We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only place to stay in Tallinn!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Only place to stay in Tallinn!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Travelled to Tallinn last weekend to stay at this beautiful hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday.Our suite was warm and luxurious with a complimentary bottle of sparkle to welcome our arrival.Jonathan and the staff made us feel extremely welcome and could not do enough to make our stay Memorable with restaurant reservations and suggestions -The green house was a great suggestion thanks Jonathan!.The ice bar was great and the welcoming log fire and sauna which we booked both days was a great addition to our stay.I would recommend this hote to anyone who loves luxury,prime location and first class service!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClareLouise19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Clare,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your review on tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure meeting with you and Richard. I am so glad that your enjoyed all my recommendations and suggestions. This also shows how important tripadvisor is and helps travellers as well.

It was my pleasure speaking with you each day, however I do not know which restaurant you tried on the second night, would be interesting to find out which one and how it was... If you have time please drop me an email on this, it woiuld be interesting for me :)

The new place that I suggested with the ecliptic design located in an old green house is "Manna La Roosa". This will be a future top 10 place to visit while in Tallinn, and reservations already needed well in advance for friday and saturdays already. I am glad that you enjoyed it as much as I do. However some people find this over-priced

Again I am glad that you enjoyed everything about the hotel and made use of the open fireplace and free hotel sauna.....

Kind regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager - Merchants House Hotel
Email: gm@merchantshousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    241
    96
    19
    9
See reviews for
72
364
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Incredible hotel right in the centre of Tallinn, steps away from the main square. The rooms were spacious with lovely bathrooms and the bed was comfortable.

The staff could not have been friendlier or more efficient and the breakfast was incredible, it really set us up each day for a solid day's sightseeing. Great choice, delicious,

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Great value and super service!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Ruth,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing a review on tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed everything about your trip to Tallinn and the Merchants House Hotel.

I am only sorry that we did not have the opportunity to meet during you time at the Merchants House Hotel.

Please dont hesitate to contact me directly if yourself or friends decide to visit Tallinn, Estonia

Kind regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager - Merchants House Hotel
Email: gm@merchantshousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Have just come back from staying here. Have been several times before. Every room we have stayed in has been clean, spacious and good wifi. This year the hotel gave us a wonderful suite.
Thank you.
Only one little criticism, no English tea (I know so British) and the water urn was not hot enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulalee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Paula,

Thank you for taking the time in writing your review on tripadvisor.

We always look forward to welcoming you to the Merchants House Hotel every February it seems :)

I am glad that you enjoy your time in Tallinn and the Merchants House Hotel.

I have this morning, informed the night shift to turn on the Hot Water Urn instead of the breakfast waitress, thank you for your comment.

Re: British teas, we have order a new selection of five different teas.

Thank you again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Merchants House Hotel, next February or hopefully earlier.

regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager - Merchants House Hotel
Email: gm@merchantshousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is the perfect choice if you like non commercial hotels. Nice size rooms, modern, clean and there's sauna too. It's close to the old town square, so perfect to get to all parts of old Tallinn. And one minute from the best restaurant in Tallinn. Friendly service. Can't go wrong. Great value too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Victoria,

Thank you, for taking the time in writing a review. Tripadvisor has become the number one website when travelling abroad and every guests comments is important.

I glad that you enjoyed your 5 nights stay in the Merchants House Hotel. Not everyone makes use of the hotels FREE sauna (which is open 24hrs a day / Unique to any hotel in Tallinn) I am happy to see that you enjoyed this.

Again thank you for all your kind comments, and I am my team are looking forward to welcoming you back to Tallinn.

Kind Regards


Jonathan Poole
General Manager - Merchants House Hotel
Email: gm@merchantshousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here. Very central to Old Town, short walk to Toompea and Town Hall Square.
Friendly and helpful reception. Good choice of hot breakfast to set you up for chilly walk around city. A comfortable, warm and spacious room to return to.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank heyjudederbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review on tripadvisor. I and my team at the Merchants House Hotel appreciate you taking the time in writing a review.

Wishing you all the best in 2014

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager - Merchants House Hotel
Email: gm@merchantshousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Recently returned from a snowy long weekend in Tallinn, to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. The hotel couldn't have been more helpful and friendly; they arranged for a couple of romantic treats, fulfilled our need for a constant supply of tea in our room, and the lovely staff were always on hand to give advice. Our room was great, in a quiet courtyard and having a separate sitting area. The sauna was also fab. From reading earlier reviews, it seems hotel is going to be redecorated soon - it does probably need this, and some of the paintwork etc needed attention, but this didn't spoil the style and comfort of the place at all. When it's done it'll be pure chic rather than shabby chic! One downside was the coffee at breakfast - never hot, and the cups were tiny; also when the breakfast was buffet style it was a little suspect. But that's a very small niggle in what was otherwise a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Morning,

I am glad that you enjoyed everything about the Merchants House Hotel and Tallinn. It was mine and my teams pleasure helping you during your stay while in Tallinn, Estonia.

I was happy to read that everything we did to help celebrate your boyfriends birthday was appreciated.

I also understand that you enjoyed the recommendation of the seaplane harbour Museum. It is one of my favourite places at the present moment.

I will review the coffee thermos, thank you for this comment.

wishing you a fantastic 2014

Kind regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager - Merchants House Hotel
Email gm@merchantshousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Merchant's house for a romantic weekend in Tallinn. Even before we arrived the general manager, Jonathan, helped us plan the trip, offering advice on places to go and even booking us a table at a fantastic restaurant (Rataskaevu 16). The whole stay was flawless: the room was great and the service was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were a big winner, with a wide range of options including plenty of meat and egg dishes, perfect for stocking up before a day in the snow. We also managed to make use of the in-house sauna which was so relaxing and great for unwinding before going out for a few drinks. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this as the perfect place to stay when visiting Tallinn!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlorsCors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review on tripadvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Tallinn and the Merchants House Hotel. It was my pleasure to help you enjoy your time while in Tallinn. Help guests in advance plan there trip is mine and the Merchants House Hotel speciality.

Looking forward to welcoming you or your friends back to Tallinn, Estonia.

Wishing you a fantastic 2014

Kind regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager - Merchants House Hotel
Email: gm@merchantshousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#21 of 85 in Tallinn
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 85 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing