We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We arrived at Telegraaf at 6am. Obvioiusly, room wasn't ready for check in which is usually in the afternoon. Reception took our bags, made us coffee and gave us passes to use the spa while we waited. After that we had a wonderful breakfast on the terrace. By this time, it was 10am, and our room was ready!

Location was fantastic. We stepped out to be in the middle of the action.
Service was fantastic. There was always someone looking to help us with anything, even before we could ask. Laundry service was quicker than promised. Concierge was helpful for making reservations etc. at local places.

Suggestion to hotel: Would have been nice to have breakfast served till 11am, as people tend to sleep in a bit when they're on vacation. We could not enjoy the included breakfast for this reason.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theviraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    311
    60
    20
    7
See reviews for
190
760
104
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The service at Hotel Telegraaf was second to none. The young staff employed here are supurb. We had booked a double room and were given a twin room and the room we had was extremely disappointing. We were housed in the new section on the top floor. We endured 4 sleepness nights due to the inadequate window shades and the long twilights and very bright sunrises!
I did request a room change but this proved to be impossible due to a "full house"

Room Tip: Request a room in the old section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

The hotel is in a great location and felt very cosy even with 80+ rooms. We had a superior room at the front of the hotel on fifth floor, which lacked only drawer space (we converted the service cabinet instead) and blackout curtains - it stays light until after 11pm and the sun is up again in the early hours at this time of year - so take your eyeshades as front faces east. However, the room was clean, comfortable and airy and overall, facilities were really good with husband particularly enjoying the pool.

The service was however, disappointing. There were plenty of staff on reception and in the restaurant, but no-one seemed to be running the ship - as a consequence, service was inconsistent - out of five breakfasts, we were seated by waiting staff at two which meant trying to catch an eye to get a pot of coffee on the other three. I waited twenty minutes one morning for pancakes which had not actually been ordered. Only cold plates were available for cooked breakfasts. We sat at the bar one evening for five minutes whilst two staff passed us on the way to something else, waiting for service and when I went to reception to ask where the barman was, they contacted him by phone as he was in a room behind the bar, rather than out front. During the entire stay, there was no turn down service and we passed a room service tray several times that had been on the floor for well over twelve hours.

On their own, none of the above warranted a complaint, but cumulatively that lack of attention to detail in a five star hotel just took the edge off of the stay. It just felt as though a visible hand on the tiller was lacking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinkyBoo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelierTallinn, Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel here on www.tripadvisor.com . Guest comments, whether they are positive or negative, are considered as very important as we can use them to motivate, but also to train our staff better for our future guests.
Unfortunately you have not mentioned the precise date of your stay, which makes it very difficult for me to do a proper follow-up. Would you mind to send me an email with your name, arrival- and departure date to michael.stenner@telegraafhotel.com , please?
Of course, the mentioned shortcomings can not be accepted and I fully agree with your point of view.
Let me assure you that I really feel sorry for the negative experience and I do apologize for this. But in order to ensure that it will not happen again, I need to know some more details.
I also would like to motivate you to inform me directly if you ever intend to return to Tallinn.
Kind regards,

Michael JJ Stenner
-General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

the hotel has an excellent location in the old town, and in a quiet area too. the decor is very smart and stylish and the rooms are large, well furnished and very comfortable. the food is really good and the staff are pleasant and responsive.

so what's the problem?

our first night was on the top floor of the new wing - 614. the rooms are a little smaller than beneath, but that is not really a problem. the problem is the window - at this level the rooms are "room in the roof" style, and there is a dormer window. as these are difficult to fit curtains to, there are blinds. but these don't keep the light out and we found it very difficult to sleep as it gets light exceptionally early!

in fairness when we asked to be moved they did arrange a different room, and it was all done in an efficient and friendly manner. however as we were checking out we noted someone else at reception complaing about the same issue!

so if you like a dark room to sleep in be careful where you are allocated, but apart from that this really is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: try to avoid the top floor of the rear block
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClunkNebbermorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We loved our 3 nights at Hotel Telegraaf. The location in Tallinn couldn't be better for enjoying old town. We were able to walk from the Viking Ferry terminal, although we took a taxi to our early morning ferry on the return.

We appreciated wifi in the room. The staff was responsive to our requests. Beds were very comfortable but we didn't like the special pillows. Maybe we should have asked for others. The "pillow menu" didn't make it clear.

For 2 nights we had a small, charming room in the old wing overlooking Vene for 215E/nt (incl breakfast). For our last night we were moved to a room in the new wing overlooking an inside courtyard. We were surprised how much we preferred the newer room. It was much more spacious, with more effective blackout curtains & 30E less per night.

Breakfast in the Tchaikovsky dining room was very good. The 1st night we had dinner in the Tchaikovsky restaurant. It was one of the 2 best meals we'd had in our month of traveling.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wadfad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

My son and I arrived on 12/31/10 to spend a few days in Tallinn, especially to celebrate New Year's Eve at the opera house. The trip was magical in every way. The hotel is superb; the staff is charming and helpful. And Tallinn is delightful. Even the cold weather was friendly -- and considering that my son and I live in Brazil, that's saying something. Summing up, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

We really enjoyed the Hotel Telegraaf. The staff were always extremely friendly, and the room was pretty and quiet. I enjoyed the fast, free Internet in the lobby. Even though we didn't eat dinner at the hotel (probably a mistake, since the breakfast was so good), it was fun to walk by and hear the pretty classical music in the dining room. The hotel was in a really good location for seeing the sights in old Tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing