We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly place to rest”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Perfect welcome from the personnel, very clean and comfortable, superb breakfast concerning both choices and quality of the meal !!!!
I will be back as a returning customer as soon as possible.
The Elemis spa is very easy to go from your room directly and is so quiet and restful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

I just returned home from two night stay in Telegraaf, first impression was a bit dissapointing as we were not helped with the luggage and had no welcoming drinks. The room was ok but not worth of 5 stars. Service at the dining was friendly but when we wanted to check out we were told that we had a open bill from the previous night which was a mistake.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Minna T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of the Hotel Telegraaf here on Tripadvisor.

For us all reviews are important, are being read, discussed and used to streamline our training endeavors.

Please accept our sincere apologies that we did not assist with our luggage upon arrival and also for the incorrect billing upon check out; we have addressed these issues with the colleagues concerned.
We strive to be of utmost assistance to all our guests, and luggage assistance is of course a standard to which we are training our porters and based on your comments have re-enforced this.
The billing error upon check out seemed to have been a pure human error for which we can only but apologize once again.

Thank you again for the time taken to write;

with best wishes from Tallinn,

I. Heinsius
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel was in great location in the heart of the old town. We were there for one night in the Executive room which was spacious and comfortable. The hotel was great, but I wouldn't rate it five star hotel compared to really luxorious hotels. But If you consider it to be a four star hotel you are getting the right idea. I would be happy to go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Absolutely fabulous. We stayed only one night In Tallinn, on Valentines day. The hotel is first class, rooms are spacey and cozy, the interiors were furnished perfectly, a mixture of old and new. The "pillow- menu" on the beds was genious, three different sized pillows for each - wow- as a pillow "freak" I did sleep like a baby. And it was very silent too. After a good night sleep, we got a wonderful breakfest in Tchaikovsky restaurant. Unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked on Valentines day, so we did not have the opportunity to dine there, but next time we'll be better prepared and reserve a table in advance. Overall a wonderful and luxorious stay, also thanks to the staff who were very friendly and attentive and made us feel welcome. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor and had windows to the courtyard. It was very silent and the sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Perfect location and services. Huge room, clean, lovely breakfast and attached health… Swimming pool and SPA is good. Close to the old town. Stay here! clean and pleasant - ME would stay again... All the staff are extremely polite and friendly. Already counting down to next year's stay.

Room Tip: Rooms different and very nice, TV and a private bathroom with a bathrobe and slippers. Clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vilma1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed at the Telegraaf for 3 nights in February - and had a very positive experience. The facility is historic and unique, ideally located, and utterly charming. The lobby and common areas are well-designed with up-to-date furnishings. Room was large, clean, and well-appointed. But it is the service that makes this review a 5-star. The hotel manager, Irmela H, has clearly set an expectation for herself and her staff that results in "fanatical" customer service. And it shows! Having overheard that we are literary-minded and interested in history, Irmela arranged for us to meet Ilvi Joe-Cannon, a noted local author, so that we could discuss her book and get it signed. A good example of "going the extra mile" to make us feel cared for.
Further, we had a very good meal at Tchaikovsky and very good drinks in the bar, carefully prepared and cheerfully served. No hesitation in recommending the Telegraaf.
James L

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Oh how I loved this hotel. Charming and old world. Service was nice but gives guests privacy. The rooms are a nice size. Clean. Restaurant is known as among the best in Tallinn. Service was excellent and food delicious and innovative. Pricey but worth it. Location is great. Just a few blocks from dead center old Tallinn. Would love to return to this hotel and this beautiful city!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#12 of 86 in Tallinn
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £92 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing