We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cracking little hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A cracking little hotel.”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Inside it looks just as the name implies....the former home of a wealthy merchant, with many of its ancient walls and ceilings designated part of the Tallinn UNESCO Heritage site. Our room, with one such ceiling, was huge and comfortably and stylishly furnished.
Merchant's House couldn't be more central in the old town, the downside being the proximity of several very noisy bars (as almost anywhere in old Tallinn). But don't let that put you off; either stay Sun to Thurs - which are much quieter - or book a room at the back.
Breakfasts aren't the greatest, but quite adequate - and the happy hours are very appealing.
The hotel staff are superb..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    244
    98
    22
    9
See reviews for
73
370
50
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballygally, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at The Merchants House Hotel for 3 nights over the May bank holiday.I had e-mailed the hotel before hand to arrange a pick up from airport,driver was waiting for us in terminal on arrival,perfect.Clean spotless car,all very professional for €20.
The hotels location is absolutley perfect,about 20 seconds off the square,dont think you could get better.
We had a executive suite in the courtyard,rooms were great- bath robes,slippers,hair dryer,toiletries,mini bar ect and 2 tvs,one in bed area and other in the seperate lounge area.
The only down side for me was the room was a little dark and a mirror was needed in lounge area were table is,for hair and make up.The room we had 214 was so quiet,i was a little worried when we first arrived as the courtyard is set up with table and chairs for drinks ect but we never heard a thing.
The staff were really friendly and helpful,ringing tourist attractions for us and always very pleasant,we also met the manager,Jonathan,who was great,very knowledgeable and helpful,my mother-in-law is due to visit Tallinn soon with a cruise ship and he told us to ask her to visit the hotel for a complimentary drink and a little tour about,so nice.
We are definatley going to visit Tallinn again,and we will be staying again at The Merchants House Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Executive room 214 in courtyard,very spacious and quiet,our room had a bath with shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdunc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay using the special offer which included an excellent 2 hour private tour around Tallinn which lifted the veil on what it was really like there both now and in the past in the occupation years. We were treated to a wonderful meal in the restaurant and were the only ones eating there. Every effort was made to make the meal and atmosphere special even with rose petals leading to our table.
Our room (209) was fine and the thing to remember is that this is a really old building with lots of character and eccentricities. If you are looking for the standard international hotel this may not be the place for you, but if you are looking for atmosphere and being in the very heart of the old town, with pleasant and helpful staff then I highly recommend this hotel to you.
Our room overlooked the courtyard, on the first floor and was very quiet.
Thank-you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Brenda,

Thank you for taking the time on writing a review on tripadvisor.

The hotels private 2hr tour is amazing as Tallinn has so much history to soak up, with many interesting facts.

I am glad that you enjoyed the rose petals and food in the restaurant.

Thank you again for all your comments, which I will pass to the team in the Merchants House Hotel.

Kind regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn, Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel is in a great location...just off Old Town Square. Great and attentive service and a solid breakfast (always appreciated!). Extremely comfortable bed. Unfortunately, our room was a little small (in my opinion). It was also right on the courtyard - kind of like being right next to the elevator! Please, please invest in some black-out curtains - seemed to be a lot of light coming in.

Room Tip: Request a courtyard-facing room, not on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmiliaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Merchants House Hotel and the restaurants in Tallinn that where recommended.

I will forward your positive comments to all staff.

I am additionally very happy with your comments regarding breakfast and we our spending alot of time updating this and always adding things after guests reviews.

Each room in the Merchants house is of a different shape and size due to the buildings dating back to the 14th and 16th century. I will review all curtains and blackouts in all rooms.

Thank you again for your comments

Jonathan Poole
GM Merchants House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I think this hotel might depend on the room you get and if noise bothers you, but for us it was fantastic. We had a huge room- almost the size of a small apartment- overlooking a street. You could hear everything outside, but we slept great anyway. The staff was friendly and helpful, there is a sauna that you can use (need to reserve and can use privately for one hour), the décor is very nice, and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KdTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Merchants House Hotel Tallinn.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and Tallinns old town. The hotel has 4 rooms that overlook the pedestrian road infront of the hotel.

Wishing you an enjoyable summer

Thank you again for your kind comments,

Jonathan Poole
GM Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary, and chose an Executive suite, which has its own sauna, and a living room. The room was at the end or the inner courtyard, and the location was very quiet at least during our stay. There's also a fire place in the room which might be nice if travelling during the winter. The staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast ok, the room clean, very spacious and nicely decorated. We used the sauna, which was nice although the steps are quite steep so perhaps not suited for people with disabilities. In the bathroom the tiles were partially loose in places, so a little tlc would be in order. Overall a nice stay, nothing big to complain about; the location can't be beaten and the hotel has a charming feel to it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Merchants House Hotel Tallinn.

I am sorry for the two loose tiles in the bathroom. Both where fixed by our maintenance man upon your check-out.

Thank you again and looking forward to welcoming you back to the Merchants House.

Regards,

Jonathan Poole
GM Merchants House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peasmoldtown
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I have visited this hotel twice, booked each time through the SAME online booking agency: On both occasions I was traveling with friends, who were in separate rooms. So I have now experienced 4 rooms in the hotel. On the first visit (Jan 2012) our impression was of real quality, luxurious even, in a slightly downbeat way. The second time (April 2013) the same hotel felt decidedly dowdy. the difference of course, was in the room I was assigned, which surely accounts for the somewhat disparate reviews here. Upper floor rooms in the main building are very comfortable and well maintained, whilst the ground-floor rooms off the courtyard are correspondingly grubby, as well as being rather poky. The latter are in serious need of renovation- I second the comments of others about mold on the bath sealant, showers spraying all over the place, and inadequate heating. The radiator in my room was not working at all (nobody pointed this out to me when i was shown my room). After some fiddling around i noticed the electric heater under the desk, pulled it out and swirtched it on, after which the room warmed up adequately, even though it felt a bit out of keeping with the decor. As for the breakfast, here too the picture is mixed. I think some reviews on this site are a little unfair, though being vegetarian I can't really comment on the meats etc. The breads were nice, but the croissants dry and overbaked. The vegtables and fruits were more than adequate, grilled mushrooms, overcooked scrambled eggs and baked beans added a funky British touch, and the cheeses and yoghurt were delicious. But the tea and coffee service left something to be desired. Tea made one bag at a time in small porcelain cups always comes out tepid and underbrewed, unless there is a way of at least prewarming the cup (which there wasn't). The coffee was typical for Scandinavia, but the side-menu of specaility coffees at 3 e a shot left a poor impression. This can all easily be rectified, by supplying pots of breshly brewed coffee or tea at each table, to order. The hotel has a nice sauna available for guests on request and, as everyone says, its location in the old city is perfect. Service is also very kind and efficient. On balance, it's a lovely place if you get assigned the right room, and a disappointment if you don't. Caveat emptor.

Room Tip: upper floor, main building; avoid ground floor rooms around the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeasmoldWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#19 of 86 in Tallinn
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,700 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing