We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merchant's House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Palace(Tallinn)
US$146
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$211
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Telegraaf(Tallinn)
US$209
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$198
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel St. Barbara(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
357
268
107
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
268
107
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarecourtyard suitebeer houseold towntown squareperfect locationchristmas marketraekoja platsair conditioninglovely hotellounge areareception staffsmoked salmonthe ground floordouble roombreakfast is servedlong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Superb location in the old town and within walking distance of the station. Lovely, individual rooms (no two are the same) as a result of it being converted from old houses. Most are round a courtyard and very quiet. The desk staff are outstanding. The breakfast staff were also very good. Everyone was extremely helpful and responsive. The breakfast itself was excellent - not as big a selection as some places but the quality was very high. Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AMLinVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We booked the Merchants House Hotel as part of tour of the Baltic on Honeymoon last year as it looked like an excellant location and we were by no means dissapointed. A lovely quirky hotel in the centre of Tallinn 5 minutes walking to most of the Old Town attractions and right on the doorstep of the main square.

We were allocated the Merchants Suite initially taken aback because the bath tub is actually in the bedroom, we fell for the quirky charms of this hotel I loved the little reading room and library.

The staff could not do enough for us and were extremly polite and helpful, they managed to obtain Opera tickets for us prior to our visit, and they were waiting for us upon arrival. I agree that the quiky nature of the Old buildings will not be suitable if you have mobility issues, but you do have to remember that it's a 12th century town house.

The only drawbacks; I do think that for the price of the hotel there should have been Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room rather than having to pay for tea & coffee every time, although breakfast was fine, I would not reccomend the hotel restaurant as it was only average at best, and the service was quite slow and poor. But only small things that was otherwise an absolutley lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TiggerThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We wanted to stay close to the city centre for our last night, after a 2 week trip round the Baltic States and chose the Merchant's House Hotel, as the website made it look very attractive. We were not disappointed.

The staff spoke excellent English and seemed enthusiastic about looking after their guests. We stayed in room 110, which was a family room on the ground floor (our children are 5&6). I'd read that there was some noise from the front rooms, which overlook a German Beer Keller, so requested a quiet room, which we were given.

The sheets were so comfortable, I'm going to buy some new ones for home! The hotel sauna was free, so we booked it for just our family and enjoyed the rowing machine and excercise bike too.

We ate out that evening, but the next day breakfast served in their atmospheric cellars. It was amongst the best I've ever had, with a fabulous selection of hot and cold dishes which was constantly topped up with fresh produce if anything ran out.

Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeLoveEurope_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

I stayed here for a weekend for my birthday and it was a perfect experience. The location is great, really central. The hotel staff are excellent. Very friendly, courteous and helpful and professional - they give an excellent first impression of the hotel. We were in a street facing room and also near the stairs so it did get a little noisy but this did not detract from the experience. The room was fabulous with a huge bathroom. Especially loved the sauna that all hotel guests can use (in the Relax room - need to book this via reception). Hotel breakfast was a hotel breakfast but above the usual standard. Had a great experience here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kittykat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

When staying in the old town of Estonia - you want something cute, quaint and historic but with the mod cons. Well, look no further than the Merchant House Hotel.
I absolutely loved staying there. A medieval ex Merchants House which still has original features like medieval patterns on the original wooden beams. Our room had a wonderful old bath in the centre of the room, shielded by a screen (very groovy) but the toilet was behind closed doors. Definitely a great couples room - but they have others for twin sharers. The restaurant was in the cellar for breakfast nice and cosy and there is a courtyard restaurant. Smack bang in the middle of all the action of the old town. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LovinTheItchyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews