We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 30 September 2008

excellent location for old town location. Room was clean, could be a bit more generous with regards to replinishing shower gels, shampoos etc., but overall Ideal for the 3 days that we stayed. Breakfast not bad.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maxinewaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    244
    97
    22
    9
See reviews for
73
369
50
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We stayed at this hotel July, and it lived up to the good reviews it has had previously. We were given the Merchant's Suite, and it is a characterful room that maximises the old style of the building while having great facilities. I can understand that some people might not like having the bath in the same room, but there is a screen separating it, and the toilet is entirely separate.

We booked their summer package through the internet, and the airport transfers were very easy, although the airport is so close to town that just getting your own taxi would not be a problem either.

The package also included a three course meal at the hotel. As some previous reviewers said, the service was rather appalling, but this is the management's fault for not having enough staff. There was just one waitress on duty who was serving two areas, but she was so sweet - she kept apologising and virtually curtseying each time she spoke to us. But when the food did come, the soups were some of the best I have ever tasted, and the rest of the meal was good too. You just have to relax and enjoy your wine and wait.

The location can't be beaten - you are just 50 yards from the main square. We were there mid-week so there was absolutely no problem with the Beer House opposite in terms of noise. If you are sensitive to noise and are there at a weekend, I can see that it would make sense to ask for a room that is not facing the street.

All in all, well recommended.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Jayellbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

i had booked an apartment in old town on rataskaevu, that turned out to be unsatisfactory (partly due to little heat), and this hotel was one of the ones closer by. i ended up getting a large room on the first floor, it was very clean and even had a fireplace and pile of wood, which i used. When i had a problem with my cell phone in the middle of the night, the front desk was very helpful to me in reaching back to the states, just great service.

It's located on a street that is medium quiet, but within a one/two minute walk to town hall square and all the fun there, but without the noise at 11.00pm.

I would recommend, and will stay there again when i am back

  • Liked — elegant and clean
  • Disliked — outside terrace was closed because of weather, would like to see it in summer
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jamestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Superb location in the old town and within walking distance of the station. Lovely, individual rooms (no two are the same) as a result of it being converted from old houses. Most are round a courtyard and very quiet. The desk staff are outstanding. The breakfast staff were also very good. Everyone was extremely helpful and responsive. The breakfast itself was excellent - not as big a selection as some places but the quality was very high. Would go back anytime.

  • Liked — Nicely appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AMLinVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We booked the Merchants House Hotel as part of tour of the Baltic on Honeymoon last year as it looked like an excellant location and we were by no means dissapointed. A lovely quirky hotel in the centre of Tallinn 5 minutes walking to most of the Old Town attractions and right on the doorstep of the main square.

We were allocated the Merchants Suite initially taken aback because the bath tub is actually in the bedroom, we fell for the quirky charms of this hotel I loved the little reading room and library.

The staff could not do enough for us and were extremly polite and helpful, they managed to obtain Opera tickets for us prior to our visit, and they were waiting for us upon arrival. I agree that the quiky nature of the Old buildings will not be suitable if you have mobility issues, but you do have to remember that it's a 12th century town house.

The only drawbacks; I do think that for the price of the hotel there should have been Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room rather than having to pay for tea & coffee every time, although breakfast was fine, I would not reccomend the hotel restaurant as it was only average at best, and the service was quite slow and poor. But only small things that was otherwise an absolutley lovely stay.

  • Liked — Quirky Nature & Superb Location
  • Disliked — Dissapointing Hotel Restaurant
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggerThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We wanted to stay close to the city centre for our last night, after a 2 week trip round the Baltic States and chose the Merchant's House Hotel, as the website made it look very attractive. We were not disappointed.

The staff spoke excellent English and seemed enthusiastic about looking after their guests. We stayed in room 110, which was a family room on the ground floor (our children are 5&6). I'd read that there was some noise from the front rooms, which overlook a German Beer Keller, so requested a quiet room, which we were given.

The sheets were so comfortable, I'm going to buy some new ones for home! The hotel sauna was free, so we booked it for just our family and enjoyed the rowing machine and excercise bike too.

We ate out that evening, but the next day breakfast served in their atmospheric cellars. It was amongst the best I've ever had, with a fabulous selection of hot and cold dishes which was constantly topped up with fresh produce if anything ran out.

Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeLoveEurope_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

I stayed here for a weekend for my birthday and it was a perfect experience. The location is great, really central. The hotel staff are excellent. Very friendly, courteous and helpful and professional - they give an excellent first impression of the hotel. We were in a street facing room and also near the stairs so it did get a little noisy but this did not detract from the experience. The room was fabulous with a huge bathroom. Especially loved the sauna that all hotel guests can use (in the Relax room - need to book this via reception). Hotel breakfast was a hotel breakfast but above the usual standard. Had a great experience here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Excellent staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kittykat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#19 of 86 in Tallinn
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#27 of 86 in Tallinn
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing