We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfrogettable STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unfrogettable STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Modern luxury behind a traditional facade in a fairy old town .Perfect location a mere 5 min walk from square .The staff was very friendly and courteous .Overall one of the best hotels to stay.It is well maintained place .Lovely warm breakfast but a suggestion to them need more varieties for vegetarians .

Room Tip: 5 floor rooms ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shubha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    321
    60
    20
    7
See reviews for
196
774
104
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stylish modern luxury behind a traditional facade in a fairy tale old town setting. Staff spoke excellent English and were both friendly and efficient. Spa and pool (though rather small) very well maintained and welcome after a day sightseeing. Breakfast was ok, but dinner in the restaurant was superb. Overall one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and very reasonably priced. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DARTFORD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Telegraaf for 2 nights on August 24th 2012 and had a great time. The hotel was perfectly positioned, turn right and it’s a mere 5 minute walk from the town hall square, Our room on the 5th floor was lovely, it was quiet, the bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was exceptional (apart from it’s lack of bath towels, they only supply what could be best described as large hand towels, sadly there was a translation issue when we asked the maid for a bath towel, “big” towel, “large” towel, etc, complete with a demo of drying ourselves, so in the end, we just gave up asking !). Breakfast was very nice with enough variety & the waiting staff very friendly, as were the bar staff supplying our “one for the road”. We would recommend this hotel due to it’s central location & felt that it was value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjHomeAndAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is in a brilliant position in the old town - we popped back for a rest, drink etc. The staff were friendly and very helpful and breakfast was really good - one morning it was lovely and warm and breakfast was available in the garden. Initially we were allocated a double room (we had asked for a twin) - this room was very small and overlooked a wall! When we complained staff were very helpful and we were then given another room in the new part of the hotel which was much bigger with a sofa and chair at one end and a view out the back of the hotel of trees, back yards and roofs (I think we were upgraded - just as well as I don't think the smaller room was value for money). The room was quiet (except Saturday night when you could hear music until about 3a.m. but because we were on the 5th floor the music was distant and didn't really bother us). The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom large and clean. The swimming pool was beautiful but small and the whirlpool lovely and relaxing. We chose times when we thought they would be empty and it was fine but if there were more than 6 people in the pool it would be very crowded! We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Higher up is probably better and new part probably better too. Make sure you are not allocated a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We would like to thank for the special treatment at Telegraaf hotel in Tallinn old town. Our room was upgraded to suite which was spacious and elegant. The bottle of champagne, red roses and strawberries covered with chocolate were waiting us in the room. In addition nice views to the old town from the windows. Only good words to the restaurant and room service! Thank you for the excellent time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrim107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

After reading loads of praising reviews from tripadvisor, I have to say that Telegraaf didn't quite meet the expectations. Location is central but very crowded. Staff was polite but not at all attentive, as one would expect on a 5 star hotel. Our room was on the 6th floor and very nicely decorated. Breakfast was among the best ones I've had in a hotel, so make sure to try it. With the current price level I wouldn't come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tebessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Guest, dear tripadvisor’s „Tebessa“

Thank you for the time you took to write your review on the Hotel Telegraaf on tripadvisor.

Our guest’s reviews and comments are important to us, we read and evaluate them in detail and use them for our internal training schedule as well as for motivational measures.
So thank you for your comments ! Much appreciated !

It was good to read that you liked the decor of the room as well as our breakfast: Thank you !

My concerns are raised when I read about the „unattentive service“, yet I am pleased my colleagues were polite.
In order to be most thorough, precise and effective in our re-training measures, please allow me to ask if you could share an example(s) with me. That would be most helpful and greatly appreciated.
Please kindly send your possible reply to irmela.heinsius@telegraafhotel.com. Thank you, much obliged !

You are also commenting on the central location of the hotel being crowded: during the summer months when travellers such as yourself are most active any sought after destination such as Tallinn is more crowed than during other times. It would be our pleasure to show and guide you through Tallinn during the winter months; eg in December you will find the streets not filled with people, yet there is e.g. a Winter / Christmas Market on the Town Square with nice goodies ready to be bought as Christmas presents for your loved ones.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to hearing from you,
With best wishes and kind regards

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Hotel Telegraaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel is absolutely fantastic. The room was not that big, but the beds were very comfy and it was so quiet! Good night sleep guaranteed. We took a look at the spa but did not have the time to use it.

The breakfast was good (althought not exceptional) and the staff very friendly.

Only issue we came across was a member of the front desk staff. Both upon our check-in and check-out this russian lady was at the best impolite and at worst very rude. Have not had such a bad service in three star hotels, not alone in five star properties. Other than this I can hihgly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken to share your comments on trip advisor about your stay here at the Hotel Telegraaf !!

I was very happy to read that you had a good night’s rest and a good sleep ! Also your comments about the breakfast are a happy read !
Thank you !

For the unsatisfactory service received through our Reception I can only offer my sincere apologies which I hope you will accept.
I have already spoken to our Front Office Manager to speak to her staff to be more alert and attentive to all of our guests and to work to – and even above – the five star standards they have been trained.
Yet in order to be most thorough and effective in our re-training initiatives could I kindly ask you to please share our shortcomings in a bit more detail with me? I thank you.
Please kindly address your possible reply to Irmela.heinsius@telegraafhotel.com

I do thank you again for your comments, and should your travels bring you back to the beautiful city of Tallinn it would be my pleasure to welcome you back here to the Hotel Telegraaf, and we hope that this will be in the not too distant future.

With my very best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Hotel Telegraaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing