We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Cobh, Ireland
1 review
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I have just returned from a five day trip during which I stayed in the Savoy Boutique Hotel. The hotel is in a great location near the Old Town Centre and the staff were friendly and very helpful. My room was well decorated and despite the hotel being located in a busy tourist area there was no noise at night. The one thing that I was really dissapointed with was the housekeeping at the hotel.The desk in my room was not dusted at all during my stay and after 5 days I could actually see a layer of dust on it. The floor was definately not hoovered properly and I cleaned the marble surround on the sink myself after Day 3. Good bar, breakfast buffet & restuarant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Catherine,

It is great to hear that you were pleased with most of the things during your stay here at Savoy Boutique Hotel. As for the negative part, however, thank you for pointing us out this regrettable misunderstanding.
I assure you that the next time you visit us there will be a perfectly fit room waiting for you to enjoy it!
Until then I wish you all the best!

Sinceerly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    327
    59
    12
    4
See reviews for
160
553
59
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

just returned from a relaxing stay there. lovely quiet rooms on the edge of the old town. despite some clubs nearby there was little if any disturbance. staff very helpful and the cocktails are wonderful recommend the Boston if you like gin. the food in the restaurant is not bad and there was plenty of variety at breakfast. Minor quibbles would be the quality of the towels and for those of us with short legs a running jump is required to get in to the Bath. All in all would stay here again.

Room Tip: choose high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 438chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for the feedback. It is always a great pleasure to hear good things about Savoy Boutique Hotel. Thank you for acknowledging the little details aswell, your remarks are certainly very helpful!

As for your next visit to Tallinn – you are always welcome at Savoy Boutique Hotel!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

From 06 to May 8, 2012 we had a rest in Tallinn! Book a hotel "Bern" 4 *, but we moved for technical reasons in the Savoy Hotel Boutique 5 *. We agreed, 5 *! But who gave this hotel 5 *? . This hotel is 3 *! Located at the entrance to the old city. A taxi from the airport cost us 10 euros. Our room was on the 5th floor. There is a lift. The rooms are small, close. In the shower room with a hole in the floor. Water fills the entire toilet. The windows are opened. Flat TV. Many TV programs. Beds are comfortable. We booked room for smoking. We confirmed the number of smoking. In addition to smoking. Let us know no one warned. The room nebylo plate with a ban of smoking. In the lobby there is also smoke-free plates. We smoked in the room and we have reprimanded and warned a fine of EUR 50. Hotel lobby is very small. There is a small restaurant. Breakfast is served in the restaurant. Breakfast is very poor, little choice. Two types of ham, two kinds of cheese, scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal. The hotel has a small bar. The hotel left a good impression, a little cozy, home. We've been walking around the city. The city is very charming, in recent years has become a modern! Built City Centre. Very nice Rotermanni quarter. In the city a lot of good restaurants. We were five and all the food was delicious and beautifully decorated. Prices are the same everywhere, salad 06.03 euros, 06.12 euros a main dish. Beer 2-3 euros. You can safely go to any restaurant, there will be delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strelez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear strelez,
Thank you for posting your thoughts on Savoy Boutique Hotel. I am glad to hear that you think of our hotel as a cozy one. I am sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our breakfast buffet, though. But if you liked Tallinn we will happily be your host next time you visit offering a room with a bathtub and an a’ la carte breakfast brought into your room. As for the smoking rule, there is no smoking allowed to ensure clean and safe rooms for all our guests. If you were misled by this rule, I regret.
Again, thank you for feedback and I wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feldkirchen-Westerham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Working for a German company I come regularly to Tallinn and am always happy to stay in this hotel. Everything, what you really need is there, only two things are missing: a sauna and room rates for occasional visitors without a Scandinavian income. But the strong points to mention are much more: Despite the location at a relatively noise place you can sleep well, because you can close the double windows and there is a good air condition. Quick laundry service, good breakfast buffet, nice bar, location close to plenty of bars, restaurants and entertainment in and around the medieval city centre, flexibility concerning pricing and reservation for regular customers even in main tourist season.
And the best thing is the friendly staff, especially Karin H., who motivated me to write this comment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
167 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Tallinn is such a great city and this hotel is perfectly situated at the entrance of the old town. It was easy to find the hotel as it’s on the main bus route. The streets are all at angles so often you need to stop to get your bearings, but no need to take a taxi from the airport as its only 10 minutes by bus. The bathrooms were wet rooms, which meant that although they looked great water did cover most of the floor, and the shower curtain solution spoilt it a bit. Hotel supplied shampoo, conditioner, and shower cap, soap and body cream. Nothing here that you would want to take home with you, but fairly good quality none the less. Beds were comfortable and linen was not changed daily which we don’t mind. I liked the chocolate supplied on day 1 and 2, but disappointed that it didn’t appear on day 3 or 4.

Breakfast was more than ample; fruit juice, cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts, cooked sausages, bacon and eggs, breads, cheeses and croissants. Huge red coffee cups were good as we like our coffee and didn’t have to refill as often.
Wifi was available around the hotel, but no socket to plug your laptop into, which was annoying as we had to sit by the door on the floor to use the one which the light was plugged into. There was a lot of noise from outside as it’s close to clubs and bars, so we had to close the windows at night which we would rather have had opened. There was a constant hum which I tried to locate - sounded like a fridge but when I switched that off it continued. The air conditions/heating switch didn’t seem to make any difference - so not sure how that would work in the summer.
Staff are friendly and helpful, nice lobby area to sit and meet friends/colleagues. The lift was small and slow, but then it’s good to get the exercise walking up and down, so only really used it at the beginning to take the suitcases up.
Would certainly recommend staying here, but if cost is your priority, there are some very good cheap places here as well. Nothing is too far away and noise is an issue in the town centres especially at night with crowds of people drinking till the early hours of the morning, so staying 5 minutes or so further away will not spoilt your enjoyment of this beautiful medieval city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you very much for these thorough comments. I believe this will be useful not only to our staff members, but also to the people who are planning to visit Tallinn in the future.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit overall and hoping to see you back in the future. Every detail you mentioned just gives us more motivation to be an even better host next time. Thank you for that and welcome back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Another hotel our friends booked and to be honest, I would not stay there again!

The hotel staff are really very lovely and the reception area looked modern but the room we had was tiny and very claustrophobic. The bed linen was frayed / towels frayed / no effort in bedroom décor / no iron / ironing board / lots of noise from the ‘club’ downstairs – not the clubs fault but the windows not being sound proof! Breakfast was enjoyable, although the chef can not cook scrabbled eggs (they were burnt), even the waiter had a little chuckle and confirmed that the chef ‘rushed and they got burnt’!
The hotel is in a very good location for exploring the old town, so stay here if you want to be close to the old town. The bar was really lovely and I had one of the best Apple Martini’s I have ever had on my many trips!!
My only real concern was that the area during the day felt really nice but in the evening if felt a little seedy with girls hanging around on ‘corners’!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chappells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for your comments! I am sorry to hear that there where some controversial thoughts on your stay to our hotel. We hope to do better the next time, when you are in Tallinn for our special Apple Martinies.
Still, your comments are very valuable to our staff and we are looking forward to make your next visit to Tallinn more satisfying. Welcome back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed in Tallinn in December 2011 for 3 days with my boyfriend and chose this hotel for 2 reasons, location & value for money. Hotel is right in the middle of the old town, near great bars and restaurants. The staff were so polite and friendly, especially at reception and in the bar. The bartenders made great cocktails and we enjoyed a few drinks there. Breakfast was a cut above the average continental breakfast, lots of options, juices and teas were available. The room we stayed in was spacious, clean, had a great view and a nice big bath, perfect for soaking in after a long day sightseeing (Tallinn is a walking town). Great location, great value, great staff, great hotel. If visiting Tallinn I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
It is great to hear that your stay in Tallinn was pleasant. As you mentioned, we really emphasize on comfort of the rooms and variety of the breakfast offerings.
Thank you for your kind words and I wish to see you at Savoy Boutique Hotel in the future aswell. Welcome back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.0 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Boutique Hotel

Property: Savoy Boutique Hotel
Address: Suur-Karja 17 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sincere hospitality in an exclusive environment!* Superb location in Tallinn Old Town* A romantic, dignified and cozy boutique hotel* Amidst all cultural events and historic sights, built in 1890's* Houses restaurant MEKK, which tempts you to discover Modern Estonian Cuisine. The Savoy Boutique Hotel is located at the very heart of Tallinn, in the medieval old town. It is a superb place for people who travel for business as well as for pleasure. The capital city's most noteworthy business, entertainment and shopping centers are nearby. The hotel building was constructed in 1890 and renovated in 2006. A piece of luxury that makes you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Savoy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Boutique Tallinn
Hotel Savoy Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing