We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Telegraaf was the perfect place to stay to enjoy all that old town Tallinn has to offer. The staff was helpful and friendly, and our room was large and nicely appointed. The hotel was nice and quiet also. It is located just a couple of minute's walk from the old town square, so everything in the old town is very close by. In the late afternoon we enjoyed a glass of wine in the lovely summer garden courtyard. We were not able to have the included breakfast as we only stayed for one night and we had an early flight, but the hotel was very accommodating and packed us a breakfast box to go.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizab2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,720)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Telegraaf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a great hotel in a perfect location to see this fabulous city. Everything you would want to see and do is right outside your door. Our room was a little smaller than we would have liked, but it was clean and quite comfortable. Be aware that there is noise from the hall when doors to other rooms close if the other guests are not carefuly about closing the door quietly. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is small with a very intimate feel. The streets in the Old Town can be quite busy with all of the tourist traffic, but the minute you walk inside the hotel, all is peaceful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friscobased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

At the Telegraaf, it was love at first sight. We ducked into the hotel from the tourist-lined streets of old town into the dazzling and welcoming lobby. Once we checked in, we went straight to our room—a retreat with full-length windows that looked out onto a courtyard and had an old world view of Renaissance roofs and a church steeple. It was elegant, cozy, charming, and very functional. The room had absolutely everything we needed and more. Although another hotel claims to have heavenly beds, the beds at the Telegraaf are divinely-inspired. Each night, we would sink into their firm softness, pull up the satiny duvets, settle into our feathery pillows and drift into deep slumber.

We'd awaken to the bountiful breakfast feast that awaited us downstairs. The buffet included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, mushrooms, a full selection of pastries, sweet ripe berries and watermelon, and an assortment of smoked fish. You can also special order eggs and omelets, if you're in the mood for an egg of a different sort. The wait staff served up personal ceramic pots of coffee to each patron. And, in nice weather, don't overlook the patio. It took us two days of eating in the white-linen dining room before we noticed that we could eat outside. If the patio is a bit chilly, request a blanket to throw around your shoulders. We thought this practice was funny at first, having never seen this done in the U.S., but we grew attached to the blanket accompaniment, wanting to enjoy the patio when the temperatures dipped below our comfort zone.

The Telegraaf has nooks and crannies that are worth exploring. There's an opera reading room with comfy chairs and classical music to escape to if you've had enough of the throngs of cruisers, buskers, and pushy restaurateurs in old town. I never saw anyone use this room, so it's perfect for a little solo time--reading, meditating, regrouping, and retreating from travel companions. The pool is its own oasis, replete with lush plants, chaise lounges, and a whirlpool. Here you feel miles away from the hustle and bustle of floppy-hatted, camera-toting tourists who’ve poured off cruises and flooded Tallinn's Old Town town for the day.

Do yourself a favor; stay at the Telegraaf. And tell them I sent you. No, I don’t get a kick-back--
just pleasure in knowing that someone else is basking in the affordable luxury of the Telegraaf.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timmytink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My partner and I very much enjoyed our stay at this elegant and characterful hotel just a short stroll from Raekoja Plats and the visitor attractions, restaurants and cafes of the Old Town. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is the option of dining at the very smart Restaurant Tchaikovsky.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemePurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

One immediately understands why this attractive hotel is consistently rated so highly. Our room was spacious, tastefully furnished and had very nice views. Thanks to the comfortable beds and quiet location, we slept soundly. The staff were friendly, efficient and attentive. For example, on arrival, we were warmly greeted by the manager, a first for us! On our first evening, we had dinner in the hotel's restaurant Tchaikovsky. The lovely room, impeccable service and excellent dishes were nicely complemented by the music of an accomplished string trio. A bit expensive, to be sure, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kengj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you want to be in the heart of historic Tallinn and literally reside in a historic landmark, this hotel fits the bill. Our room was on the smaller side on the second floor, facing the street. It had high ceilings but the black floor was a bit different, easy to see your belongings but also dirt, etc. There was a nice window that you could open up. Word of caution though, if you open the window and look out, keep in mind that there are tourists on the street below taking pictures of this majestic, large building. You may be included in those pictures, so dress appropriately and smile too :) Or, request a room higher up. There are nice amenities, really appreciated the bottled water (highly recommended not to drink the water in the Baltics), and the yummy chocolate left on the pillow. The bathroom was smaller than expected and the shower was next to the window, so again make sure to keep the shade drawn appropriately. Apart from the fabulous location, the breakfast buffet was quite extensive and varied, it was hands down excellent. This property has a beautiful outdoor restaurant area, so if you have time to dress up and do a high-end dinner outside, it looked like a lovely option. We passed by the restaurant on our way out and there were violinists playing for the diners, which was such a lovely treat to hear. As for the staff, people at the front were polite and helpful with our requests for directions, etc. In sum, if you are looking for a lovely, historic property in the heart of old Tallinn, this is one location you should definitely consider.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worlditraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

When staying at a 5 star hotel, you except high standard and we got a high standard hotel. But often at 5 star hotels, the service can be very impersonal. At Telegraaf the receptionist were efficient and gave a warm impression. The waiters in the breakfast restaurant were mostly young and a bit inexperienced. The restaurant is just lovely, the breakfast it self was good, but we would have liked a more attentive personal there.
The black interior of the hotel is very interesting. We had a superior room and I was told it should be in the old building (they have a newer building with a pretty ugly exterior as well). But we got a room on the upper floor, and we later understood that this floor is a new floor built on the top of the old building. The rooms on the new floor do just have a small "prison like" window. If we had understood that at once, we would have asked for a new room. A room with a black interior and a small window do get a bit dark.
But despite these minor dislikes we did enjoy our two nights at Hotel Telegraaf. The location is ideal in the middle of the lovely old town and most of the hotel is luxurious.

Room Tip: Try a superior room, but not at the 6th floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
2,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
911 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £100 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing