We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel in a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The hotel & staff provided an excellent service from the time I booked a room till our departure. The reservations manager was most helpful supplying information prior to arrival offering suggested restaurants, things to do in Tallinn & airport transport.

I advised the manager it was our Honeymoon & they offered to upgrade our room "Free of Charge". They also had Champagne & Chocolates laid out in our room on arrival.
The bed was decorated with two large red hearts & rose petals!
Something my wife was very touched by.
The bathroom was spotless as you would expect from a fairly new hotel.
The hotel spa is an ideal way to relax after a busy day sightseeing & various treatments are offered from the Spa menu.
The hotel breakfasts were first class offering varied choices from a buffet table & additions on a table menu.
We dined once in the evening at their Flagship restaurant & found the food of excellent quality, although portions were not huge for the prices charged & wine was also in the 5* bracket. This could be partly due to the pound/euro exchange rate.


The hotel is located in the "Old Town" only 100mts from the main square. The area is surrounded by numerous restaurants & shops.
This hotel is also ideally situated to access the Jump On & Off tourist bus.

Having visited Tallinn briefly in the Summer, it was nice to return & see it from a completely different perspective during the Winter. There was still a fair amount of snow piled up at the side of roads & most footpaths were still covered in snow/ice.
Winter wouldn't be a good time to visit for anyone not agile or with any walking disabilities.
This is truely a destination not to miss for a long weekend break & generally has a mild climate during the Summer months.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_H69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    320
    60
    20
    7
See reviews for
195
773
104
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Telegraaf is in the best location in Tallinn. Right in the middle of the Old Town, 100 yards from the town square. It is one of the World's Leading Small Hotels, and deservedly so.

Before arriving, I emailed the hotel with 3 requests. I had an immediate response. Unfortunately one of those requests was not met (no feathers in the room) which was disappointing.

When we arrived, the welcome was very warm. The hotel is not huge, but is also not too intimate - just right for us - anonymity but with the personal touch. We had an executive double (the lowest type) and were very impressed. The bed was absolutely huge and very comfortable, although the pillows really were a let down. The choice was a hard piece of foam, or a huge but very soft pillow. Neither was comfortable.

In the room there was plenty of storage, nice TV, new looking furniture, a lovely seating area, plenty of space. Alas no kettle (but I always bring my own). The minibar was large and reasonably priced EUR3.20 for a coke. Free high speed internet was a huge bonus.

The bathroom looked brand new and the fittings were of high quality. Lovely Elemis toiletries (soap, body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel). Also provided were cotton buds, cotton pads, comb, flannels, sewing kit, tissues. The shower was very high quality, although the temperature was not completely stable. The towels were a bit of a let down, slightly greying and not fluffy. Great bathrobes and slippers though.

The room was very warm, and temperature easy to control. There were also huge French windows to let in plenty of fresh air. Despite the pillows we had three good nights' sleep, in complete silence. Bliss. And lovely to be left alone without anyone bothering us.

The swimming pool is small and on the cold side. Jacuzzi lovely. The whole spa area is really nice, very clean, and we sometimes found we were the only ones there. Now, a word about the treatments - HEAVEN. I have had spa treatments in some of the best spas in the world, and this one ABSOLUTE SPA RITUAL was one of the best I have had. Completely recommended.

The restaurant is another gem. Couldn't fault it. The atmosphere, the service, the food. All perfect. And not expensive. EUR40ish each for the food (three courses, we didn't have wine). We didn't try the breakfast because it wasn't clear whether it was included and we like a lay in. Room service was available but we didn't try it as we thought the service charge was on the high side.

Service was good. We asked for a restaurant recommendation, for pillows to be changed, for taxi to be ordered, for luggage to be kept. All dealt with swiftly no problems.

All in all an excellent hotel. We won't be back because Tallinn is not somewhere I would visit again, but I would happily recommend the Telegraaf.

Other restaurants we went to in the Town Square - Troika (Russian) - loud but great food and Old Hansa (Medieval) - hmmmm. OK, but dark and food was a bit odd. Great experience though.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliaplynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Perfect in all respects. Considering price/value, one of the best hotels I have ever visited. Rooms, service, location, ....everything perfect. One small negative point: I do not like the full carpet on the room's floor (although it was clean).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2011

The hotel is situated in the Old Town which is ideal for sight seeing. The room was big with a nice bathroom and bed and pillows were very comfortable. The leisure suite is also excellent, when we were there it was very quiet so we got the sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and pool almost to ourselves. The food is excellent in the hotel - but fairly expensive - £100 for dinner with a bottle of wine, which is very expensive (starts around £30 per bottle).
Breakfast also very good, but choose from the menu as the buffet can be cold(ish) depending on when you arrive. Staff are very helpful and courteous.
Would certainly book again if I was to revist Tallinn.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JHL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Hotel Telegraaf is not excellent - no, it is perfect. The staff is wonderful, the situation ideal, the breakfast the best you can get with sparkling wine and menu-orders of eggs, porrigde, pancakes. Don't forget to use the Spa facilities and the Elemis Spa treatments, the Absolut Spa ritual knocks you off, the closest to paradise experience you can get on earth. This hotel is calm, elegant, sofisticated, high quality service, everything you need on your days off.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruoholao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This was our third trip to Tallinn and we had a wonderful time again. We always stay at the Telegraaf and it has become one of our favourite hotels.

The things i love about this hotel are:

1. The staff who are polite and speak good English. The waiter we had in the restaurant one evening was fabulous and terrfic fun. He handled my questions perfectly and was very accomodating over menu choices. I was unsure about one part of my main dish before ordering and he checked back that i liked it incase i wanted it changing

2. The hotel restaurant, my husband and i always eat here on one of the nights we stay and the food is incredible. I can recomend the beef fillet, the quail or the salmon trilogy. The food is presented beautifully and the taste is sublime

3. The pool, sauna and steam room are nice for relaxing in and especially on this visit when it was very cold in February the sauna and steam room certainly defrosted my bones

4. The location, right in the centre of the old town and on a very beautiful street

5. The cosmopolitans and apple martini's in the bar. Simply the best. I also like the club sandwich on the bar menu (it has become a habit to have one when we arrive late on our first night)

6. The elemis in your rooms, i do love quality bath products

This hotel is simply fantastic and you really should go visit.

Other places around Tallinn that we have tried and liked (and keep going back to each visit in most cases) include:
1. El Pasha for middle eastern food - beware you will have a lot of garlic
2. Chakra for a wonderful Indian
3. Contravento - which is down a pituresque alley near the hotel, try to go at a weekend though which is busier and has a wonderful atmosphere. If you want pizza be aware that on some weekdays they don't do it before 6pm
4. Le Bonaparte - the french onion soup is to die for and it's perfect for afternoon tea and cakes

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmoSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Just come back for a 3 night-stay at the Telegraaf. The hotel made an excellent impression thanks to the courteous and professional service received from impeccably trained staff. We were upgraded to a suite and enjoyed the spacious and comfortable rooms with magical views of the Tallinn skyline and our private sauna. We appreciated the bowl of fruit on arrival and the peaceful atmosphere of this immaculately clean and classy hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kotekCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing