We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite decent spa hotel right next to Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quite decent spa hotel right next to Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed at Kalev Spa & Hotel with the family. It is very well located, easily walking distance from Linda Line terminal. Booked some treatments just one day before, no problems there. Breakfast is quite basic but sufficient. Overall the condition is ok, just a little bit of wear and tear showing here and there.

The spa area has eight full 50 meter swimming lanes, a 10 meter jumping tower (that is kept closed?), a few water slides, and also a few different bubbly pools. So and so if you can call this a spa, but it does the job of cooling you and entertaining the kids on a hot summer day. Perhaps the most worriying part was that the "traffic lights" controlling the access to the water slides were not detecting our kids properly, so we made sure an adult was the last one to enter the slide always.

Some of the treatments are given in another part of the building than the others which is a bit confusing. Make sure your treatments are billed correctly, I had one treatment billed twice by mistake due to it being billed at both locations. This was fixed immediately when I notified about it and I understand where the error was made, pure human error.

Do not expect the wi-fi to work in all parts of your room, perhaps close to the door you might get lucky.

All in all the location and services made for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Breakfast is served on the 4th floor, so that might be convenient.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hphuhtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    219
    93
    15
    15
See reviews for
144
163
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

There is no cooling air conditioning in the standard rooms, so during summer time rooms might be very hot. Otherwise rooms are ok.

Breakfast is quite OK, but it could be better if this is real 4-star hotel.

Waterpark is nice and also suitable for children.

Excellent location near old town, new city centre and harbours.

Room Tip: 5th floor superior rooms have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Good location in old town. Strange build hotel inside but the room are nice and clean. Free entry to waterpark and breakfast untill 11:00 is a big + mostly Finnish smal children families who stayed there

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Axel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed two nights in this hotel. I used the waterpark facilities daily: mostly the saunas and the swimming pool as well as the beauty centre services. The hotel room ( in the 3rd floor) was spacious, clean and with nice view. The beauty centre services were a bit expensive compared to other service providers.
Hotel staff was friendly.
The breakfast was basic. However, some of the food run out before the actual close of the breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinTravelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend at the hotel, was very convenient for visiting the old town. Breakfast was amazingly varied. One of the best hotel beds we slept in. We relaxed after having walked kms in the city in the spa. A bit crowded but we didn't expect anything else during the weekend. The fading sound of the cruise ships horn add to the experience in the morning. We left open the window on purpose. We will come back definitely.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ultimateguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dushanbe, Tajikistan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 1 week. Liked it a lot. It's so close to the Old Town. Many places are within few mintues of walking distance. The pool is jus great! The breakfast is not very rich in variety, but even a vegan, vegetarian and/or pescetarian can find something. The hotel staff is very nice and responsive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulbahor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at Kalev Spa with my family for three nights (with two children aged 6 and 9).

We had a nice family room on second floor with one big, comfortable bed and functional bunk bed for kids. The room itself was decent although it wasn't very well cleaned (don't look under your bed :-)). In our bathroom, we met a few silverfish bugs on the floor & sink which wasn't appreciated by our kids at all. There was a minibar and a hairdryer in our room as well as bathrobes & towels of course. No flip-flops we provided so bring your own (or buy them from the hotel reception although the ones they sell get easily wet)! Customer service at the hotel was always very friendly and our kids were provided with ice-creams at the time of check-in, which was welcoming. Breakfast is decent, nothing special though (a variety of bread, porridge, cerial, muesli, yoghurt, eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, cheese, ham, cucumber, tomatoes, watermelon, an assortment of fruits, coffee, tee, hot and cold milk, juices, mini-croissants, coffee bread / buns). Breakfast was served until 11 am which is great, if you like to swim and bath first and enjoy the first meal of the day only after that.

Our children loved the spa! The hotel is a bit rambling with long corridors and several dressing rooms but we found our way to the spa. Spa is included in the room rates, so you pay no extra using it (spa is open from 8 am to 9 pm). In the Spa area there is a big, 50-meter swimming pool (the pool is 1,1-4,5 m in depth, no diving apparatus or tower is in use and the water is about 27 degrees), baby area for toddlers with warm water, smaller swimming pool for bigger children (30 degrees), hot tubs (35 degrees), jacuzzi and a pearl tub. And then of course the 3 different slides which our kids loved the most. The longest one of the slides (which started from the highest level 3) was actually the easiest one and suitable for smaller children who can swim. Sauna's at the spa were very small and very hot and the showers were somewhat too cold for us :-). There was also a cold bath in the shower area. But anyone travelling with kids, I highly recommend the spa. During our stay, the spa wasn't crowded at all. There were lots of free swimming lanes in the big pool. Overall the spa was functional and nice enough.

The Kalev Spa is located at the heart of Tallinn so it is very easy to stroll in the old town or to take a tram, bus or sight-seeing bus all over the town. There is a Rimi supermarket at the same street as Kalev Spa (Aia) and many restaurants in the area too. Kalev Spa has a small playground outside (at the park side) which was great too.

Room Tip: Our family room was very quiet even though it was on the second floor to the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LyhyempiKorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark

Property: Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark
Address: Aia 18, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalev Spa Hotel And Waterpark
Kalev Hotel Tallinn
Kalev Spa Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing