We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 1 hotel in Tallinn”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“No 1 hotel in Tallinn”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in early November and thought it was absolutely first class. We have stayed in many fine hotels across the world and the Telegraaf compares with many of them.

It is in a great location just a few steps from the central old town hall square, so easy to walk to all the main sites and huge choice of restaurants and bars.

The hotel is modern and chic and spotlessly clean in both the public areas and the rooms. The spa is wonderful to relax in with the sauna and steam room and added bonus. We only used the restaurant for breakfasts and would agree with previous reviews that the standard and choices were excellent.

All the staff at the hotel were excellent - very friendly and very professional - so i really cant understand the previous bad review from the person from Holland - must have been staying at a different Hotel Telegraaf than the one we stayed in !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandkarenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review here on Tripadvisor on the Hotel Telegraaf.

As you might have read in our replies to other reviews, we take all our reviews seriously; they are being reviewed, shared, discussed. And used for motivational and / or training purposes.

In any case, they do not go unnoticed !

And we also read your review on Monday morning, and we would just quickly like to thank you for your kind words: what a great way to start ones working week !

Thank you.

My colleagues and I are already looking forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel Telegraaf if and when your travel plans bring you back to our beautiful hanseatic city of Tallinn !

With best wishes

Irmela Heinsius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    328
    60
    20
    8
See reviews for
199
781
108
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 and the Telegraf was the prefect location for a short break. The garden was serene and served brilliant cocktails during early evening. Our room was comfy, clean and chic. The pool and spa was ideal for a couple of days but it's the breakfast that sets this place apart. Don't be shy about asking for champagne, it's there for all! They also do eggs Benedict to order. Stay here, it's wonderful

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMarsh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We expected a lot from this hotel and were really disappointed. The best thing is its location, right in the center of Tallin. Hotel entrance is dark, they kept the marble floors of the original telegraph building and the décor is all black. Furniture is scratched, dented and dinged all throughout the hotel.

The room was tiny as was the wardrobe, and really dirty. The surfaces both in the room and bathroom were not only dusty they were dirty, and the carpet stained. Dust bunnies drifted across the corridor for the length of our stay.

One day at breakfast in the famed Tchaikovsky restaurant, very beautiful I must say, they wanted us to sit at a table where previous guest had eaten by just scraping the crumbs away. We had to fight over it, not a nice start to our day. The staff at breakfast was unprofessional, just kids who didn't have a clue.

Concierge desk was unattended, reception staff was helpful and also dubbed as concierge.

Tallin is a beautiful city but they turned it into a Disneyesque joke, attending to huge crowds of people who disembark from cruise ship by the thousands every day and ravage this beautiful town as locusts. The hotel caters to a similar clientele.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, Executive Office of the Hotel Telegraaf at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear tripadvisor’s vanderluyden,

Thank you for taking time out to write this review of the Hotel Telegraaf and to share your impressions of Tallinn.

Guest and customer feedback is very important to us, they help us to streamline our training efforts and / or are used for staff motivation.

In any case, at the Hotel Telegraaf guest comments / feedback is being reviewed, shared, discussed and do not go unnoticed.

To that effect, we have our Guest Comment Card in each of our guest rooms as well as solicit active guest feedback in the personalized Welcome Letter which is individually issued to each of our guests, a pity that you did not take us up on that offer during your stay.

Thank you for commenting on the hotel’s favorable location, in the heart of Tallinn’s UNESCO heritage protected Old Town.

Also, for your kind reference, please allow us to point out that ANY building in the old town (layout, facade, etc.) are under the STRICTEST regulations of Heritage Protection; therefore the architecture featured in the Old Town, described in the review as “Disneyesque joke” is actually based on those guidelines which in turns are based on historic research ensuring original medieval colour schemes are being used.

Tallinn is indeed a summer stop-over for various cruise lines, mainly however only as day-stops so customers of cruise liners are not customers of any hotel in Tallinn, as they overnight on the boats. We are sorry to read that you mistook the guests of the 86-room Hotel Telegraaf, who are travelling either in smaller groups or individually to Tallinn, as “huge crowds”.

Indeed the summer months are Tallinn’s most popular times, being on the same longitude as St. Petersburg it also features long days and those famed “white nights”, the short summer nights when the sun hardly sets. Subsequently, the Old Town – as a highlighted landmark – is on every traveler’s agenda.

When entering the Hotel Telegraaf, one indeed finds marble floors and anthracite coloured walls, impressive lamps and large windows which illuminate the lobby and bar area.

The photos which we posted both on tripadvisor as well as on our own website give testimony to that effect. We were sorry to read that you found it too dark to meet your personal preference. On another note on the décor of the hotel, please kindly note that the floor was installed in 2006, during the hotel’s (re)-construction and design period; same as the spiral staircase -a photo of which was posted with the review- it refers to “soviet times”, yet please be assured Estonians would have been delighted to have such a design element as our spiral staircase in any of this country’s buildings during these times.

As mentioned above the re-construction guidelines which are levied on the Hotel Telegraaf as a heritage protected building also go to the internal layout, subsequently the size of the rooms vary based on the category booked, location and design. Unfortunately, we were not able to re-enact which room was allocated to you (despite the wardrobe picture) but as reference was made to a carpet in the room, this is challenging as none of our two rooms which come even close to the picture posted are not carpeted but feature original wooden flooring; and with the experience having been in July and it now being mid-October it adds to the challenge.

Thank you for commenting positively on the décor of the Restaurant Tchaikovsky and please accept our apologies for the unsatisfactory breakfast experience. Your comments regarding the general cleanliness has been shared with our Executive Housekeeper, and again our apologies for this and our thanks for bringing this to our attention.

Again, our thanks for the time taken for the review and best wishes from Tallinn,

Executive Office of the Hotel Telegraaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A beautiful hotel, gorgeous rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, great location (Old Town), plentiful and delicious breakfast. I stayed here for two nights and would stay again next time I'm in Tallinn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Beautifully restored, tastefully decorated hotel in old town, convenient to everywhere!!!
Absolutely fantastic!
We ate at Tchaikovsky's which was sublime. Used the spa for massages which were fabulous. Had the buffet breakfast every morning which was plentiful with heaps of choice as well as making special orders if you wished.
Staff was brilliant.
We had a room facing Vene Street and it was very quiet
I cannot rate this hotel high enough.

Room Tip: We faced the main road and heard nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A lovely stay in Tallinn excellent hotel and very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very comfortable. Not even five minutes walk from the town square so excellent location and the breakfast was plentiful and very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel if in Tallinn.

Room Tip: We had an executive room which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollipoplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

This is a very beautiful hotel located in the middle of the Old Town. The staff are very good, couldn't do enough for you. Rooms are well appointed and warm, important as the temperature drops considerably when the sun goes down. My only complaint about the room is that the beds are too soft, offering no support for you after long days of walking around Tallinn. However, the wifi was free and swift.
Breakfast was good and lots of choice. However, when it got busy, the staff were disorganised and were like rabbits caught in the headlights. No one seemed to take charge and there was no plan as to how to deal with the situation.
Overall a great hotel with issues which are easily solved.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dtaylor65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Dtaylor65,

Thank you for taking time of your busy schedule to write a review about the Hotel Telegraaf.
We read and share all our online reviews with our colleagues as they are a great tool for us to both streamline our training initiatives as well as to use them for motivational purposes.

Thank you also for your kind and encouraging words and comments on the great work of our staff as well as sharing your comments about our hotel rooms.

Our beds consist of box spring, mattress, topper. The topper is there to soften the mattress as previous guest feedback was mattresses being too hard.
Easily that topper could have been removed had we known of your concern, so please allow us to recommend for future stays to request for any mattress toppers to be removed .

Thank you also for commenting on your breakfast experience; your valued comments have been shared with our Service Manager.

We thank you for having been our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Tallinn and to the Hotel Telegraaf.

Thank you again and best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing