We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in the room no. 208 for four nights. The room was very nice and big but there was no place to put a big suitcase and open it. So I moved everything but bed to be able to find a place for the suitcase. Two big armchairs were very comfortable but took a large space. Anyhow I made it ; the room keeper might have been very surprised. The bed was large, very comfortable with a snow white good quality linen. The room as well as the bathroom were very clean. We were unlucky to have a room on the second floor. The Vene street is not so wide and the opposite of the hotel was the building so we couldn't open the curtains. But in the bathroom there was so thin curtain so we took shower with lights off and uncomfortable feeling.
The room keeper brought 2 bottles of water and chocolate every day. The third day she didn't bring anything and when I asked about the water at the reception, I was told the complimentary water is served only the first day. I asked why we got it the second day. And I thought it's very strange that in hot day as it was we got welcome drink- water in the evening. She said I could write my complains in the questionaire what made me angry because we came to enjoy not to write questionaires. When I asked the room keeper why she didn't bring water, she said she had brought and insisted and wanted to check our room. It made me mad. In Japan a room keeper would apologize and bring water even she had already brought it before. In Japan we say a client, guest is a god. It was really a shame for a five star hotel. Later we were told that the trainee at the reception didn't know about water and they apologized and sent us a plate of fruit. That was a surprise for us and we felt that is a high class hotel. Too bad, it has some staff who are not trained well. It happend twice on our 2 month trip in Europe that the hotel apologized saying "that is a trainee and doesn't know well..." We don't get any discount if there is a trainee working in the hotel so this cannot be an apology. Breakfast was really wonderful, one of the best in five star hotels. It is served in very elegant and romantic Tchaikovsky restaurant. We liked the atmosphere and food. There were also some kind of fish, wonderful shrimp and cucumber salad, good and not so oily omelette and sparkling wine. Really wonderful breakfast with kind staff. That wonderful breakfast and the kind staff at the reception who apologized for troubles made us forget a problem about water and we wish we have a chance to come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjana1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed in Hotel Telegraaf for one night last weekend together with friends. My room was (single) was cosy, clean and quiet. The location of the hotel in The Old Tallinn made our buss stop a short distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helrebrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in early November and thought it was absolutely first class. We have stayed in many fine hotels across the world and the Telegraaf compares with many of them.

It is in a great location just a few steps from the central old town hall square, so easy to walk to all the main sites and huge choice of restaurants and bars.

The hotel is modern and chic and spotlessly clean in both the public areas and the rooms. The spa is wonderful to relax in with the sauna and steam room and added bonus. We only used the restaurant for breakfasts and would agree with previous reviews that the standard and choices were excellent.

All the staff at the hotel were excellent - very friendly and very professional - so i really cant understand the previous bad review from the person from Holland - must have been staying at a different Hotel Telegraaf than the one we stayed in !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulandkarenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review here on Tripadvisor on the Hotel Telegraaf.

As you might have read in our replies to other reviews, we take all our reviews seriously; they are being reviewed, shared, discussed. And used for motivational and / or training purposes.

In any case, they do not go unnoticed !

And we also read your review on Monday morning, and we would just quickly like to thank you for your kind words: what a great way to start ones working week !

Thank you.

My colleagues and I are already looking forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel Telegraaf if and when your travel plans bring you back to our beautiful hanseatic city of Tallinn !

With best wishes

Irmela Heinsius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 and the Telegraf was the prefect location for a short break. The garden was serene and served brilliant cocktails during early evening. Our room was comfy, clean and chic. The pool and spa was ideal for a couple of days but it's the breakfast that sets this place apart. Don't be shy about asking for champagne, it's there for all! They also do eggs Benedict to order. Stay here, it's wonderful

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMarsh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We expected a lot from this hotel and were really disappointed. The best thing is its location, right in the center of Tallin. Hotel entrance is dark, they kept the marble floors of the original telegraph building and the décor is all black. Furniture is scratched, dented and dinged all throughout the hotel.

The room was tiny as was the wardrobe, and really dirty. The surfaces both in the room and bathroom were not only dusty they were dirty, and the carpet stained. Dust bunnies drifted across the corridor for the length of our stay.

One day at breakfast in the famed Tchaikovsky restaurant, very beautiful I must say, they wanted us to sit at a table where previous guest had eaten by just scraping the crumbs away. We had to fight over it, not a nice start to our day. The staff at breakfast was unprofessional, just kids who didn't have a clue.

Concierge desk was unattended, reception staff was helpful and also dubbed as concierge.

Tallin is a beautiful city but they turned it into a Disneyesque joke, attending to huge crowds of people who disembark from cruise ship by the thousands every day and ravage this beautiful town as locusts. The hotel caters to a similar clientele.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, Executive Office of the Hotel Telegraaf at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear tripadvisor’s vanderluyden,

Thank you for taking time out to write this review of the Hotel Telegraaf and to share your impressions of Tallinn.

Guest and customer feedback is very important to us, they help us to streamline our training efforts and / or are used for staff motivation.

In any case, at the Hotel Telegraaf guest comments / feedback is being reviewed, shared, discussed and do not go unnoticed.

To that effect, we have our Guest Comment Card in each of our guest rooms as well as solicit active guest feedback in the personalized Welcome Letter which is individually issued to each of our guests, a pity that you did not take us up on that offer during your stay.

Thank you for commenting on the hotel’s favorable location, in the heart of Tallinn’s UNESCO heritage protected Old Town.

Also, for your kind reference, please allow us to point out that ANY building in the old town (layout, facade, etc.) are under the STRICTEST regulations of Heritage Protection; therefore the architecture featured in the Old Town, described in the review as “Disneyesque joke” is actually based on those guidelines which in turns are based on historic research ensuring original medieval colour schemes are being used.

Tallinn is indeed a summer stop-over for various cruise lines, mainly however only as day-stops so customers of cruise liners are not customers of any hotel in Tallinn, as they overnight on the boats. We are sorry to read that you mistook the guests of the 86-room Hotel Telegraaf, who are travelling either in smaller groups or individually to Tallinn, as “huge crowds”.

Indeed the summer months are Tallinn’s most popular times, being on the same longitude as St. Petersburg it also features long days and those famed “white nights”, the short summer nights when the sun hardly sets. Subsequently, the Old Town – as a highlighted landmark – is on every traveler’s agenda.

When entering the Hotel Telegraaf, one indeed finds marble floors and anthracite coloured walls, impressive lamps and large windows which illuminate the lobby and bar area.

The photos which we posted both on tripadvisor as well as on our own website give testimony to that effect. We were sorry to read that you found it too dark to meet your personal preference. On another note on the décor of the hotel, please kindly note that the floor was installed in 2006, during the hotel’s (re)-construction and design period; same as the spiral staircase -a photo of which was posted with the review- it refers to “soviet times”, yet please be assured Estonians would have been delighted to have such a design element as our spiral staircase in any of this country’s buildings during these times.

As mentioned above the re-construction guidelines which are levied on the Hotel Telegraaf as a heritage protected building also go to the internal layout, subsequently the size of the rooms vary based on the category booked, location and design. Unfortunately, we were not able to re-enact which room was allocated to you (despite the wardrobe picture) but as reference was made to a carpet in the room, this is challenging as none of our two rooms which come even close to the picture posted are not carpeted but feature original wooden flooring; and with the experience having been in July and it now being mid-October it adds to the challenge.

Thank you for commenting positively on the décor of the Restaurant Tchaikovsky and please accept our apologies for the unsatisfactory breakfast experience. Your comments regarding the general cleanliness has been shared with our Executive Housekeeper, and again our apologies for this and our thanks for bringing this to our attention.

Again, our thanks for the time taken for the review and best wishes from Tallinn,

Executive Office of the Hotel Telegraaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A beautiful hotel, gorgeous rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, great location (Old Town), plentiful and delicious breakfast. I stayed here for two nights and would stay again next time I'm in Tallinn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Beautifully restored, tastefully decorated hotel in old town, convenient to everywhere!!!
Absolutely fantastic!
We ate at Tchaikovsky's which was sublime. Used the spa for massages which were fabulous. Had the buffet breakfast every morning which was plentiful with heaps of choice as well as making special orders if you wished.
Staff was brilliant.
We had a room facing Vene Street and it was very quiet
I cannot rate this hotel high enough.

Room Tip: We faced the main road and heard nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerlieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £94 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing