We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 1 week. Liked it a lot. It's so close to the Old Town. Many places are within few mintues of walking distance. The pool is jus great! The breakfast is not very rich in variety, but even a vegan, vegetarian and/or pescetarian can find something. The hotel staff is very nice and responsive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulbahor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at Kalev Spa with my family for three nights (with two children aged 6 and 9).

We had a nice family room on second floor with one big, comfortable bed and functional bunk bed for kids. The room itself was decent although it wasn't very well cleaned (don't look under your bed :-)). In our bathroom, we met a few silverfish bugs on the floor & sink which wasn't appreciated by our kids at all. There was a minibar and a hairdryer in our room as well as bathrobes & towels of course. No flip-flops we provided so bring your own (or buy them from the hotel reception although the ones they sell get easily wet)! Customer service at the hotel was always very friendly and our kids were provided with ice-creams at the time of check-in, which was welcoming. Breakfast is decent, nothing special though (a variety of bread, porridge, cerial, muesli, yoghurt, eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, cheese, ham, cucumber, tomatoes, watermelon, an assortment of fruits, coffee, tee, hot and cold milk, juices, mini-croissants, coffee bread / buns). Breakfast was served until 11 am which is great, if you like to swim and bath first and enjoy the first meal of the day only after that.

Our children loved the spa! The hotel is a bit rambling with long corridors and several dressing rooms but we found our way to the spa. Spa is included in the room rates, so you pay no extra using it (spa is open from 8 am to 9 pm). In the Spa area there is a big, 50-meter swimming pool (the pool is 1,1-4,5 m in depth, no diving apparatus or tower is in use and the water is about 27 degrees), baby area for toddlers with warm water, smaller swimming pool for bigger children (30 degrees), hot tubs (35 degrees), jacuzzi and a pearl tub. And then of course the 3 different slides which our kids loved the most. The longest one of the slides (which started from the highest level 3) was actually the easiest one and suitable for smaller children who can swim. Sauna's at the spa were very small and very hot and the showers were somewhat too cold for us :-). There was also a cold bath in the shower area. But anyone travelling with kids, I highly recommend the spa. During our stay, the spa wasn't crowded at all. There were lots of free swimming lanes in the big pool. Overall the spa was functional and nice enough.

The Kalev Spa is located at the heart of Tallinn so it is very easy to stroll in the old town or to take a tram, bus or sight-seeing bus all over the town. There is a Rimi supermarket at the same street as Kalev Spa (Aia) and many restaurants in the area too. Kalev Spa has a small playground outside (at the park side) which was great too.

Room Tip: Our family room was very quiet even though it was on the second floor to the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LyhyempiKorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed there this summer, the location is perfect, pools and sauna are great as well, but the breakfast is kinda not enyoable, no choice, lack of vegetables and fruits just one bowl with apples and pears and thats all, as a desert there were just one kind of not so fresh sweet cake..... And we had very small rooms, with very thin wall, so we could here everything what happend next door....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaneji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This review is for the spa and water park only, not the hotel. My friends and I booked a spa package which included 1.5 hours in the water park, a 30 minute massage, 40 minutes in the salt chamber, and dinner, for only 36 euro. It was a fantastic decision, well worth the money.

When you check in, you are led into a small locker room where you’re provided a bathrobe, towel, and slippers, and a locker and lock for your stuff. I highly recommend you bring your own flip-flops, because they slippers they provide get soggy very easily.

The waterpark includes use of the swimming pool lanes, various hot tubs (none of which are all that hot, btw — they range from like 35-45 celsius), sauna, and crazy water slides. Note that there are invariably lot of children running around, people having swim team practice, old folks bathing, etc. We went on a weekday afternoon, so it might be a bit calmer in the morning.

The Swedish massage was incredibly relaxing, but the salt chamber was a bit strange as I’d never heard of it before. The room is like a cross between a beach and an igloo — salt was on the floor, walls, and ceiling. There were beach chairs to sit on, and muzak was pumped into the room. We weren’t too sure what to do in there except sit. Nevertheless, it was an interesting experience.

We then went back to the locker room to shower and change for dinner. There’s a basic soap dispenser in the showers, so bring your own toiletries if you prefer.

Dinner was delicious, but don’t come expecting gourmet food. We had a choice between beef and salmon; we all chose salmon. It came with a mushroom cream sauce, sauteed veggies, and mashed potato. We were also given coffee and tea with our dessert — an overly sweet chocolate cake with rasperry and peach (?) coulis.

This is not a fancy spa, but it was still a great value. I would highly recommend this based on the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel location is great. Short walk to the old city and about 10 mins to the harbour. At the arrival, hotel didn’t have my reservation on their system but it was fixed quickly. Room is quite small and basic but with comfortable bed.
Bathroom has been missing soap and shower had an empty bottle for gel. Room wasn’t clean. Would be good if housekeeping service can be improved. Good value for money because of location. Next time would try another place in Tallinn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molodaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great hotel, and central location. The staff was friendly and helpful, although if you speak English, you'll have to listen attentively. The hotel is close to the Old Town and other attractions. We had a wonderful time at the spa, swimming pool and massage. We will return in August of 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUdoniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Kalev Hotel and Spa is very well located, within the old city and close to the main shopping centre of Tallin. Being the water animal I am, I thoroughly enjoyed having access to the swimming pool, hot pools, jacuzzis and saunas. In my opinion, there should be a spa in every hotel :)
My room was on the second floor, and there was a nice clean smell from the pool that I liked. I was on a business visit, but used every opportunity to go to the pool. As for the room, it was nice and the bed was good. I loved the big window, as I have lately been staying in too many hotels with locked windows. The bathroom was nice, but it the in-tub shower inevitably got the whole floor wet. The wifi was way too weak and unreliable. Excellent staff and good service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adalheidur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
0.2 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#14 of 86 in Tallinn
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark

Address: Aia 18, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £42 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalev Spa Hotel And Waterpark
Kalev Hotel Tallinn
Kalev Spa Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing