We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2010

this hotel pretty much proved to be exactly what we expected The proximity to the town square and Christmas market made it second to none. The girl on the desk on arrival was outstanding...our flight had been delayed and we arrived after 11 o'clock starving.....she took the time to check the websites of local restaurants to find us something suitable still serving at that time of night. Breakfast far surpassed what we expected too!

My only complaint is.....we requested two rooms together since we were traveling with children but we were given one in the courtyard and one on the third floor! far from ideal but since my eldest is in her teens we accepted the rooms. In hindsight I realize I should have requested another straight away but I'm not much of a complainer and it didn't cause us any major problems. Our room was clean and adequate and I'd have been more than happy with it had I not seen the kids room which I thought was beautiful! So Request one of the downstairs Courtyard rooms!!

Also during the Xmas period taxi's don't drive down this street but will drop you about a hundred yards away at the top of the hill.....not a problem but make sure you know what the front of the hotel looks like, we walked straight past it!! and had to ask 3 people for directions!

On the whole I would recommend this hotel to family members and I would use it again if I ever return to Tallinn!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

In the middle of November this year I did some business travel that included some time in London and an overnight in Tallinn. My secretary looked after hotel booking and came across the Merchants House on the internet. I was delighted when I arrived. THe hotel is in a super location - in the Old Town right beside the beautiful town square. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was great, it was clean, warm, really nicely furnished with traditional stone walls and a big ensuite. Compared to the hotel in London that cost 3 times the price it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JD185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I have been staying at this hotel for more than 5.5 years on business and pleasure. This hotel is in the heart of the old town and right in the middle of all the restaurants and bars. The hotel is very luxurious and has a quirky old medieval feel to it, to keep in with Tallinn's Old Town tradition. The Merchants house has many different types of room ranging from double rooms to luxurious suites, and the piece de resistance of the Presidential suite. All rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing is too much trouble for them in order to make sure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable. The General Manager is also an extremely friendly English guy, who always takes the time to talk to the guests to ensure everything is ok with your stay. During a stay over a weekend my fiancée and I got engaged in Tallinn and I asked the GM if he could decorate the room in rose petals etc. They went the extra mile by building a fire for us and putting on the in room sauna and really did an excellent job of making the room look romantic.

As the title of the review says I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. The Merchants House is definitely a top hotel and it is a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank powellinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Superb location - right in town. Staff all very friendly and helpful - breakfast delightful.
Bedrooms and en-suites fitted to a very high standard. Excellent standard for relaxation and treatments. Our family stayed there when attending a great wedding........ and the atmosphere in the Merchant's House just kept the festivities going.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mussa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

At he heart of the old town within easy reach of some of the finest restaurants and bars in Europe the Merchnats House Hotel provides first class accomodation. I love the styling of each room with its clean and sophisticated decor! The staff are extremely helpful and catered for all our needs. We had a problem with presentational plaque that we had brought from home for a business presentation lunch. Without any hesitation the staff contacted a local shop and rectified our problem. We also had a private function in the ice bar which provided the ideal situation for friends and colleagues to catch up - it maybe went on a bit late as too much fun and cocktails were enjoyed by all. I wouldn't stay in any other hotel in my future visits to Tallinn as the personlised service and accommdation is the best in town!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EntrepreneurEcossse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Hi, I have been going to Tallinn for many years now and have stayed in every main hotel in the old town.

The Merchant House Hotel is frankly the best of the bunch by quite a long way, it has amazing management for whom "nothing" is a problem, on my last trip I had to get emergency dental treatment and these guys arranged that having a private dentist stay late etc etc.

I really could go on for hours about just how god this hotel is , the staff and management cannot do enough for you.

That's before we mention that the location is 2 seconds off the main town hall square.

If you are going to Tallinn on business or pleasure do yourself a huge favour and stay in this absolute gem of a hotel !!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMcGlynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My friend and I travel abroad every year and use trip advisor for all of hotels. This, as usual, ended up being a great suggestion. I agree with previous reviews that the lack of air conditioning can be a problem but we were lucky to be there the first week of cooler weather. If you are planning to stay in July or August, I would definitely make sure you have a room with air conditioning. The walls were a bit thin but the staff was friendly and spoke great English. The breakfast was nice and the rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler_from_states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £73 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing