We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location in Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location in Old Town”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My friend and I travel abroad every year and use trip advisor for all of hotels. This, as usual, ended up being a great suggestion. I agree with previous reviews that the lack of air conditioning can be a problem but we were lucky to be there the first week of cooler weather. If you are planning to stay in July or August, I would definitely make sure you have a room with air conditioning. The walls were a bit thin but the staff was friendly and spoke great English. The breakfast was nice and the rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_from_states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    232
    93
    18
    9
See reviews for
71
355
47
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Three of us stayed for four nights in two rooms. We specifically asked for air conditioning but only one of the two rooms had air conditioning when we arrived, although the rooms were excellent and full of character. The second room we were moved to was not as nice as the first, and the air conditioning was a mobile unit on the window sill. It did work however, although like all such devices rather noisy. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would recommend it, especially at the price. Breakfast was nice, and restaurant area is tasteful. Staff were friendly and efficient at the front desk and restaurant. Just a couple of minor things which shouldn't really happen in a hotel of this high overall standard. One of the towels had holes in it (how had that slipped through the quality control net?) And the base sheet on the bed needed an extra wash to remove a stubborn stain, I would say. Minor quibbles, easy to put right and wouldn't influence me, but would put some people off. Advantages of this hotel far outweigh the disadvantages.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFC1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My wife and I were surpised at the negative comments for this hotel. There was unusually hot temperatures in Tallin last month and our toom was spacious and well conditioned. The location of the hotel was excellent, just five minutes from the town square in a pedestrianised street. so was quiet. The staff anwered quieriesl, the nreakfast was tasty and served in pleasant surrondings,
We would come again and are aware that Tallin isn't accustomed to temperatures more fitting the southern Medittereanean.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I was surprised to read the negative reviews of this hotel - we were just so positively surprised by everything in the hotel:
- the service on the front desk was prompt, friendly and it alwas came with a smile
- our luggage was carried to the room, which I wouldn't expect in a hotel of this price category
- the room was amazing! We booked an ordinary room, but what we got (with only 120 euros!) was a huge room with sofa group, great furnishings and a luxurious bath tub.
- breakfast was really nice, even though some of the items started to run out around nine o'clock. Very good selection nevertheless
- location was superb!
- beds and bed linens good quality
- some noice coming out from the street, but that happens so often in hotels this close to city's hot spots that we normally take our ear plugs with us anyway.

People complaining about the missing air conditioning doesn't seem to understand, that summer 2010 was the hottest in 100 years - heat waves like this just doesn't happen in Estonia normally! We're from Finland, but have also had an all-time record hot summer. The more common problem this far north is to keep our houses warm!

We were also glad to hear they have family rooms - we'll return shortly for a family trip. Thank you Merchant's house. This is how I think a boutique hotel should look and operate. Everything was personnal and unique, but the price which was ordinary, if not even cheap. Gread value.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henna_M_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The hotel is presented as "boutique", but that is a stretch given boutique hotels I've stayed in elsewhere. As a result their pricing should not be reflective of a boutique hotel.

It is obviously a historical property, which limits the changes that can be made to the property, but overall I thought the hotel was charming from an Old World sense.

Location is terrific, as it's just steps from Raekoja Platts, which is the main piazza in Tallinn's old town.

The hotel presents itself as being air conditioned, but that is not true, with more than half the rooms not being air conditioned. We were staying there in the middle of a heat wave, so it was not very comfortable. We were offered an alternative room that had a portable air conditioner but the room smelled very musty and we declined.

The most upsetting part of our stay was the final day & night that we were there, we did not receive any towels, despite numerous calls and visits to the front desk. We were not advised what the problem was (finding out much later by e-mail that they had had problems with their laundry service supplier) and were provided with robes to use for drying ourselves after our evening and morning showers.
Not quite what one would expect from a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdninLondon044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The usual suspicions arose when the decor was all downhill beyond the reception area.

"Boutique" is a well-worn adjective used to mask any number of flawed or hapless attempts at integrating comfort with architecture on the cheap.
Whatever the reason our room was just above hostel standard, the marshmallow single mattresses dubiously harnessed into an attempted double bed with a very tactile acryllic sheet.

This was small-time bed and breakfast standards at big ticket prices, proximity to the main square comes with an opportunity to avoid sleep in cramped malodourous surroundings which confirm the received wisdom of only booking such establishments on the strength of personal recommendation. But not this one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumbriaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstallinn, Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Dear Sir,

I am firstly concerned that you have written your comments for the Merchants House Hotel, Tallinn? The Merchants House Hotel is one of the top 5 hotels in Tallinn.

I have just checked through all of the guest’s lists and the last Australian guest to stay at the Merchants House Hotel in Tallinn was 10days ago (departing on the 2nd of August) and was in room 107. This is a beautifully designed room with a backdrop limestone wall. This room is 24.7 sq metres in size, which is certainly not cramped?

The Merchants House Hotel is using the best Sleepwell hotel designed beds and mattresses and we have only had compliments regarding the hotel beds. I have checked the bed in room 107 and did not see any marks or stains in the bed. (I am personally going through all of the mattress protectors in the hotel as these change depending if the room needs to be allocated into a twin or double set-up)

The Merchants House Hotel is a non smoking hotel. Guests can smoke of course in the beautiful courtyard that the hotel has. However this does not sometimes stop some guests from smoking in their rooms? We then put the room out of order for a few days.

I would be grateful if you could contact me directly via email, so that I can understand your comments? I am not allowed to publish my email address directly on this site. But this is available on the hotels website, "A word from the Manager" the second tab down on the hotels website.

Additionally I will be speaking to trip advisor asking them if i could publish pictures of room 107, to help clear this matter up

Looking forward to straightening this matter out

With kind regards,


Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Hotel has a superb location and nice, clean rooms. However, any traveller selecting Merchants' House should be aware of a couple of key downsides with the hotel.

First, only few rooms in the hotel have air conditioning. Our room only had a portable fan and was almost unbearably hot in July. As many of the rooms are located on ground floor by the inner court yard terrace, the possibility of safely keeping windows open is also limited.

Second, the rooms can be quite noisy as many of them are located just by the inner courtyard terrace. The terrace seemed to close at 11 PM, but until then there was a noisy Russian group having a party there.

Third, the breakfast is modest for a 4-start hotel and the reception staff is not the most professional in the world.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaT041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#18 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing