We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varied room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Varied room quality”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The location of the hotel is great if you wish to be in the middle of the tourist-oriented Old City scene. I made a last minute booking on Hotels.com. and probably because of that I was given a partially below-ground-level room (102) with windows facing straight to the courtyard restaurant. And this room has no air-conditioning, so on a very hot summer day it was unpleasantly hot. The in-room safe was out of order, so I asked to be moved to another room. With some reluctance they agreed, and I got a smaller but much more comfortable room in the main building, with very well working AC and safe. Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    241
    96
    19
    9
See reviews for
73
364
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for one night with a friend this July, 2014. Location perfect, room was nice ( loved the burgundy-coloured walls ) and staff is very competent. I was a liite afraid about the location ( city center ) because of the possible noice. But no trouble at all, even if the room was situated towards the street ( well it was a weeknight, can't tell what it's like during the weekends ). The breakfst was good, but still that's the only tihing I was not perfectly satisfied, it could have been more extensive ( the room rate is, well not among the cheapest ones in Tallinn ). I would have had more variety what comes to the vegetables and fruits. But overall ; good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This time our room was located in the courtyard side of the building which was very nice! The Dunkri Street is a bit noisy but no noise came to our room. Instead we could have our window open to the courtyard and as the room was on the street level we could actually walk in and out through the window - fun! Service came ALWAYS with a smile, very nice young people. Good breakfast, only negative thing was that their coffee maker was broken so there was only instant coffee. The girl was nice enough to make me coffee with the espresso machine (which normally costs extra) for free. Service the way I like it! Oh, and the location is super! And so is the price for a hotel this nice. I would give 5 stars but the A/C in our room didn't work so it was a bit too hot for a good sleep. Not a problem during the fall/winter/spring months (or a normal nordic summer - this year was exceptionally hot!).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henna_M_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for Song Festival....room perfect...staff perfect....courtyard an oasis of calm during Tallinn's busiest period...breakfast hot food could have been a tad hotter....but plenty to choose from and the coffee was absolutely delicious....nice to see teapots and actual English tea bags....perfectly situated for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reettur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked the Courtyard Suite at the Merchant's House for a romantic weekend. It was a recommendation from a friend, so I skipped reading reviews.
The booking went smoothly. When we arrived, the lobby area seemed inviting and the staff was very attentive.
The room seemed huge and tastefully decorated. The only thing I would have liked to know beforehands was the fact that the bedroom windows were facing a summer terrass, and the view was to the clients feet. I didn't mind that too much, however (although it probably would have made me choose a different room, had I known it prior to the booking). This weekend it was so hot that the "underground" location provided some wellcome coolness, given that the room has no airconditioning (which is clearly stated in the hotel description).
What bugged me quite a bit, though, was the standard of housekeeping: There were some unidentified debris on one of the bedside tables, piece on plastic foil, an ampoule and dust on the floor and a previous quests water left in the sauna (for quite some time judging by the water's colour). As I just read another review undelining the same cleanliness-issue, I sure hope this is not the practice.
You could see the passing of time (since the last renovation) at places, but even that didn't bother too much. But when you book a suite for a special occasion, the expetcations tend to be high. I wouldn't say the price-quality-ratioi was at it's peak comparing to other small hotels we've visited in Tallinn.
The hotel is situated next to the Old Square, so we had a Russian disco practically next door. Given the location we had brought earplugs, so that didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Merchant's House is actually several very old buildings converted into a hotel. It is in the heart of the old town on a quaint street. Not surprisingly therefore their rooms vary considerably. Initially we were shown to a dark room in the courtyard, long and thin with no window in the bedroom or bathroom. When we expressed disappointment, we were swiftly changed to a much larger, lighter room at the front of the hotel. They were worried that we'd dislike noise from the street (or the bar diagonally opposite) but actually it was fine. There is no lift but the reception staff were happy to carry our suitcases up and down. The bathroom was pretty antiquated but I enjoyed having a bath for a change. The bed was very large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet in the cellar was very good. Wifi worked well throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to talk to Reception if you don't like your room. They vary a lot so you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaMacAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Merchants House hotel is in the centre of Tallinn. It faces onto a pedestrian street. There is a bar across the road but it did not seem too noisy but if you are worried about noise you could request an inside room. It is very convenient for walking around the town. The rooms are good and there is a lounge and courtyard area. The breakfast is good but they don't seem to do much for dinner but there are plenty of restaurants near-bye.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#17 of 85 in Tallinn
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 85 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 85 in Tallinn
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing