We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel CRU
Nearby Hotels
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palace(Tallinn)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Telegraaf(Tallinn)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swissotel Tallinn(Tallinn)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Swissotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
202
98
31
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
98
31
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssparkling winequirky hotelold townhistorical buildingchose hotelblack breadviru streetsteep stairsno elevatormerchant's houselittle thingsbigger roomnoisy at nightraekoja platsrooms are smallfantastic hotelperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

To be fair, there are some good qualities in this hotel: location and breakfast are very good. On the other hand, it apparently has a new management and all little details, that make a boutique hotel (or a decent hotel) are missing.
We stayed at Viru Inn for two nights in November and we had booked "the most spacious and elegant room"; eg Superior Deluxe Double room. In a way the room was elegant (nice antique-style furnishing) and to stretch a word a little, it was even a spacious, but: it was dirty (dust balls, cob webs, dirty rug), it did not have any bathroom amenities (we even had to ask for a hand soap), wi-fi did not work, tv had only one channel, our view was a wall of a next building and when we came back to hotel at 4.15pm, our hotel room was not tidied up.
I would have been content, if I had booked a basic room in a basic two star hotel, but after booking (and paying for) an upgraded room in a boutique hotel, I was not satisfied for what I got.

Room Tip: There is no point of paying extra for a better room; you get location and breakfast in the standard double as well.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

+ The staff (apparently a family) is cheerful and friendly, something that cannot be taken for granted in an ultra-stoic Finnic land like Estonia.

- Breakfast is okay, but disappointing against comparatively-priced hotels in the area.

- The vaunted "Satellite TV" amounts to three channels cycling over and over from 1 to 99: EuroSport in German, YLE 1 in Finnish and ETV 1 in Estonian. Even the other two basic Estonian antenna-receivable channels (the ones that show English-language programs and films with subtitles) are missing!

- Hotel advertises "air conditioning in common areas" without mentioning that they mean a single feeble blower behind the restaurant counter that doesn't even reach to the seating area. The person manning the till is the only one likely to feel its effect. This during a 30C (85F), 94% humidity August.

+/- Internet is free and a strong signal reaches even the most distant rooms. But the hotel uses a cheap, ageing wireless router that often loses sync and must be rebooted.

- The staff was friendly, but somewhat given to B.S. answers. The Internet not working was variously attributed to a) "It doesn't reach your room"; b) "Wireless is affected by the weather"; and c) "We can't control it." (I showed them how to turn a router off and on, which solved the problem.) The paucity of TV channels was attributed to "a broken cable" that "cannot be fixed anytime soon." Please. A faulty cable is the easiest thing in the world to isolate and replace. No repair could be easier or faster.

+ The hotel is extremely atmospheric, being located in parts of two old 16th-century houses knocked together. Alas, there is no lift, and finding your room can be an adventure through winding passages.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

All the reviews are spot on, in my opinion. Yes, there are stairs and corridors which won't win any points from dicky knees or wonky hips, but think of what you get! Staying in a fabulous location, in an ancient building with buckets of character and charm, a laid-back atmosphere, a most delicious typical Estonian breakfast, and all for very reasonable rates! As for the service? Well I often find that if you give a smile and a friendly word, you are always given one, and more, back. We had no problems as the staff were always polite, friendly and helpful.
If you want elevators, no courtyards, tomb-quiet rooms, a seperate reception/office, then go look at a hotel chain - don't bother looking at boutique hotels because you obviously don't understand what the term means.
Oh, and please don't complain about dirty rugs. It shows your ignorance of aged and well-worn expensive carpets.

Room Tip: Stay on the lowest floor if you have a serious problem with stairs. I'm fat and old but managed comfortably enough on the highest floor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nellie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We only stayed in the hotel one night but if was perfect for us. The location is great - right in the old town - and the service is very friendly and helpful.Internet was free, which was also a plus.
The room was slightly on the small side but at least it had a bit of character to it - I'd take that over some of the big dull rooms of hotel chains. In fact, the whole hotel was charming, with lots of winding little corridors.
The breakfast was a nice surprise - they'd asked the night before what time roughly we would be down and when we arrived there was a platter of cold meats and cheese for our table, boiled egg, yogurt, and a couple of different ypes of bread. Sure they would have done hot breakfast if we'd asked but I was perfectly happy with the cold selection.
And all of this for a very reasonable price.
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjgraham82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I read some great reviews of the Viru Inn and came with very high expectations. For the most part they were met. The staff were helpful, the location was fantastic, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was tasty and the hotel itself had a certain charm.
I tend to agree with another reviewer in that the management should make a decision to be a restaurant with a hotel attached or a hotel with a restaurant, as at times it felt like one or the other (usually the hotel) was a bit under-staffed (office often closed) but usually I could get info I needed from the restaurant staff, and they didnt seem to mind me trekking thru the restaurant into the hotel. I would recommend and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews