We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice weekend stay at the Telegraaf”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Kerava, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice weekend stay at the Telegraaf”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Telegraaf hotel is a high quality hotel and the athmosphere is very friendly and helpful. We got very good service at the breakfast. The breakfast selection was good and sufficient but not great compared to other Scandinavian hotels. Location of the hotel is very good and there are nice cafés and shops close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lene67424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    320
    60
    20
    7
See reviews for
194
773
104
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Location is great, young staff are extremely helpful, the room we stayed in was fantastic and the breakfasts have everything I could imagine anyone wanting, including the complimentary champagne! We arrived at 23:30 and enjoyed every minute from then on. Do yourself a favour and stay here when in Tallinn.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmell_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

From the quality of the booking process to the cleaning staff this is one classy hotel.
We also celebrated an anniversary at the restaurant, and was truly impressed. Juri and his team were attentive and helpful in selections.
The hotel is central, so there are plenty of other eating options.
Worth every euro charged

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Hotel Telegraaf alone is worth a trip to Tallinn. Location could not be better. It is in the very heart of the Old Town of Tallinn, and everything is within a short walking distance.
The Hotel itself is more than charming. The rooms are very nicely decorated, the staff is friendly and forthcoming, and the Hotel Director, Irmela, will make sure that everything goes way past beyond expectations.
We (3 hard working women from Paris) went on a weekend trip, and stayed 2 nights. Our room was very cozy and tasteful. Everybody was helpful and accommodating, wanting us to have the best experience. Everything is right around the corner. There couldn't be a better location. The Hotel Staff takes pride in their work, and their vocation is to make your stay a worthwhile memory. The rooms are light and spacious. The Spa has a great little pool, and if you have the time, you should definitely try one of their Facial Treatments. The Hotel Bar is a perfect place for a drink before going out, or a nightcap when coming back... their wines are tastefully selected. The Restaurant (called Tchaikovsky) is the first and best restaurant in town. The staff is very attentive, the wine-list is what you would expect from a a high class establishment, and the food is so delicious and well presented that you will want to "stay in" every night... and if you are lucky enough to have Yuri as your head waiter, you will spend a most memorable meal. All of us travel a lot, none of us knew what to expect... we all left the Hotel Telegraaf with the intention to come back soon and re-live this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henriette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Telegraaf is the best hotel in Tallinn old town. It's a beautiful old building boasting period character with modern fittings. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful (they quickly arranged a last minute car rental for us - with a competitive rate). Make sure you try the restaurant, Tchaikovsky - one of my all-time favourite tasting menus and great wine pairings as well. We've stayed in Tallinn a few times now and Telegraaf is certainly a favourite - if you love boutique hotels with character and great service, this is the a great choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior Room which is absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpine1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We used our flight miles to purchase a room in the hotel. The reservation was easy and the person replying was very polite. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a young woman at the front desk who was not that polite. The room we were given was very average, not a 5 star, not even close. The room was old and small and we heard people talking upstairs even though the hotel bragged about being very silent. We asked the front desk if we could change rooms as we were not happy with ours and the noise was bothering us. The reply was that "Estonian people often talk very loudly and also play music loud". We were not given another room and we were only recommended to let the front desk know if the noise would continue after 11 pm...The breakfast buffet in the morning was ok, some pretty basic food in a crowded breakfast area. The staff at the breakfast was polite and helpful. I would say though, that in 5-star hotel, I would expect that there would be a host showing free tables and that coffee shouldn't have to be asked separately. If I compare this hotel to other 4- or 5-star hotels I have been to, this was not close the their standards. Location is very convenient though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Business trips often don't give the chance to really review a hotel but I can't fault the Hotel Telegraaf.
The room was great, even if I was in a small room but fine for what I needed. I didn't use the spa or the restaurant so I can't really comment on those.
The reason for not using the restaurant was simply that I was staying after a long year of travelling and I was fed up of "fancy" food, and the menu was definitely fine dining. From those in the know its one of the top restaurants in Tallinn.
As with all top hotels the service was flawless.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing