We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from 5-star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Starnberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Far from 5-star”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Maybe our expectations were too high, or maybe they were just having a bad week but the experience we had was very far from 5 star. Yes, the hotel is in a very nice easy to reach location near the center of the old town, and yes the lobby area is very nice, but that's where it ended for us.

- Upon checkin, there was nobody available to help with luggage or to park our car. Instead we were given directions to a nearby parking garage and told we needed to move the car in under 10 minutes. By contrast, at our hotels in both Riga and Vilnius on the same trip, the staff took care of everything for us... that is what you would expect from a 5-star property.

- Asked for some info about the city and were given incorrect information by the front office. Next day when I showed them that it was incorrect, they apologized and we found a small fruit and truffles plate in the room with an apology note. Unfortunately, the plate was so messy and unappealing that it would have been better to not send anything at all.

- We came back one afternoon to find strange eyeglasses in the room, which probably belonged to the housekeeping staff. We also found a couple of pieces of paper garbage on the floor which didn't even belong tp us, obviously also left by housekeeping. When we gave the glasses back, they just said: "yeah, we were looking for those"! not even an apology!

- The breakfast selection is somewhat limited. They refused to make pancakes for my son because they were "out of pancakes" 30 minutes before the scheduled end of the breakfast service. There is also no offer to make eggs like any decent hotel, not even 5-star!

- Storage space in our room was extremely limited. Maybe good for a business-person on a 1 or 2 night stay but not a family staying for a longer time.

- There were very string lights on the very low shower ceiling which felt extremely hot. The toilet paper holder was incorrectly installed so the toilet paper kept falling off. The soap dish in the shower rod was visibly broken and unusable. The shower rod was fitted on one end of the bathtub in a way which made it impossible to use and we had to use the shower handle in our hand and not hung on the rod. The drainage stopper had to be taken out completely for the bathtub to drain. There were 2 single towel hangers on the wall which were loose, hanging out and barely usable. There was also a very visible crack in the bathroom sink.

- The wooden blinds, while a very nice design, did not effectively block out the outside light. Neither did the curtains.

- Soap, shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel were not replenished and insufficient for our stay: 1 of each for 3 people for 3 nights! When we called the front office, they said they would deliver new ones immediately but came more than 15 minutes later after we called again. They brought the wrong items and we had to wait again for them to go and get us the correct items.

- The A/C is extremely weak and didn't cool the room which led to hot uncomfortable sweaty nights.

- When we asked the front office for a reccommendation for a restaurant, they took over 10 minutes to search the internet after which we left. I checked myself on tripadvisor and we were on our way to a very nice place in less than 2 minutes.

- On checkout, we were charged a higher rate than the one we were quoted by booking.com. When I complained, they said that the quoted rate did not include tax while it clearly said that tax was included. They also claimed that they had not blocked any money on my credit card while I got a message from my bank that they had.

- Many of these problems were due to the fact that trainees were left alone to run the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear yhelmy,

Thank you for the comprehensive notes on Tripadvisor!
Above all I would like to say that I agree with you – being a five star hotel means that our guests should receive hospitality as closest to perfect as it gets. Clearly we did not show you up with our best standards to you. I am very sorry about that.

Nevertheless, we have learned our lesson thanks to your help. You obviously have a lot of knowledge to share with other users about what to expect from different kinds of hotels and this makes your reviews very valuable for hotel managers, also.

I hope you can find it in you to forgive us. If you do I would be more than thankful if you and your family gave us another try. Savoy Boutique Hotel would be glad to grant you a complimentary second stay in order to make things right.

To book your stay, please contact me personally via email for once more.

My sincerest apologies.
With kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    353
    61
    16
    5
See reviews for
172
609
63
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Excellent location on the border between the old town and the modern shopping and business buildings. ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montastruc de Salies
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for an extended week-end in August and we enjoyed being close to the center while staying in a quiet and charming hotel. Great location to stay for a few days and visit the town of Tallinn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentPommier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Vincent,

Thank you for your review!
I am very glad to hear that you were happy with your stay at Savoy Boutique Hotel.

Hopefully we will see you return soon!
Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Savoy Boutique Hotel is wonderful. The staff are first-class, the location excellent (close to the old town market square), super breakfast and very comfortable, clean bedrooms. We fully recommend this gorgeous hotel - to you all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Janet,

Thank you for your kind words!
I am more than glad that you had a lovely stay and your recommendation means a great deal!

Surely this will help other travellers to choose their destination when visiting Tallinn!
Looking forward to see you back at Savoy Boutique Hotel!

With kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Savoy Boutique hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the old town and close to shopping.

I particularly enjoyed the personalized fruit tray greeting in my room upon check in, as well as the quality and variety of food at breakfast.

The staff were helpful and courteous and even helped me book a ferry ride for a day trip to Helsinki, Finland (about a 2-hour transit).

Highly recommended for your stay in Tallinn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear William,

Thank you for your recommendation!
We were happy to have you and will be even more happier to see you return!

Until then, all the best to you!
Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The staff was absolutely very helpful and friendly : Hotel is located near the old city and we could just walk around and eventually come back for a rest if we felt tired.
Breakfast was also excellent, perhaps the morning bread could have been a little crispier.. I would certainly recommend the hotel if asked

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank keribar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your positive post!

I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully this will not be the last time!

Looking forward to have you back at Savoy Boutique Hotel!
With best wishes,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place ticks all the boxes, location, in the old part of town close to just about everything with a busy and vibrant atmosphere. Quality rooms, ours overlooked the street and as for noise, it was not an issue and we were there when their major singing festival was on. Service, the staff were so helpful nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was of exceptional, in fact it was the best we had on our 5 week tour of the Baltic states & Russia. Dinner there are so many restaurants close by it is nice to try a few but if you choose to dine at the Savoy you will not be disappointed. The only downside it is right near this really tacky cassino, it is not a problem it just looks tacky and so out of place in this historic town

Room Tip: Ours faced the street, so when you looked you felt part of the atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your kind words!

I am extremely happy that you were so satisfied with your stay at Savoy Botuique Hotel.
Our everyday jobs have been made more joyful thanks to your comment, of course!

Our doors will be wide open for your return!
Kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 85 in Tallinn
1,683 reviews
0.0 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 85 in Tallinn
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 85 in Tallinn
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Boutique Hotel

Property: Savoy Boutique Hotel
Address: Suur-Karja 17 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical Hotel Palace, Tallinn reopened in July 2014 after a total makeover. The Hotel is located next to Freedom Square / Vabaduse väljak) and is just 150 meters from the picturesque Old Town. When staying with us for business, you still have excellent opportunity for shopping or sightseeing in the Old Town as major shopping and entertainment venues are within a short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Boutique Tallinn
Hotel Savoy Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing