We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in old Tallinn”
Review of Hotel CRU

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel CRU
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel couldn't be situated better. It's right in the center of Old Town. It's also not a long walk from Viru center, so the shops are also near.

Hotel has it's own unique athmosphere as it is an old house. The way to our room was like an adventure for our little girl. We had to take stairs and then go through some corridors and then take some other stairs and onve again go through couple different corridors. It was fun for us adults too, because the corridors were beautifully decorated and lighted. Well might be not your hotel, if you have bad legs.

Also our room was lovely. Had some old wood and wall tiles visible. And the room was really big. Only complaint is that there was a door leading to next room and it wasn't soundproof. We could hear clearly what other people were talking in normal voice in next room! We were lucky that our neigbours were some pensioners who went to bed earlier than us. So only disturbance was their snoring. :) Would have been a really problem if there would have been some youngster who want to drink and talk late.

Breakfast was one of the best I've had. At first glancve it seemed that there isn't much to eat, but that was false alarm. There is plenty and you even get champange and some schnaps if you like. And I also recommend the restaurant. We had a very nice dinner there.

Room Tip: If there's a door to next room, ask for another room. You might not be as lucky as were were wit...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perttu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Hotel CRU
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

It is a small hotel, situated in the heart of old Tallinn, near the Viru Gates, everything you need to see in the city it's within walking distance. It is a very old building, that makes the charm of this hotel, the rooms, the walls, the narrow corridors and stairs. We loved all of it, the atmosphere of the hotel matches perfectly with the town's, it is like you are back in another time!
The rooms have all the confort you need, the breakfast it's excellent, varied and specific foods, but the best thing about this hotel was the staff, the most kind, polite and helpful staff I have ever met! They gave us the information we needed and more, they made us some box-breakfast to take away when we left very early in one morning for the ferry to Helsinki. We got to know each-other after only one day, this gave us a very nice feeling of welcoming and respect. Thank you, Johann!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel with three families, containing two small children, one teen and six adults. The rooms were spacy and located in different parts of the hotel, where you walked through narrow halls and stairways winding through the old house. Luckily, the pram could stay at the reception. The rooms had everything needed, and some character, on contrary to all the chain hotels you find nowadays everywhere.
Some people complain about the breakfast. We rather liked it. It was served in the smallish but nice restaurant. They serve a great porridge, juices, eggs, bacon, small salmon canapes, cheeses and meats, different breads, fruits, cookies etc. And sparkling wine.

Room Tip: Deluxe double rooms suit well for a three person group.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerjaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I had some trouble deciding, how to rate this hotel. The staff at the reception was friendly, the hotel had a nice atmosphere to it, our room was very nice and the hotel had an excellent location. But the breakfast we were very much looking forward to was a huge disappointment. The space they had for the food was very small and they were constantly out of just about everything. We had to run back and forth so many times to get at least something to eat. Now there's bread, but no butter, the next time you find ham, but no bread etc. When you saw that they were bringing something new, you had to run to get some, because everyone else did so too and within minutes the treys were empty again. Not even the sparkling wine they serve at breakfast helped much - because it took some time before they managed to find glasses for it. The food itself - once you got it - was really tasty. But having to fight for it pretty much killed the mood. Nowhere have I ever seen such a poorly managed breakfast service, and for a 4-star hotel that's really inexcusable. I hope this was just a temporary problem, because everything else was really great at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pikkuaalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria-Elisabeth H, Front Office Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Mr./Mrs./Ms.,

We are really sorry for the inconveniences that you met during your stay in CRU hotel! But we are more than grateful that you share this experience with us!
CRU hotel's mission is to provide our customers with the best service possible. Your feedback gives us an opportunity to study from our mistakes and to improve our skills in this field we work in.
So far there has been a lot of positive feedback about the breakfast in CRU hotel. We use mainly Estonian goods and try to serve them at our best. Our staff is always trained to give their best and to make our customer's stay positively memorable. Therefore we would like to investigate the causes why the breakfast was not correctly served.

We would be truly thankful if it would be possible to reveal the date when this kind of situation took place. It could give us a possibility to understand our weaknesses and to do it better next time.

Once again, we are truly sorry!
Hopefully it will not be the cause we will not meet you again in CRU hotel as there were positive sides as well! We would like to welcome you here again!

Yours faithfully,
CRU hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel, as advertised, is built along and through some medieval wall, which gives the whole building a fascinating character.

Our room is nicely decorated and very warm. Having to enter by descending a few steps from the twisting hallway, and having a tiny "sitting room" down another part-level, overlooking the courtyard, gives the room (7) a character we quickly fell in love with.

The bathroom makes efficient use of a small space, with a good hot shower.

Only criticisms are a small gap down the middle of the 'double' bed and the fact they didn't make it in to clean the room by the time we got back at 4pm on our first day.

The room can be quite light at night & the ventilation is always audible, which was no trouble for us but might be for a "princess"!

Breakfast is unfortunately only average, but with enough choice for anyone to be able to fill themselves up for the day.

We got great value for money here this February!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Undermind_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights 2013/2014. Excellent service and breakfast and also enjoyed a wonderful dinner on New year. Room clean and good spacious bathroom, stayed in room no. 1, not at all noisy. Would recommend hotel to friends and family. Close to town square, good location. Service at hotel commendable, wonderful old merchants house. Ria N - SA

Room Tip: Stayed in room no,1, no complaints, would request room again.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rianagel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Tallinn is a wonderful place for a short break. The people are so nice and the food and drink are reasonably priced. It is also very clean. Tourism is obviously a big business here.
It is a historic city and the museum recalling the Nazi and Russian occupations is a must see.
Our hotel was great. No big-chain experience here. We got upgraded to the top-floor suite and were overlooking the main street. The stairs were a pain, but the view and room were worth it.
We'll be back !

Room Tip: Spend extra on the top-floor suite
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CRU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CRU

Address: Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £77 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel CRU 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Medieval architecture in one of the oldest houses in Tallinn together with first-class service and possibilities create a unique atmosphere which connects with the environment surrounding the hotel. When renovating the house we respected both the initial architecture and the strict national heritage protection requirements that ensure that both the location and design of the hotel rooms is as loyal to the original concept of the house as possible. In 1997 Tallinn Old Town was included in the UNESCO World Heritage list and that can be regarded as the highest international acknowledgement to any historic town! In addition to a usual lodging experience we offer you an exclusive luxurious boutique-type experience, deriving from the unique design of the hotel building and its medieval legacy. Since all the rooms are unique and different from each other, the visitors may choose the intimacy or luxury of their preferred environment. Our breakfast is made of self-made or farm-grown fresh high-quality ingredients that are not so easily, if at all, found in shops. Natural and fresh breakfast is a unique experience that lights up the whole day! On the lower storey of Hotel Cru you will find a cosy and highly regarded restaurant of the same name. Hotel guests enjoy 10% off all items on the restaurant menu. Dmitri Haljukov, the head chef of the restaurant Cru, represented Estonia in the chef olympics final Bocuse d'Or in Lyon 2015. CRU Hotel is a good choice for both - leisure and business trips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel CRU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viru Tallinn
Viru Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing