We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value Location Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Value Location Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

All I can do is agree with the previous reviews.

The Hotel Telegraph was an excellent choice.

Extremely comfortable, extremely efficent and in a wonderful location.

The pool and spa are an added bonus.

Tip: After you've had your fill of the old town, try and visit the Kumu Museum for a taste of modern Estonia

  • Liked — The overall quality of all aspects of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing of any note
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    312
    60
    20
    7
See reviews for
191
764
104
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

This hotel is certainly one of our favorites. Even from our e-mail communication, Karin, the reservations manager, was extremely friendly and helpful, and promptly answered in just a couple of hours all our requests. On arrival, we were greeted by the front office manager, which was again kind and friendly. We had the Popov suite, on the 6th floor. The suite was very nice, with a spacious living room with a meeting table, a big bedroom and an excellent bathroom, with its own private sauna. Considering the price we paid, which was equivalent of a room in a 3-4star hotel in other capitals, the value for money was tremendous. And its location right by market square was extremely convenient. Highly reccomended.

  • Liked — Everyhing.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greece4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

Telegraaf is an upscale and quite chic hotel. The spa is nice. The swimming pool is clean, small, sweet. The staff is courteous. A nice, upscale place to stay if you want to splurge. Three Sisters is a nice "sister" hotel; although I did not stay there, it is also supposedly quite nice.

  • Liked — room decor
  • Disliked — staff was kind but a bit clueless about amenities that were in fact quite good
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saraNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

If you want to taste the old telecommunication style, stay in Telegraaf. All the old phones seems to work. Excellent staff, restaurant and service. Big suprise: room with air condition which is not noisy at all. The restaurant and even breakfast is better than expected, even I expected a lot of this hotel.
Try the SPA treatments, the staff is very well trained. I also liked of locations, nice walking distance from harbour. There seems to be nice restaurants around this hotel, unfortunately not time to try. Perhaps next time.

  • Liked — Spa and location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaVane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

We looked at many hotels in Tallinn and wanted to stay within the old city walls.

Hotel Telegraaf is an excellent hotel. We booked our stay on Expedia. I contacted the hotel with our confirmation number and asked if they could pick us up from the ferry: the answer "No problem".

The driver was great, and the Staff throughout our 4-night stay was fantastic!

The hotel is very well designed to every last detail. The beds were comfortable and the service closet for shoeshine, laundry and room service was a great amenity (see picture).

In Room Service Closet: From the room you place the necessary item, i.e. Laundry and from the hall way the staff picks up and delivers without disturbing you. You are notified the items are returned by a light within your room.

We visited the pool and spa for a few laps and then a soak. Note: this is the only hotel within the city walls to offer both parking and a pool.

The breakfast is in the well-designed Tchaikovsky restaurant with quite a big selection of items. Overall the Hotel Telegraaf is a great example of a boutique luxury hotel.

We are very happy to write this recommendation for all to read and please enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Liked — The hotel - everything
  • Disliked — The pillows(feathered)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kmarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

Tallinn was very quiet when we visited. Glad we had checked out this hotel on Expedia. The reviews were excellent and we were not disappointed. The young, helpful english speaking staff at The Telegraaf were very ready to help answer any questions. Everything in the room was neat, tidy and of good quality. Breakfast was nothing outstanding but no complaints. A very good location for getting to see all you want in the Old Town

Tip: Check out the cost of the taxi from the airport first before you get in the taxi!!! . We didn't and got ripped off by a sullen Ex Russian Estonian taxi driver who did not like the EU or tourists and charged us twice what he should? Apart from that, we were delighted with our trip. There is plenty on offer by way of good restaurants in the old city. I am however pleased we visited low season as I am sure in the height of the summer it would not have been quite the same.

Julia. Oxford.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank kootenaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2008

I had an enjoyable and memorable experience at this hotel. It was perfect for a two-night stay. The location of this hotel is ideal if you plan to explore the Old City of Tallinn. The service provided at this hotel is kind and generous, but not intrusive or excessive. The decor is tasteful, the indoor pool and sauna clean and relaxing. The restaurant also offers above-average food at average prices.

  • Liked — The location is outstanding.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelin_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing