We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 21 August 2008

The Savoy Boutique Hotel is an absolute gem for a place to stay. Beautifully restored and immaculately clean, the rooms are generously sized and stylishly furnished. The bathrooms are fab and the staff are pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful and will fill any hungry tum!
Situated on the edge of the Old Town, it took less than 5 minutes to get to the Old Town square, so a great location to boot because being on the edge slightly certainly meant for a quieter location.
Tallinn itself is pretty and easy to get around. For me, 3 days was too long in the town as there is very little to do and see if the weather is bad.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    353
    61
    16
    5
See reviews for
172
609
63
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We were originally booked in to the Hotel Bern but as they had overbooked we were sent over to the Savoy Hotel - glad we did!
Very nice rooms with great views over the Old Town. Great location - just a few minutes walk to the main Square.
Very friendly staff, hotel very chic and is clearly looked after very well. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Views from the rooms over the Old Town
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazandbabs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2008

I have just returned from Tallinn, where we enjoyed a 4-day spring break with my husband. We had made the reservation from a website and faced no major problems with reservations and/or payments. The .pdf voucher illustrating our reservation and payment did not open at first, but we were able to sort that out.

The service at the reception was very good, starting from the arrival when we got a room immediately, even if we got there prior to the check-in time. That was comforting as we had had a very early flight, and the ability to strect your legs prior to some heavy sightseeing was great. When leaving the reception called us a taxi with a smile. In between the assistance was always there when needed.

The location of the hotel is excellent to our taste. It is close to the old town square, shopping centres and transportation. After already having stayed at the hotel for a couple of days we found out that the area is the center of the night life in town. One could not believe it, as there was no disturbing noise from the bars. Yes, there is a night club accross the square, but one would not know, unless reading the guidebooks etc.

The room was not huge but it felt cosy. Extra large pillows on bed were a nice touch as you could lift your weary legs on top of them in the evening after having wandered in the city for hours and hours. The bathroom was clean, and the towels changed everyday, even though we would have wanted to use the same ones for a couple of days in order to save the environment. The hotel soap in the small bottles had a little bit strange scent to it(ginseng or someting). Next time I would definately bring my own.

Breakfast was good, and dining in the restaurant was a pleasure. The service is not on the normal international standard, but still ok. Even though the food was good, maybe there was a hint of overpricing. The breakfast selection could have been a bit wider and/or more varying. The drinks in large glasses were somewhat watery to my taste (e.g. Bloody Marys and Pina Coladas) .

In general we enjoyed our stay in Savoy a lot, and would recommend this hotel to others, too.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayNeeded63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

The hotel is in a very convenient location, just a couple of minutes walk from the Old Town Square. It is a very homely, yet very efficiently run hotel. We had a problem with the room safe which was quickly dealt with and fixed, especially as it was Easter Sunday. My initial opinion of the foyer was 'wow' how cosy - there is a log fire burning with large sofas and the bar is reached at the other end of the foyer. The room is fairly small, but this is what one should expect from a hotel entitled a 'boutique' hotel. Dressing gowns and slippers are provided for your comfort and the underfloor heating in the bathroom is most welcome on a very cold day. Its also handy for drying off boots/outer clothes after being outside. The room is spotless although the towels and dressing gowns could do with some fabric conditioner as they were rather rough. Towels changed daily. Lovely decor in excellent condition and I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again if we return to Tallinn. Also we benefited from a deal by dealing with the hotel directly, which was stay for three nights and pay only for two! Its well worth contacting the hotel directly via the website.

The breakfast is from 7-10am, very courteous staff serve tea and coffee - the selection is of a average to high quality, ranging from the usual cheese/ham/breads to smoked salmon and pickled herring. Some mornings there was a hot selection of sausages etc, in the buffet, other mornings there wasnt, but you could order freshly cooked eggs to your taste, porridge and other hot items served to your table.

The location is fantastic - we were on the fifth floor so the noise was minimal. However, by Thursday the groups of 'stag weekenders' (all men groups out to party) had arrived and were a little noisy queueing for the nightclub along the road.

We had no problems with the taxi drivers. They were quick, drove safely and never ripped us off. We used the taxi rank outside the airport to get us to the hotel and the hotel staff phoned for one for our trip back. It cost approx 105 EEK per journey (about £5).

We loved Tallin, the Old Town is beautiful and I recommend it.

  • Liked — The cosy homely feel, quality decor, efficient staff
  • Disliked — rough towels!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dibza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

This hotel is the best I have ever visited! Its location is great, the rooms are very good, but the best of all is that every member of the staff I met at my three night long stay were extremly service minded. They helped us with everything, from booking restaurants and spa, to tell us where to shop and look at tourist attractions. The breakfast was also great.

The staff talked really good English, and they were always more than happy to help me and my girlfriend with any kind of problems we had. Even tought we are young and not rich we felt more than welcome at this hotel. I am really glad I lived in this hotel, and I will 100 percent shore live at this hotel next time I am visiting Tallinn

Helpful?
2 Thank KristianNorway19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

The hotel is an old building, nicely renovated.
Room was small, but very comfortable. Modern equiment incl free Wifi. Breakfast ok, above normal standard. Staff friendly, all fine.
can highly recommend for weekend trip or business.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank onBusiness015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at Christmas. The room was small but nicely decorated. We had some problems with the bath but at the end we solved them. Breakfast is average, the location is very good as it is situated at the start of Old Town. Nearby you can find all kinds of restauranmts, bars, casinos. We like d our stay.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 85 in Tallinn
1,681 reviews
0.0 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 85 in Tallinn
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 85 in Tallinn
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Boutique Hotel

Property: Savoy Boutique Hotel
Address: Suur-Karja 17 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical Hotel Palace, Tallinn reopened in July 2014 after a total makeover. The Hotel is located next to Freedom Square / Vabaduse väljak) and is just 150 meters from the picturesque Old Town. When staying with us for business, you still have excellent opportunity for shopping or sightseeing in the Old Town as major shopping and entertainment venues are within a short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Boutique Tallinn
Hotel Savoy Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing