We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice medieval hotel”
Review of Hotel CRU

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel CRU
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel has a new name now "CRU hotel" .Nice romantic medieval hotel in the heart of Old Tallin. We got room Nr. 15, very cosy with great bed. The hotel is located in the middle of an Old town, but is very quiet inside , we had a great sleep there. Very nice and tasty breakfast ( with sparkling wine).
p.s. small minus: week water flow in the shower ..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ksu6ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

It's my custom to make a list of the pros and cons of a hotel on the day we're checking out so the experience is still fresh in my mind. And if you were to look at my list, you'd wonder why I'm still giving Hotel CRU a positive review. I managed to compile quite a list of minor deficiencies: low ceilings throughout the hotel that make just walking around a bit hazardous (at 6', I'm average height, but I managed to hit my head a couple of times); having to "ring in" at the front door every time you want let in; having to pay for your stay at check-in instead of check-out; the water in the bathroom sink not getting very cold or tasting very good, even with a Brita filter; no air conditioning; a dearth of electrical outlets (I had to unplug the hotel phone just so I could charge my iPhone); and, worst of all, hotel construction noise that we woke up to on two of the three mornings we stayed there. But despite these small inconveniences, my partner and I found the hotel and its staff pleasant and charming. The hotel is in a great, central location; the property is clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated and has that quaint "boutique" feel that you just can't get at one of those big chain hotels; and the customer service is excellent. From the time we checked in--when they graciously and promptly responded to our request to change rooms because the original Standard Room that we'd booked was way too small for two people--to when we checked out--when they offered to comp us the dinner we'd had at the hotel restaurant on our first night due to our complaints about the construction noise--the staff really went above and beyond to accommodate us. Since we ended up walking away with positive feelings about our stay, I'd say this is a case where the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Some of the finer details might have been a bit lacking, but overall it was a fun, unique experience that made our three days in Tallinn all the more memorable.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Superior Room. The Standard Room (at least the one we were offered) was way too sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank briguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Located right in the centre of the old town the Cru Hotel could not be better placed and yet because the hotel goes back away from the road city noise was negligible.

It is a quirky hotel in an old building. Long, dimly lit, corridors with several changes in level (i.e steps) lead to the rooms. Our room (number 7) was squeezed into an awkward space, but big enough, and had a small extra room and a balcony, but the bathroom was tiny. If you are tall or wide be warned! Some people have complained of a sewer smell, our room did have a musty, damp smell, but I soon stopped noticing it so it wasn't that bad. I have to point out that although the noise of the city was not intrusive, the in room minibar has to be the noisiest fridge ever. I thought to begin with it was a truck revving up outside, but, no just the fridge! The other issue I had was with someone else slamming doors throughout the night.

The breakfast was wonderful The hotel has a fine dining restaurant attached, and the quality of food is carried over into the breakfast. Fantastic homemade rye bread, smoked salmon, porridge, assorted fish and cold meats, bacon, scrambled eggs, pastries, small crème fraiche desserts topped with berries, oh and sparkling wine!

Reception was efficient and pleasant and all the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having spent 10 nights in Russia, Tallinn was a great relief as we found the inhabitants consistently friendly, cheerful and helpful. On arrival at the Hotel CRU we were graciously upgraded to a third floor suite, with lovely oak beams and plenty of room to spread out. We didn't sleep that well, however, partly due to the fact that too much light came through the many windows and partly because of the noise coming up from the main street below. The following morning we asked for a 'downgrade' and our room (overlooking the internal courtyard), was both darker and quieter for the next two nights.
The breakfasts were excellent (great home-made bread!) and we also ate one night in the Restaurant Cru - one of the best meals we've had on this trip. If I have a criticism, it is that the staff are just a bit too formal; a bit too reserved. I know this might sound picky but given the ebullience of most of the people we met in Talinn, I feel these guys need to relax a bit and try to act like they are enjoying their job.

Room Tip: Be careful about rooms that overlook Viru Street, particularly if you are there on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel couldn't be situated better. It's right in the center of Old Town. It's also not a long walk from Viru center, so the shops are also near.

Hotel has it's own unique athmosphere as it is an old house. The way to our room was like an adventure for our little girl. We had to take stairs and then go through some corridors and then take some other stairs and onve again go through couple different corridors. It was fun for us adults too, because the corridors were beautifully decorated and lighted. Well might be not your hotel, if you have bad legs.

Also our room was lovely. Had some old wood and wall tiles visible. And the room was really big. Only complaint is that there was a door leading to next room and it wasn't soundproof. We could hear clearly what other people were talking in normal voice in next room! We were lucky that our neigbours were some pensioners who went to bed earlier than us. So only disturbance was their snoring. :) Would have been a really problem if there would have been some youngster who want to drink and talk late.

Breakfast was one of the best I've had. At first glancve it seemed that there isn't much to eat, but that was false alarm. There is plenty and you even get champange and some schnaps if you like. And I also recommend the restaurant. We had a very nice dinner there.

Room Tip: If there's a door to next room, ask for another room. You might not be as lucky as were were wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perttu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

It is a small hotel, situated in the heart of old Tallinn, near the Viru Gates, everything you need to see in the city it's within walking distance. It is a very old building, that makes the charm of this hotel, the rooms, the walls, the narrow corridors and stairs. We loved all of it, the atmosphere of the hotel matches perfectly with the town's, it is like you are back in another time!
The rooms have all the confort you need, the breakfast it's excellent, varied and specific foods, but the best thing about this hotel was the staff, the most kind, polite and helpful staff I have ever met! They gave us the information we needed and more, they made us some box-breakfast to take away when we left very early in one morning for the ferry to Helsinki. We got to know each-other after only one day, this gave us a very nice feeling of welcoming and respect. Thank you, Johann!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel with three families, containing two small children, one teen and six adults. The rooms were spacy and located in different parts of the hotel, where you walked through narrow halls and stairways winding through the old house. Luckily, the pram could stay at the reception. The rooms had everything needed, and some character, on contrary to all the chain hotels you find nowadays everywhere.
Some people complain about the breakfast. We rather liked it. It was served in the smallish but nice restaurant. They serve a great porridge, juices, eggs, bacon, small salmon canapes, cheeses and meats, different breads, fruits, cookies etc. And sparkling wine.

Room Tip: Deluxe double rooms suit well for a three person group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerjaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#12 of 86 in Tallinn
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 86 in Tallinn
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CRU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CRU

Address: Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £70 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel CRU 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Medieval architecture in one of the oldest houses in Tallinn together with first-class service and possibilities create a unique atmosphere which connects with the environment surrounding the hotel. When renovating the house we respected both the initial architecture and the strict national heritage protection requirements that ensure that both the location and design of the hotel rooms is as loyal to the original concept of the house as possible. In 1997 Tallinn Old Town was included in the UNESCO World Heritage list and that can be regarded as the highest international acknowledgement to any historic town! In addition to a usual lodging experience we offer you an exclusive luxurious boutique-type experience, deriving from the unique design of the hotel building and its medieval legacy. Since all the rooms are unique and different from each other, the visitors may choose the intimacy or luxury of their preferred environment. Our breakfast is made of self-made or farm-grown fresh high-quality ingredients that are not so easily, if at all, found in shops. Natural and fresh breakfast is a unique experience that lights up the whole day! On the lower storey of Hotel Cru you will find a cosy and highly regarded restaurant of the same name. Hotel guests enjoy 10% off all items on the restaurant menu. Dmitri Haljukov, the head chef of the restaurant Cru, represented Estonia in the chef olympics final Bocuse d'Or in Lyon 2015. CRU Hotel is a good choice for both - leisure and business trips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel CRU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viru Tallinn
Viru Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing