We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place in the old city of Tallinn”
Review of Hotel CRU

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel CRU
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is a very good location, in the center of the old town and quite close to where the bus from the airport will leave you. It is in a old medieval house, that gives indeed a lot of charm. The issue with that is that one has to go trough very long and small corridors to reach the rooms, plus plenty of stairs. So if you have heavy luggage, this can be an issue. My room was at the end of this labyrinth, and took quite some time to reach. Being in a medieval house, it was indeed nice to leave under the roof, but the lack air conditioning in the summer was quite bad, it became really hot in the night even if the outside temperature was not over 20 degrees. The bathroom was quite small, the shower worked sometimes, and the mirror was in a position that made it impossible to use if you are taller than 150cm.... The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice, but they do not add new things to it during the morning. So, if you arrive there around 10 you will find many things gone, and the ones there look a bit tired. All personnel was really nice and helpful, nothing to say about this. It is a bit annoying that one has to ring at every time to have the door open, while they could make it possible to open for those who have the keys. So in the end I stayed fine for a couple of days, could come back, but not sure for a longer time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria-Elisabeth H, Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Alessandr078,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback!

We are sorry for some details that were not as you expected. We are happy that you have shared your experience with us. Your feedback is important to improve our services!

You are always welcomed back to CRU Hotel!

Best regards,
Maria-Elisabeth Haava

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel Cru is located very conveniently, almost in the heart of the old town. It`s maybe a hundred meters from the old town centre, the Raekoja plats, and the taxi-stand is also very near. Everything went very smoothly at the check in. The lady at the front desk was very helpfull. The building itself is from the 14th century and very nicely decorated. We stayed in a suite which is quite spacious and has a very good/big bed. The room has a medieval feeling and we really enjoyed it. There is no ac in the room, so it was quite hot during the night (visited in late July). We kept the windows open all night and did manage to get a good sleep. One window opens towards the Viru street and it can be quite noisy at night. I think for a light sleeper it would be better to get a room facing the backyard. The breakfast was very good, if the weather is good, do enjoy it in the backyard! Very nice little hotel, will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traweltwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Hotel Cru lies conveniently along the Viru street, in the midst of old-town Tallinn. Complete with a blink-and-you'll-miss-it entrance, the hotel boasts a floor or three with rooms scattered all over the place, each with their own old-school look. Think wooden floors, but with a carpet here and there, a wooden closet to store your shirts and slippers. A nightstand with a minitablet to check what's happening in the city. A bathroom with shower AND the unmistakable Finnish sauna. At least that's what room number 2 boasts of neat features. Oh, and not to forget the awesome winecooler-fridge with all sorts of goodness.
Location is convenient by foot, taxis will not be able to deliver you to the door but walking distance from the taxi-stand is not far at all.
Eateries and bars are only a few footsteps away.
Staff is young and polite, check in/out is painfree.
Beds are big and soft. If you fancy a quiet night ask for a room facing the courtyard/backyard as the Viru street is crammed with party people mostly. Party people make some noise I've learned.
Breakfast is enjoyed in the comfy confides of the restaurant - BUT be aware that the buffet offers small quantities of food at a time. The result, in my case, is an almost empty bowl of scrambled eggs, no butter, little bread.....But if you're patient, the chef will of course make a new batch and the hunger will fade away. Otherwise a tasty breakfast indeed.
Breakfast can also be enjoyed in the backyard, very nice and quiet if you like the romantic aspect of it.
Recommended !

Room Tip: Party people book room number 2. Sleepy people book a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DanKah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The decor of the room is very nice, and once you get to know a bit this gorgeous gothic city, it is nice to know you are in a historical building in the middle of it all as well. My room was really quiet -as required- but it had no air conditioning, which in this exceptionally hot july (29/30º!) was a bit uncomfortable. The bed was very snug, and it was beyond nice to drop on it after a long day walking the delicious streets of the old town or Kadriog área. The breakfast was good and varied, catering for different tastes, and changing a bit from one day to the other. Relatively good priced if compared to similar ones also in the old town, but not a bargain. I would definitively repeat if assured of a fresher weather.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are quiet in my experience, teres a terrace in the narrow courtyard of thew hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TeresaLopez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel has a new name now "CRU hotel" .Nice romantic medieval hotel in the heart of Old Tallin. We got room Nr. 15, very cosy with great bed. The hotel is located in the middle of an Old town, but is very quiet inside , we had a great sleep there. Very nice and tasty breakfast ( with sparkling wine).
p.s. small minus: week water flow in the shower ..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ksu6ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It's my custom to make a list of the pros and cons of a hotel on the day we're checking out so the experience is still fresh in my mind. And if you were to look at my list, you'd wonder why I'm still giving Hotel CRU a positive review. I managed to compile quite a list of minor deficiencies: low ceilings throughout the hotel that make just walking around a bit hazardous (at 6', I'm average height, but I managed to hit my head a couple of times); having to "ring in" at the front door every time you want let in; having to pay for your stay at check-in instead of check-out; the water in the bathroom sink not getting very cold or tasting very good, even with a Brita filter; no air conditioning; a dearth of electrical outlets (I had to unplug the hotel phone just so I could charge my iPhone); and, worst of all, hotel construction noise that we woke up to on two of the three mornings we stayed there. But despite these small inconveniences, my partner and I found the hotel and its staff pleasant and charming. The hotel is in a great, central location; the property is clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated and has that quaint "boutique" feel that you just can't get at one of those big chain hotels; and the customer service is excellent. From the time we checked in--when they graciously and promptly responded to our request to change rooms because the original Standard Room that we'd booked was way too small for two people--to when we checked out--when they offered to comp us the dinner we'd had at the hotel restaurant on our first night due to our complaints about the construction noise--the staff really went above and beyond to accommodate us. Since we ended up walking away with positive feelings about our stay, I'd say this is a case where the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Some of the finer details might have been a bit lacking, but overall it was a fun, unique experience that made our three days in Tallinn all the more memorable.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Superior Room. The Standard Room (at least the one we were offered) was way too sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank briguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Located right in the centre of the old town the Cru Hotel could not be better placed and yet because the hotel goes back away from the road city noise was negligible.

It is a quirky hotel in an old building. Long, dimly lit, corridors with several changes in level (i.e steps) lead to the rooms. Our room (number 7) was squeezed into an awkward space, but big enough, and had a small extra room and a balcony, but the bathroom was tiny. If you are tall or wide be warned! Some people have complained of a sewer smell, our room did have a musty, damp smell, but I soon stopped noticing it so it wasn't that bad. I have to point out that although the noise of the city was not intrusive, the in room minibar has to be the noisiest fridge ever. I thought to begin with it was a truck revving up outside, but, no just the fridge! The other issue I had was with someone else slamming doors throughout the night.

The breakfast was wonderful The hotel has a fine dining restaurant attached, and the quality of food is carried over into the breakfast. Fantastic homemade rye bread, smoked salmon, porridge, assorted fish and cold meats, bacon, scrambled eggs, pastries, small crème fraiche desserts topped with berries, oh and sparkling wine!

Reception was efficient and pleasant and all the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#18 of 86 in Tallinn
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 86 in Tallinn
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CRU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CRU

Address: Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £68 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel CRU 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Medieval architecture in one of the oldest houses in Tallinn together with first-class service and possibilities create a unique atmosphere which connects with the environment surrounding the hotel. When renovating the house we respected both the initial architecture and the strict national heritage protection requirements that ensure that both the location and design of the hotel rooms is as loyal to the original concept of the house as possible. In 1997 Tallinn Old Town was included in the UNESCO World Heritage list and that can be regarded as the highest international acknowledgement to any historic town! In addition to a usual lodging experience we offer you an exclusive luxurious boutique-type experience, deriving from the unique design of the hotel building and its medieval legacy. Since all the rooms are unique and different from each other, the visitors may choose the intimacy or luxury of their preferred environment. Our breakfast is made of self-made or farm-grown fresh high-quality ingredients that are not so easily, if at all, found in shops. Natural and fresh breakfast is a unique experience that lights up the whole day! On the lower storey of Hotel Cru you will find a cosy and highly regarded restaurant of the same name. Hotel guests enjoy 10% off all items on the restaurant menu. Dmitri Haljukov, the head chef of the restaurant Cru, represented Estonia in the chef olympics final Bocuse d'Or in Lyon 2015. CRU Hotel is a good choice for both - leisure and business trips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel CRU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viru Tallinn
Viru Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing