We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with comfortable atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel with comfortable atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I do not have many opportunities to spend my nights in a five star hotel, but this hotel had a quite reasonable price (I paid around € 135 per night for two persons including breakfast). The location is perfect, in the middle of old town Tallinn. The hotel has a very nice atmosphere, feels comfortable and friendly and is a nice place for couples (romantic weekend) or business. Staff is very professional, efficient and friendly and they speak excellent English. I can imagine someone might expect a bit larger room, but for us it was very fine. Decoration, furniture, bed and lighting was all perfect and it is lovely that you have free wifi (as almost everywhere in Estonia). I loved the breakfast and you can order your own style of egg (I am in love with Egg Royal: poached egg on salmon). The spa is pleasant with good decoration. It could be a bit small when it is busy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfd_groningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    336
    62
    21
    8
See reviews for
208
800
112
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have visited this hotel on numerous occasions and we can highly recommend it. The old town of Tallinn never ceases to amaze us with all its history and, to have a hotel like the Telegraaf, right in the middle, is an added bonus.
All rooms are very well appointed as you expect from a hotel of such standing. We prefer the rooms in the older part as they have plenty of atmosphere and are not just the more modern type you could expect in any hotel in a capital city.These older rooms have wooden floors, so it may not suit everyone however. The more modern rooms in the new wing are fully carpeted and are very comfortable. Bathrooms are well equiped and the hotel provides the luxurious brand of Elemis as the bathroom accessories.
The Spa although not over large, is lovely, with a small swimming pool, jacuzzi , sauna and steam room. There is also a beauty salon which offers a varity of treatments (at an additional cost)
English is spoken throughout and all the staff are always extremely helpful and friendly.
Food is exceptional and the buffet breakfasts are very varied. Speciality cooked dishes can also be ordered at breakfast at no extra cost.
The hotel has its own walled terrace garden and its own private covered car parking, which must be almost unique for any other building in the old part of Tallinn.
As we will soon have relatives living in Tallinn, we will always use this hotel on our visits there.

Room Tip: Rooms in Older Part have more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Woodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have recently returned from a delightful stay in the Hotel Telegraaf in Tallinn. We were delighted with the accommodation, and all of the staff were polite, pleasant and eager to please us.

Special mention must be made of the Restaurant Tchaikovsky which was nothing short of superb.

The hotel is very well situated which made it easy for us to access all of the popular sites around the town.

If I think about any downside to the Hotel, I would only make 2 comments - I would have like to have had tea and coffee making facilities in our room. It was a shame that there were none there, and secondly, I personally would have liked the hotel to have a gym or at least gym equipment in the Spa area. I appreciate that space is at a premium, but I was a little disappointed that there was no treadmill or exercise equipment available. However, these are small setbacks in what was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Spent 3 nights here during a cold, snowy Easter. The hotel is modern and located on a quiet main street, a short walk from the centre of the old town. Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed and a bathroom with a bath. There is free wifi and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. On the downside, the spa area is fairly small and only has a few loungers which quickly fill up. The dining room also struggled to cope with the numbers of people during breakfast. However, these were only minor niggles and we had a great time exploring the city and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psandps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

a very nice location, the rooms are good but a little smaller than the pictures shown in the web page.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syympa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Have stayed here on three separate occasions over the 18 months – the primary reason being for its location in the old town as opposed to alternative ‘business’ Hotels outside this area. There are some small negatives to this decision however the basics are all in place: Decent sized table for working with power points within reach (so many Hotels presume you travel with extension leads!), Wi-Fi access throughout and free! and adequate room lighting (main room only, the bathroom lighting is very poor). However this is not a business Hotel as such and other advantages from a 5* tourist hotel are on offer: Friendly professional staff, character rooms (superior type), excellent food. The Hotel offers a Spa however I did not try this. In general rooms are smaller than average however this is the price paid for a Hotel bang in the middle of the Old Town, rooms do vary in size. Only complaint would be the poor lighting in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed in March 2012 for 4 nights.

We loved this place. Me and my partner booked in after having seen the reviews. We paid for the cheapest room and tried not to get too excited. But the hotel, and the room, exceeded our expectations. The spa was lovely - the pool isn't huge but this was never a problem.

The main town hall square is just round the corner - less than 5 minutes walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke brilliant English. The breakfasts were great (including pancakes :) ) Have been recommending the hotel, and the city, to everyone since we got home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 85 in Tallinn
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 85 in Tallinn
2,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing