We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Just come back from a 4 day trip to Tallinn.
Chose this hotel because of the great reviews and they were spot on.
Couldn't get a better location, friendly service and lovely room - we even made it to the steam room and jacuzzi.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

Absolutely amazing hotel in the middle of the old town. A combination of modern and traditional. Friendly staff, a small but indeed delightful indoors swimming pool with glass ceiling, spa facilities. Excellent breakfast. The Symphony lounge, where you can have a drink in quiet next to a fireplace (when it is not booked for private functions) was fabulous.
We went there for our wedding anniversary and we loved every minute of it!
Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed at the Telegraaf hotel over the Easter period. We found the hotel excellent in every way. The location, rooms. breakfast and Spa were all superb. Our room was on the 6th floor and lacked some light but when we contacted the desk staff we were moved to a brighter room on the 5th floor. We found the staff very helpful and polite, especially Helen who looked after us at breakfast time with lots of lovely coffee! She was so pleasant and charming as were all the staff. The breakfasts were fantastic and really set us up for the day. Ask for the pancakes with bacon and syrup. The main square was a 2 minute walk and everything else was close at hand. One of the previous reviews mentioned that the pillows were not up to standard. We found this to be at variance with the facts- the pillows were absolutely fine and the bed was extremely comfortable. The spa was brilliant at the end of a day spent walking for miles and it was a great place to relax and read. We would definately stay here again and would like to return to see Tallinn in the snow.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustJames88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed in Tallinn for a long weekend in April 2011. It's a great destination if you want a European city short break.

Hotel Telegraaf does everything to a high standard. The staff training is exemplary; they could not be more helpful, welcoming and professional. The furnishings and decoration are modern and attractive.

The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of the old town, but in a quiet street. Having heard mixed reports about the food in Tallinn, we were very pleasantly surprised to find four very good restaurants within 100m of the front door, all recommendations from our tour guide. We only had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, Tschaikovsky, but that was amongst the very best we have had anywhere. Whilst the hotel room rate (through hotel.com) was very reasonable, the evening menu in Tchaikovsky seemed pretty expensive, compared to some of the excellent food to be had in the vicinity.

We had a room on the top floor of the old part of the hotel (which was the original telegraph office). It was of reasonable size, and very well appointed. The bathroom was top-notch. For the same rate, our friends had a much smaller room in the new wing. My recommendation is that you ask for a room in the old wing, if available.

Whilst there is a pool, it is so small that realistically only one person can swim in it at a time. Any more and it's OK for a paddle, but not much more. There are only 6 poolside beds, so at busy times you need to be quick to get one. The addition of a small gym would be a welcome addition to a hotel of this standard.

As for the old city itself, there is no traffic, no litter, no drunken louts (although we have heard that stag 'dos' go there) and no graffiti. A pleasure to walk around, day or night.

To sum up, Hotel Telegraaf is an almost perfect hotel in a beautiful city. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the old wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Popsarmcahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The hotel's location is so good if you want to stay at old town, almost right next to old town square. The hotel itself has charming elegant character. And the restaurant's terrace is just lovely during Summertime, on good weather. We were staying at the best suite, I think, which was really spacious. The bath and private sauna were so nice! Only things to complain were livingroom's bit worn out furniture, and somewhat dark atmosphere with smallish windows.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirklandgirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This was my 3rd stay , this year , at this magnificent hotel.
And each time I leave I allredy start to plan the next stay at The Telegraaf .

Everything is perfect, the buildning, the suites/rooms, the public spaces, the spa and the Tchaikovsky restaurant and of course what makes a good hotel the best, the personnel and they are all fantastic.

Thank You again and I´ll/we be back....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HauntedHouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

If I went back to Tallin, I would not think about looking for a different hotel. The hotel is a great deal and very nice. Location is perfect. Really nice breakfast too. Friendliness of staff was the only possible aspect that could be improved, but that may be more cultural than anything else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen9788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £106 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing