We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite fulfilling its potential”
Review of Hotel CRU

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel CRU
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not quite fulfilling its potential”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Given the glowing reviews I was, well, maybe not disappointed exactly, but not quite as captivated as I was hoping. It is a beautiful old building and our room (no.3) was lovely with wooden beams stretching the whole length (this room is long and narrow with windows over both the front and the back), comfortable chairs and a chaise longue as well as a big double bed, a bathroom with a huge bath big enough for two (probably for three) and plentiful hot water. But there were niggles - a minibar with no glasses, only one small pillow each, a TV which received only Eurosport in German and one other channel which seemed to be mostly films and an occasional news broadcast in Finnish. They can't do much about the noise (they have double glazing), but the revellers in the street are disturbing and they go on long, long into the night. And it was hot - they provide a cold air blower but it isn't all that effective. And they do need to decide whether they're running a hotel or a restaurant that lets out rooms - reception is usually just the till of the pizza place and whoever happens to be there, which means that they deal with you not impolitely but fairly abruptly. It couldn't be better situated for wandering round the old town and we did enjoy ourselves, but not as much as we would have if we could have woken each day well rested and relaxed. The breakfast is very good, no complaints at all about that.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you get one which doesn't look over the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norbiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    84
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
122
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Tallinn hotels tend to be good quality and boutique style whilst well priced. The staff went out of their way to help us. We have an infant and arrived before check in time, but were provided with a room. We were also able to remain in the room after check out time. This helped enormously. The room itself was large and elegant, I think we were upgraded to the suite (16) because the hotel was quiet (it was midsummer). Our room was on the front of the building, but triple glazed so it remained quiet. As other reviews have stated, soap is not provided at the basin, but there is liquid soap/shampoo in a container in the shower.
We tried the cafe/restaurant on 3 occasions and the food is of a very good standard. Breakfast (included) is small, but good quality and enough. We also tried the small pool/jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The pool (underground in the 'vaults') is cold, not sure if heated, but if you're in and out of the sauna/steam room then it doesn't matter too much. We were also served from the bar whilst in the pool area. There are a few steps up to the rooms and no lift, but we were able to leave the stroller downstairs. The hotel is well situated for both the port and the main square.

Room Tip: probably go during a quiet period
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milurois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Viri Inn is a great small hotel with a unique feel and I couldn't have been happier with our stay. The room (#14), though it involved some stairs and a long walk down the corridors, was comfortable and impeccably clean, with charming exposed wooden beams. The shower was a delight and there were two plush robes for us to use. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and the convenience of the location could not be beat.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMonk3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have been to this hotel in Tallinn before and will soon be back ! It is so sental inn old town Tallinn and so small and personal- that Ijust love this hotel! I know everybody that Ihave taken with me - whants to go back to this hotel to. I have stayed at other hotels in Tallinn but Viru Inn is our favorite. The food at their restaurant is great to! Thank you for a nice short week we had

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillaTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We booked this hotel through booking.com and got an excellent rate of €90 a night for a superior deluxe room (much less than the price on their website). When we first decided on Tallinn and I started researching hotels I couldn't decide between the Savoy hotel and Viru Inn. I am so happy I chose Viru Inn in the end as it was a fantastic stay. The excellent website with pictures of all the individual rooms swung it for me as they all looked amazing. I also liked the idea of an onsite sauna, cafe and restaurant.

I liked the look of all the rooms but requested either room 9 or 15 as thought both of these looked fab. When we checked in however we were brought to room 3-the Junior Suite-we were delighted! I often request an upgrade but never seem to get one so to get one without asking really set the holiday off to a great start. The room was gorgeous-beautiful furnishings, wooden beams, a massive, comfy bed, windows facing both the street at the front and the town at the back, piped music in the room and a big bathroom with a massive bath. I would recommend bringing shower gel and shampoo though as these were not provided. But you do get comfy slippers and bathrobes-fab. Perfect for a romantic break away!

The hotel seemed to be quiet enough as when I went to explore it a lot of the room doors were open so I was fortunate enough to see into many of the rooms. All looked beautiful and just like on the website. I actually don't think I would pay extra for the Junior suite as the deluxe rooms looked just as gorgeous, I think the bathrooms may have been much smaller and without a bath but that wouldn't have bothered me. There was a little bit of street noise in our room as one of the window faced the street but it didn't bother us. Most of the other rooms seemed to be at the back of the hotel and would have been much quieter Id say (just sthg. to bear in mind if you are sensitive to noise). However, for being in such a central position, the noise really was minimal and only really on the weekend nights. And thats another massive advantage of staying here-you couldn't find a better location. Right in the Old Town but also not too far from the bus stop where you get off from the airport (we recommend the bus as it was less than euro each way and so near the city-we were also too afraid of getting ripped off by the infamous Tallinn taxi drivers!) I forgot to request the free airport pick up from the hotel until the night before and by then it was too late. The hotel recommended a taxi but we thought the bus a better option.

Viru Inn was more like a large guesthouse than a hotel. I am not a fan of large, generic hotel chains but sometimes find that 'boutique' hotel can mean tiny rooms. Not here! It really does help that from the website you can see exactly what your room will look like. And that each room is so individually beautiful. Breakfast was lovely, choice of hot and cold food, great coffee and breads-overall yummy. In the cafe, also where breakfast is served, is a a lovely large window seat where you can have your breakfast or food/drink from the cafe while watching the world go by-bliss. We had a lovely pizza in the cafe and drinks too-all great. We didn't eat in the restaurant even though it looked lovely (just not a big fan of Italian). We went to the sauna and jacuzzi on our last morning-really enjoyed it. The jacuzzi was a bit cold but not too bad. Was a lovely touch to provide this to guests in the morning, we were delighted with it.

The staff were very helpful and courteous. You do have to ask if you want something but nothing is ever a problem when you do. Any request was met with a very helpful response. When you arrive it is definitely confusing as to how you enter the hotel, luckily from reading the other reviews I was aware of this. There is a door beside the cafe door that you enter and then buzz in. We found the buzzing in to be fine.

I would highly, highly recommend Viru Inn. Its fantastic value for money and such a gorgeous place. I had read about all these great hotels in Tallinn eg the Three Sisters etc but they come with a hefty price. Viru Inn was one the nicest hotels Ive ever stayed in without breaking the bank! And Tallinn is such a beautiful place, we stayed 3 nights and it was more than enough time to see all the sights, explore and still have time to relax. We didnt do enough research and a lot of sights are closed on Mondays, also book ahead for the KGB museum and the underground tunnels as we were disappointed we missed out on them. Outside of the weekend we found the bars and restaurants rather quiet but as a couple this did not bother us.

Overall, a definite MUST stay and if you are still in doubt about staying at Viru Inn please dont be-it really made our holiday!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubheire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in March with my Husband. Lovely rooms and great staff everyone was very helpful. This Hotel is in an excellent location right in the middle of the Old Town. Tallinn is a lovely City and we would recommend going there for a Romantic break. We would definately stay in the Viru Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val&Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We spent a long weekend to celebrate my birthday. Loved Tallin - everything easy walking distance from Viru Inn. Stairs might be a problem for some people - not sure if there is disabled access.

Staff were very helpfull and keen to ensure we enjoyed our visit. Sauna was a nice touch.

Taxi driver couldn't find the hotel! He took us to the Viru Hotel!! Viru Inn is in pedestrian only area of the old town!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivendell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#23 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CRU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CRU

Property: Hotel CRU
Address: Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel CRU 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Medieval architecture in one of the oldest houses in Tallinn together with first-class service and possibilities create a unique atmosphere which connects with the environment surrounding the hotel. When renovating the house we respected both the initial architecture and the strict national heritage protection requirements that ensure that both the location and design of the hotel rooms is as loyal to the original concept of the house as possible. In 1997 Tallinn Old Town was included in the UNESCO World Heritage list and that can be regarded as the highest international acknowledgement to any historic town! In addition to a usual lodging experience we offer you an exclusive luxurious boutique-type experience, deriving from the unique design of the hotel building and its medieval legacy. Since all the rooms are unique and different from each other, the visitors may choose the intimacy or luxury of their preferred environment. Our breakfast is made of self-made or farm-grown fresh high-quality ingredients that are not so easily, if at all, found in shops. Natural and fresh breakfast is a unique experience that lights up the whole day! On the lower storey of Hotel Cru you will find a cosy and highly regarded restaurant of the same name. Hotel guests enjoy 10% off all items on the restaurant menu. Dmitri Haljukov, the head chef of the restaurant Cru, represented Estonia in the chef olympics final Bocuse d'Or in Lyon 2015. CRU Hotel is a good choice for both - leisure and business trips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel CRU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viru Tallinn
Viru Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing