We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at the Merchant House in Tallinn and we could not be happier with a hotel. We are very seasoned travelers and this gem would have to be close to the top of the list of hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms were very comfortable and nicely decorated. The location was excellent. We had a few minor problems with the air-conditioner but the manager and his staff bent over backwards to ensure it was rectified and that we were comfortable. The food in the Entrecoat restaurant was world class. Our stay was part of a 3 night summer package that included dinner and wine in the restaurant. Being part of a package we were a little concerned that the meal might have been low quality. We were very surprised. An inventive menu cooked and presented in a world class manner with wine to match. Well done to all at Merchant's House, Thank you Jonathon. Highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel is very nice. It is made in a old house but the interior is made modern and it has got a nice asian twist. I think all the room are a litte bit different from each other... and our twin room was very comfortable and clean. The service is very good and the hotel is located in the heart on the city.

Room Tip: Room facing the coutyard is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnikkiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Very nice hotel.Located in 2 old houses near theTown Hall Square.Nice courtyard with a small terrace.Small room but confortable.
We had a normal room in first floor near the reception.(101)It's a litle noisy.Nice decoration.Confortable beds.
Very nice breakfast in the basement restauran witl medieval look.Breakfast staff kind and helpful.
Some reception stall unpleasant (don't answer goodmorning).
It's an excelent hotel,but I think the reception staff needs to improve and be more friendly and kind

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfilcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is in excellent location and the interior of the hotel is very nice, the room, reception and the restaurant. Room was spacious as well as the bathroom with bathtub and shower separately ans even sauna.
The only negative was that there was no air-conditioning in the Hansa Suite and it was Suite hot as the weather was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angrybird40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We highly recommend this hotel to all travellers heading to Tallinn. It's location couldn't been better in the heart of old town. We had booked an executive room, but was upgrated to a suite for free. 3 Element Suite was spacious, clean and really comfortable with. I think, that the value for money was good. Service was excellent in this hotel.

Room Tip: Suites in this hotel are really good and not that expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuviKristiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We're glad we chose the Merchant's House Hotel for our stay in Tallinn. The hotel is in two medieval buildings on one of the small streets that radiate from Town Hall Square. The inside is charming with cozy lobby areas and hallways that twist and turn through the connected buildings. There is a bar and an outdoor seating area. Our room was very modern, clean, and comfortable. We had a comfortable large bed, air conditioning, and fast, reliable free internet.

Breakfast (included) was served in the cellar, which had atmosphere but not very much light. The buffet was typical with breads, cereal, yoghurt, meats, cheese, fish and hot trays of eggs, sausage, bacon, brown beans, and particularly flavorful sautéed mushrooms.

The young staff were very helpful: carrying our luggage, ordering a taxi, recommending restaurants, offering breakfast-to-go when we had to leave for an early morning flight. When we asked about the reproductions of 15th and 16th-century paintings on the walls, one of them looked them up all up and had a print out for us on the originals when we returned later that day. The location is perfect, within walking distance of everything in Old Town.

This hotel is not for people with limited mobility. There are a few steps to the entrance and stairs to the upper floors and breakfast room, but no elevators. Our second-floor room faced the street, and there was significant street noise, particularly on Saturday night. I could hear the band in the bar across the street, and noise of people coming and going most of the night. The other nights were quieter.

Room Tip: For a quieter night, ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Lovely hotel with great location. Stuff was very friendly and breakfast ok. We'll surely want to visit there again. Only one suggestion: Please tell people, who come by own car, in advance where to park. It could be difficult to navigate in the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £74 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing