or Nordic Hotel which have been good, solid choices before.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. All reviews are important to us.

My sincere apologies for the lack in our serves provided by our housekeeping department and also I would like to add the front office department, All hotel in Tallinn and around the world have a certain amount of twin rooms that are also used as doubles (universal hotel bedroom format rooms). These beds have special clips to turn them from twin to doubles which where not correctly fitted. I do apologise that this was not done and also more important checked.

The Merchants House Hotel has checking procedures that where not followed. This could have been recified within 20 seconds if front office, housekeeping or I where informed.

The hotel has a certain amount of rooms on the ground floor (courtyard) that have steps into them. I am sorry that you did not like this room. We could have moved you to a different style of room if you had spoken to front office or myself.

The switch for the bathroom floor heating is before the entrance on the righthand side on the door.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the hotels breakfast...... I would like to correct you on what you have written. The hotel takes very seriously health and hygiene. ALL cold meats, cheese, fishes, our firstly stored, dated, sealed in the kitchens refridgerators and then placed when required on a professional chilled hotel cold buffet serving tray...

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at the Merchants House Hotel, as my aim is to please everyone.

Kind regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#23 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing