We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy little gem in the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel on our first trip to Tallinn. The hotel is in a perfect location just off the Old Town Square. Our room was lovely. It was separated into two parts, one with the bed and a flat screen TV, wardrobe etc, and the other with a sofa, table, mini bar and TV. It was really like having a sort of mini suite. The room was boiling hot the first night but there is a remote for temp control so once we figured that out we could cool down a bit.
We had lovely cocktails one evening on our way out in the Ice Bar but sadly were the only ones in there!
The reception staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank discoclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2009

We were very happy to have found this hotel. Very comfortable, spacious room with free wi-fi access, and modern decor. Excellent location, just off main square in old town. Lovely breakfast room in previous cellar of the building. Buffet breakfast plus hot cooked breakfast available. Staff spoke English and were very helpful. Great value for money. No complaints at all, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnjaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Have travelled to Tallinn 3 times and stayed at the Domina City and the Three Sisters...This was my favorite hotel...It combined the medieval with the modern and had an ideal location in the center of the old town...The room were nice and the staff was very helpful...Tallinn is a great place to visit, has a great vibe and friendly people...There are other nice choices (Swisshotel outside of old town and the Hotel Telegraaf in old town) but the Merchant's House combines everything I wanted out of Tallinn.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Great location, friendly helpful staff. Stayed in the Board Room Suite - massive superking sized bed - very comfortable. Huge wall mounted plasma TV and great sound system. Not at all noisy even though overlooking the Bier Keller - probably due to the great insulation on the windows. Will insisit on staying here again when I next go to Tallinn!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank adl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We came to the hotel for a girls' getaway/relaxation vacation. We had specifically inquired about the size of twin beds and were told that they "weren't narrow at all," and were then very surprised to find the tiniest beds ever! However, the wonderful receptionist immediately recognized their mistake and uprgraded us to the most amazing presidential suite, with king-size beds, two bath tubs, and a sauna. A treat if I ever saw one!
A word of warning for those going for the spa, though: while the treatments were excellent, there are no pools or jacuzzis in the building; they only have a sauna there.
The restaurant personnel were not up to par with the friendly reception. The breakfast was mediocre, roomservice poor, and dinner lacklustre. Portions were scarce: tiny coffee cups and they didn't readily offer more.In general, we found out it was best to ask from the locals about their restaurant favorites to avoid the tourist traps. As one person said: "they get away with serving crappy food as they know you'll only come once."
But because of the excellent ambience, location, and surroundings, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Allforservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

For my birthday on november 21st my boyfriend took me on a trip to Tallinn. His choice was this lovely hotel in the old town of Tallinn. We loved it! The room was spacious and clean. The beds were soft but firm and the bathroom was very neat. Allthough the towels were frayed and the shower was not very conveinient, I rated this hotel exellent. The reason was the very friendly and helpfull staff. The weekend we visited Tallin, a snowstorm came up. All flights were cancelled. The courteous staff prepared our room for an extra night, for a very good rate. We spend the rest of the cold winterday in the private sauna, which was a very nice plus for this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We stayed at the Merchant House with 2 other couples for my Birthday. We found the staff very good the food was good,The ice bar was a bit small but just over the road was a lively bar.
The bedroom we stayed in was very good, Having the bath in one room was an experience.
Tallin was great, Interesting buildings loads of places to eat, The medival eating house just of the square was amazing.
We also had about 1 metre of snow! Fall on my birthday very nice to look at but a bit difficult to walk about.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#30 of 86 in Tallinn
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#18 of 86 in Tallinn
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £65 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing