We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Had we known before we would have stayed longer. But we stayed there only one night. We had a suite for the price of a room. We went to the sauna (free). The service was fine as was the breakfast. I recommend that place.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marco0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    233
    93
    18
    9
See reviews for
71
356
48
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We were a group of 6 girls visiting Estonia for our annual girly weekend away. The hotel had arranged a transfer for us which was ready and waiting when we stepped out the airport. We arrived at the hotel at midnight and were greeted by a friendly face at reception. Our rooms overlooked the courtyard and were each decorated differently but very tastefully. The bathrooms were huge and spotlessly clean. We did not hear any noise during our stay. On our first morning we had our breakfast cooked to order which was fantastic. It was served in the cellar which looked like you were in little igloos. The whole hotel was very quaint. On the other days it was a buffet breakfast which was not as good but still lots of choice and filling enough to keep you going until the evening.The staff were always friendly and helpful and arranged for a couple of us to have massages which were lovely. The hotel is in a fantastic location in the Old Town. Tallinn is very picturesque in the Old Town with lots of little shops, bars and restaurantsdown cobbled streets. The New Town is outside the Old Town walls and you will know you are there by the modern shops and lots of strip clubs!!, so Tallinn has something for everyone!! We visited at the beginning of the Christmas Markets which was a lovely sight although there wasn't anything different to buy from in the shops. Food and drink wasn't as cheap as expected but cheaper than home and most European cities.
All in all we had a great time in Tallinn and the hotel was fantastic value for money and lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Literally a stone's throw from the Market Place, an immaculate hotel with excellent staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Very comfortable rooms with a huge bath in a huge bathroom: we loved the inclusion of older features, such as the stencilled ceilings, stained glass windows in the Ice Bar, the walls in the rooms and in the cellar where really sustaining (and healthy) breakfasts are served.
Gorgeous colour schemes and a very warm and kind welcome. We cannot recommend it too much: visit it now!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayneOxfordshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We spent two nights in Merchant's House with my sister, both young adults. We made the booking based on TripAdvisor reviews and I have to admit that we were a tiny bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong - the hotel was a solid four-star, but our expectations just were so high. At least where our room was located (on the third floor), you hardly noticed that you were in a medieval building. We saw no sign of the hidden staircases etc. Maybe they were hidden in the suites, since we only had a standard twin room...

The room itself was really clean, nicely (but not luxuriously) decorated and faced the quiet courtyard. The bathroom was maybe a bit plain but the shower was good. I'm a very, very light sleeper and heard some distant thumping bass sounds (from Beer House?) both nights and had to use earplugs - a normal sleeper (e.g. my sister) wouldn't have had any problems with the sound.

The staff at the reception was really helpful and friendly. We didn't use room service, but the prices seemed quite affordable. The hotel location was really good. Frankly, that is the case for every other Old Town hotel - the walking distances are very short. Since half of the Tallinn tourists come from Finland, a big plus point for the hotel was that we didn't meet too many of our (drunken) countrymen there...

As the other reviewers here have already said, the breakfast was OK but pretty basic - definitely not "The extravagant Breakfast Buffet" as they put it on their website. A regular chain hotel breakfast buffet is usually more varied and plentiful than this was. This is maybe the point where you might get more value for your money staying somewhere else. We paid 84 Euros for the room per night (non-refundable) and I think that is as much as I would pay for a standard room in this hotel. The suites are of course on the different price category.

I just recently visited a four-star boutique hotel in San Francisco and I have to say that compared with that, the Merchant's House Hotel didn't qualify as "boutique". It's a small, comfortable, basic kind of a hotel but not as luxurious as their website might get you thinking - of course staying in one of the suites might be a totally different experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johkur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I can't say too much about this hotel, particularly regarding the service they provided. The receptionist I originally contacted when I made reservations went to a lot of trouble to answer my questions before we arrived: this included information about buses from St. Petersburg to Tallinn, purchasing ferry tickets to Helsinki, and suggesting a local car rental agency. I would have thought this information was readily available on the internet, but it wasn't. The small Tallinn-based company, Amestic, that rented us a Honda Civic sedan picked us up at the hotel and dropped us off at the ferry terminal when we returned to Tallinn a week later (we drove into Latvia and Lithuanian as far south as Nida on the Curonian Spit—a fabulous trip). The car cost us less to rent than any of the bigger agencies and included pickup and drop-off services that made things very convenient.

Service during our stay at the hotel was exemplary. We stayed two nights. Our room which bordered on the inner courtyard was extremely quiet and cool in the evenings; the bathroom was unique: large, with two sinks and very modern fixtures, and was 'sunken'...you walked down three or four steps into it, giving it a cozy feel. The room itself was very nicely appointed and a good size. In the evenings we sat in the quiet courtyard and enjoyed some of the vodka we bought in Russia.

A great central location in the old town, on a charming street. Good restaurants everywhere! We enjoyed our trip to the Baltic countries so much that we're thinking of returning for a longer period. And we wouldn't hesitate staying at the Merchant's Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed at the Merchant's House Hotel in August for 3 nights. We started out in a first floor windowless room. When we asked for a room with a window, our request was quickly accomodated with a move to a second floor room. A minor disappointment was that there were no flowers in the flowerboxes in the court yard as that would have enhanced our view. We were pleased with our room, with the breakfast, and with how friendly and accomodating the staff were. For example, we had to leave early to catch the 6 a.m. Lux Express to St. Petersburg and the front desk staff arranged for a taxi and for a boxed breakfast for us.
A caution for folks with any problems walking, the hotel does not have an elevator and not all stairs have banisters.
The location of the Merchant's House is ideal, less than a block from the Square in the old city. Be sure to check out the 14th century painted ceilings in 2 of the public rooms. And think about indulging in a wonderful message which is done in a separate section of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhxTraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zuerich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Very nice staff, perfect location (as long as there is no party in the brewery opposite the hotel)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#9 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing