We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected - fun watersides; Unexpected - very nice service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had read the reviews of the Kalev Spa Hotel, so came into it expecting not so nice service, but clean and serviceable rooms and heaps of fun at the water park. The reality was:
- Rooms were very clean and the wall pull-down beds for the kids were super fun for them, and great use of space.
- Water park was great fun - we probably spent 6 hours at the park in total - 2 hours on the first day after sightseeing, and 4 hours on the second day when it was raining in the afternoon, we just played in the water park. The 3 waterslides were great fun for our kids, ages 9 and 6, and all of the adults had fun in the swimming pool, different whirlpools, and joining the kids on the slides.
- The service was great - very helpful in providing maps, help with taxi reservations, and Jannus was extremely thoughtful and considerate, providing us with packed food since we had to leave to catch a train before breakfast service - how extremely nice! When we return to Tallinn, we will certainly be staying here again. Thank you, Jannus!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanMateoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

+ location
+ price
+ clean
+ free use of waterpark

- small, worn out rooms
- poor breakfast
- somewhat unfriendly receptionist

So I would recommend this hotel to someone who likes to have a clean bed for a night or two. For some more personality - choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 5th floor are all more expensive. I would not pay the extra, I would go to Tallink Spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our family spent 2 lovely days in this hotel. The kids enjoyed the waterslides of the spa and the pools as well. The location of this hotel is ideal; just a 10 minute walk to the passenger harbour and to the old city.
I had read that the breakfast includes cardboard of different sorts. Well this is not true. The breakfast buffet was just your typical hotel food with nice warm bread straight from the oven and toast + rye bread. Kids loved their yoghurt with cereal and the cinnamon rolls were as good with coffee. On the hot side you could choose between boiled or scrambled eggs, meatballs and veggies; even potatoes were served. All in all a very nice breakfast.
We had a family room on the second floor facing the Kanuti street. Quite busy during the night and a bit noisy, but once I shut the window, it was ok. I would prefer a room on the quieter side next time, or maybe couple of floors up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimmiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Highlights of this hotel: convenient location on the edge of the old town, walking distance from the harbor, and a large waterpark in the same building (good but pretty crowded).
Advice: don't go there if you have no interest in the waterpark, because there are lots of other hotels in the old town for a better price.
The room was not very good or practical, bed could only be accessed from one side and the bath gets flooded easily. Heating can't be controlled. There was a towel heater though, that's nice. Bathrobes are provided.
Breakfast: buffet with enough selection, cold & warm, almost no sweets.
In the waterpark: officially rules are strict (booklet in the room), but actually I saw lots of women with long hair not wearing caps, and men wearing shorts. So no problem to get in, just bring a towel from the room and your own flip flops. There is a 50 m pool, a smaller 25 m one, 3 slides, 1 kids' pool, several bubble baths/hot tubs and a few saunas (some could be rented from groups). Unfortunately it's quite crowded, it's not like only hotel guests go there. I went at various times and half the lanes of the pools were always reserved for some swimming club, the others not only used by swimmers. So, good place if you have kids or want some water fun, but not if you are looking for a relaxing spa holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank so_voyage49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here for only one night. Our room was spacious and clean. The private saunas were just across the halway from us which 'caused a little noise to our room but after 22:00 it was quiet. The best thing about this hotel was the location for us. Next to the old town and short walking trip to the harbour. The pools were very busy and full of people. It wasn't so comfortable trying to do long distance swim. If you're looking for calm spa typed place this definetely isn't that kind of hotel. The breakfast is very basic (coffee/tea, porridge, toast, some sweet cakes, sausages and scrambbled eggs). All in all, this is a hotel for people that appriciate the location and aren't looking for any luxus. So perfect for a budget traveller like me :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I spent four winter days at Kalev Spa with my girlfriend. We chose the hotel mainly by the fact that we have been to Estonia several times before and know Tallinn quite well.
Kalev Spa's location is excellent, just about a mile from harbour by car, by feet a way shorter.

We pre-ordered a few spa treatments although I was not very excited about them. They were included in price, though, so I had to accept them and give up. :)

Our room was a regular sized, very clean and equipped with a balcony facing the harbor and Olaviste cathedral, the steeple of which was raising up to heavens and especially at night was very spectacular. The view was an extra which cost us 10 euros per night, it was worth it.
A nice detail was a free safety box with an electronic lock. Also a free internet was available.
One drawback was the lack of bidé hand shower. My wife was complaining about it all the time.

The Spa itself was built decades later than the water park =public swimming hall. That's why
going to the water park was a bit complicated as one had to walk all the way past the long side of the building, a fact which we had just accept. At our time of arrival, Sunday, the water park was a bit crowded by residents of Tallinn spending their day off with their families. That's perfectly okay. On other days, Monday to Thursday, it was not crowded at all.
As a Finn I like sauna a lot. At Kalev Spa you had four saunas to choose from.

Dressing room was clean, spacious and well equipped. Lockers were electronic ones which opened/closed using a wristband chip. Very safe and handy indeed. Same system applied at
doors which opened only by showing the RFID chip at the lock.

Our hotel package included a breakfast and a late dinner. Breakfast was a normal continental
one with enough of varieties. Porridge was soft and delicious. I personally like bacon, which was not available but I could live without it.
Dinner buffet was also all right, no luxury just good ordinary food. Wine and beer were available at reasonable price if you needed them.

The hotel lobby had a small bar, an Internet stand (for free) and a big flatscreen tv set.
Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

In the middle of week they got the evevator number two repaired. It was out of use for a couple of days. There is always a staircase if you can't wait, of course.

At last a few words about the spa treatments. I had a half an hour's classical massage which was a pleasant experience. The male therapist did a good job and was very talkative which I liked a lot. He spoke Finnish very well, too. He also gave me lot of information about Tallinn's history and places of interest.

I also had a foot paraffin treatment and a 45 minutes visit in salt chamber. I didn't find them very useful nor a honey massage either. They were included in the spa package and I could not change them to anything else.

Staying at Kalev Spa was a nice experience. Old Town is just a hundred meters away and if you are not interested in bathing or spa treatments you can always go somewhere else. Kalev Spa arranges guided tours to places of interest like Botanic Garden and Saku brewery & cheese dairy just to mention a couple of them.
I also attended a guided tram trip to the end of tram line number 1. This way we could see how ordinary people still live everyday, not so luxurious life in remainings of Soviet Union era. We also saw infrastructure of old textile factories and at the other end of the line a renovated palace of Russian queen Catharina. From poverty to abundance!

I can recommend this hotel to everyone traveling on budget. You will get everything you need at a reasonable price.

We will be back, Kalev Spa!

Room Tip: Rooms on fifth floor have balconies facing the sea and Old town wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, great location but....... let’s start with the room:

Booked a double room but got two singles pushed together with two separate duvets, bed was comfortable but had only 1 pillow each so not good here.

Rooms are very small, but modern with TV and mini bar

If you need an iron and ironing board, you have to rent these from the hotel, poor value!

Bathroom:
Shower has good pressure, but the shower screen is far too small so each time you shower, the bathroom floor is totally flooded so this makes for an inadequate bathroom! Asked to be moved to a room with a proper shower screen, but they said that all rooms have the same, so therefore all rooms are missing a bathroom that’s fit for purpose!

You don’t get towels in the water park so have to take and use the ones from your room, so these then smell of chlorine the whole time!

Rooms don’t have individual temperature control so it’s either hot or cold I’m afraid.

Breakfast:
This was ok, you can have toast and cereals, it is focused mainly on health foods so i found it strange that there was no chopped melon or fruits to eat, only whole apples and pears. Then there was some rice crackers, rye breads and some other food stuffs that looked to be of the cardboard variety! The porridge was actually semolina! Yuk! Scrambled eggs were not quite right at all! Coffee was good though.

Water Park, gym sauna etc:
Pool is 50m Olympic sized - Great.
Steam rooms, sauna, Jacuzzis - all great.
Gym equipment, modern and up to date - Great

Group indoor cycling (spinning) studio great, but there are only a maximum of 2 classes per day and 8 per week, the times are inconvenient and sporadic e.g. a 10am class on Fridays, there should be an earlier class as not many people want to eat breakfast then go for 45mins of hard cardio!! But they do have some of the latest tomahawk bikes which are great, but they need to make more use of this studio!

All in all, if its pool, spa and gym facilities you are after then come here, but if it’s a good hotel that’s most important then stay in one of the others that we have stayed in:

St Olav - Very cheap and cheerful(ish!)
Nordic Forum - Great hotel with small pool
Meriton Spa hotel - Good hotel, good facilities but you can only use them at certain times.

Room Tip: 1st floor is noisy if you need to have the window open but is convenent for the water park as it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,751 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark

Address: Aia 18, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £47 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalev Spa Hotel And Waterpark
Kalev Hotel Tallinn
Kalev Spa Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing